We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pulled pork roll” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peter Sidwell at Rheged Cafe - CLOSED

Peter Sidwell at Rheged Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good pulled pork roll”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

After a poor start getting our order taken, the food was good when it arrived. Make sure you order at the bar. Hopefully, you won't be ignored by the waitress nearest to you like me. Although don't expect farmers portions here. The pulled port roll was very tasty even in white bread roll. Pizzas looked good. I would eat here again although there are places I would rather go in Penrith.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JudithGlennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    14
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haverthwaite, England
1 review
“Very surprising food, in a good way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I had the Cumbrian Chorizo and Potato Hash topped with poached egg and was surprised at the quality of food. The presentation was faultless and of a higher standard than I was expecting. The smell immediately hit me and I couldn't wait to try my food, I did wait though as I had to look at the dish in disbelief of what had arrived. Bright colourful vegetables and crispy brown chunks of potato and large, mouth watering chunks of chorizo all topped with a traditional water cooked poached egg. The plate was garnished with a balsamic drizzle and a chilli oil, complementing the dish perfectly. If I thought the appearance was good then it was nothing compared to the taste. Everything perfectly complemented each other, with no over powering flavours to taint my palette. The portion size was ample for lunch and again more than I was expecting. I finished the meal but not my drink, as I wanted to keep the taste of the food in my mouth as long as I could.
I would wholeheartedly recommend the Café and look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos_B_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Why are children served sub standard food?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Lunch for adults was good. But is it really acceptable in a cafe that seems to pride itself on the quality of its ingredients to serve children sandwiches made of dry sliced bread without butter and dry tasteless grated cheese? Why treat children as second class citizens?

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Went with friends and three children under 3. It was busy and baby chairs were scarce. A waitress found us a chair quickly so not an issue. The food was well cooked and tasty. Every one in our party enjoyed their food including the kids. I had fish and chips. Very good but nothing else. Needed some nice peas or salad as it was just a plate of fried food. Gave it an unappealing appearance. Little issue but will go again in the future. Overall, service was excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobilicious_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Slightly Pricey But Well Worth It.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Free parking, Perfect for a day out if you have kids, or if you’re just looking to browse some shops and get a really really nice meal. The prices on the starters/light bites/onion rings might be a little high but overall its worth it for the fresh tastiness. You’ll leave feeling pleasantly full but not bloated; like you’ve had a really good meal. Each meal I had there (Starts, Sides, Main) were all freshly prepared and came out in very good time. looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VeggieInTheLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing