We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Meal”
Review of MacNean Restaurant

MacNean Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Blacklion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $141
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Meal”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

I had the great pleasure of having a meal with my mum and three sisters at Macnean and it certainly lived up to its reputation. The atmosphere on arrival, the friendly staff and classy decor added to the overall experience. The meal itself was second to none and I would say it was one of the best meals I have ever had. Favourite part of the meal was the venison and particularly appreciated when staff suggested how I should have had it cooked, as it was amazing.
I have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant and look forward to eating again here in the future.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trip921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    28
    19
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great service”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Took my newly acquired fiancee (hope she doesn't read that phrase...) here to celebrate our recent engagement. We arrived, waited in the bar and Neven Maguire (head chef / owner) was doing the rounds and asked why we were dining with him. When we told of our engagement it was drinks on the house and a signed copy of his most recent book (!).
The food was amazing. MacNeans do things with food that surprise you, delicate and rich, small yet filling dishes. The wide range of choice will not disappoint, the only issue is finding enough room in your stomach.
Blacklion is such a strange location for this superb restaurant - easily one of the best I have ever dined in.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1,186 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,243 helpful votes
“Worth the wait- a great experience”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Having visiting MacNean restaurant once before, I was really looking forward to our return visit! We booked in months in advance due to the popularity and great reputation of the resaurant. And again, the food was top class. It really is an experience visiting MacNean house- experiencing all the different and carefully thought out flavours and just to see the attention to detail in presentation too. The staff were incredible, very professional and polite but not too over-bearing. They have the balance just right. The speed at which the food is brought out is perfect too, not too rushed at all and it gives plenty of time to just relax and enjoy the evening. I will definitely be returning again, possibly for Sunday lunch next time! If you are thinking about booking this restaurant, I'd highly recommend it- it is worth the long wait!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank champkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A little Gem in the West of Cavan”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I went to MacNean restaurant as part of a Geopark Gourmet Tour. We visited the Marble Arch Caves then went to MacNean's for our lunch. Wonderful experience. The staff are like no other staff I have ever met. They are gracious and polite and really take care of you without being constantly in your face and making you feel that you are being watched. There where children in our party and they were treated as well as we where. The little girl at my table was given chicken nuggets and chips and a special child friendly desert.
The restaurant itself is very comfortable with attractive but neutral decor which made, me anyway, feel very relaxed.
The food was lovely, a little greasy and heavy for lunch but great variety of tastes and textures. Nevin himself came out to say hello to us and he seems like a very genuinely nice man. We went to see the Cavan Burren after our meal and it was a relief to get a bit of exercise.
I would love to experience this restaurant again but with a smaller party and more time to relaxe and enjoy. I am hoping that some day I will be able to experience the evening meal and maybe even stay over, rumour is the breakfast is the even nicer than dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KiwiCharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food average accommodation”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We arrived in the afternoon for dinner and an overnight. We were disappointed with our room to the front and at the top of the building. Two flights of stairs and no lift. The room was basic no bath or air conditioning. The room was very warm even with the rads turned off. We opened one of the windows but could not sleep very well with the noise from the road.
The meal and service was excellant. Staff were top class at explaining each course.
Breakfast again was top class both food and service - just two comments, orange did not taste like it was freshly squeezed and there was not any fresh fruit available.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meareilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacNean Restaurant also viewed

Blacklion, County Cavan
Belcoo, County Fermanagh
 
Belcoo, County Fermanagh
 

Been to MacNean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing