We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of MacNean Restaurant

MacNean Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Blacklion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $141
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Co Clare
Level Contributor
140 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Beautiful tasty food presented in an imaginative and elegant way, in a comfortable and friendly environment, by excellent staff. Neven himself was there on the night, which added to the overall experience. We stayed in the townhouse - very nice. Breakfast is also stunning - try the porridge... actually try everything!. There is also a very accessible wine list, both in terms of pricing and variety (and you don't have to pay €€€ unless you really want to). Wow!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MDH_CoClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    28
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I visited the restaurant with a group of friends and it was simply amazing. We loved every minute of it. The staff are friendly and know exactly how to provide an excellent service without being in any way intrusive. The food is scrumptious. I really can't wait to visit again sometime.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 143Toothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundoran
Level Contributor
153 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great food, but book well in advance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

I had the wonderful pleasure of visiting McNean Bistro twice in the last three weeks. The food here is excellent, but getting a table is normally quite difficult and the restaurant has little need of good Tripadvisor reviews to draw in clientele. Indeed, located as it is in a small out-of-the-way west Cavan town anyone who eats here will have planned well in advance anyway. Whether one gets the Prestige tasting menu at €89 per head (€130 if wines are included) or eat the structured ala carte (at €72 per head) such an array of dishes (and mini-dishes) are served that going through them individually would make for a very long review. Suffice it to say that a little line of gristle on the dry-aged mini-fillet steak, part of a tasting plate of beef, was the only glitch across about 32, mostly superb, plates of food (most with about four to five separate elements) and at least another 24 mini-dishes (based on 8 people, four each night). I write “mostly excellent” only because friends who had the apple plate felt it was not quite up to Nevin’s high standards, particularly for desserts which is where I think he first tasted international success.

Over the years the restaurant has gradually become more and more professional and lost a little of its personal touch. This has multiple upsides and for many is probably preferable but I feel the bistro has lost some of its unique local charm and homeliness. In addition and inevitably as Neven Maguire’s celebrity status grows his absences become more frequent. The food quality or service have not suffered as a result but whereas once it was almost customary that he met diners afterwards in the lounge, he has been in the restaurant for only one my last four visits. This really a gripe as such access is not the norm anyway more a sentimental mourning for an era which may have past

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMMcE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

From the moment we checked in we were treated like VIPs! Service is second to none and no stone was left unturned.

We went for Sunday lunch and undoubtedly was one of the best meals ever. Our table was booked for 3pm and we finished our food at 6pm - no rush and adequate time between courses.

The overnight stay was an added bonus with a lovely room. It was so quiet throughout the night and morning unlike many hotels I have stayed in.

Breakfast was almost as good as the dinner, the porridge is a must and really anything else you can eat - so delicious!!

Cannot wait to return!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Enitram909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This is the most sensational meal I have eaten in a while. Amazing variety of tastes and beautifully presented. All of the staff were fantastic too. We stayed over night and are looking forward to breakfast this morning.
Not to be missed.

Helpful?
Thank Ossian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacNean Restaurant also viewed

Blacklion, County Cavan
 
Cloverhill, County Cavan
Belcoo, County Fermanagh
 
Florencecourt, Enniskillen
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
 

Been to MacNean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing