We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a wonderful night here in Feb”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of MacNean Restaurant

MacNean Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Blacklion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $141
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Drumcliff, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful night here in Feb”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were a party of 4 friends who visited Nevan and his staff in Feb 2012. It was a wonderful experience and I cannot speak highly enough of the service, staff or food. It was quality through and through. The portions seem very small though plenty of samples in between. But we were all very satisfied when the exquisite meal was finished. I wasn't hungry for the next 24 hours. Beautiful and we can certainly echo all of the other comments. The staff make you feel very welcome and as you order in the lounge before entering the dining hall, the very attentive barman and waitress carry the drinks into for you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westofirelandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    28
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“McNeans The very best”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We dIned in McNeans on 10th October 2013. Having travelled from Leeds for this meal, we had very high expectations. McNeans did not disappoint. On arrival we were greeted by the most friendly staff you could imagine. We were then shown to a really lounge area to enjoy a drink and browse the menu. Whilst making our choice along with other diners we were welcomed by Nevan McGuire himself. The staff were really knowledgable and helpful during the ordering. We were then shown to our table to be greeted by yet another clutch of happy and enthusiastic staff. The food was superb in both taste and presentation. After the meal Nevan visited every table for a chat, what a fantastic host. This restaurant may seem expensive in these hard times but it is well worth saving for a special treat. Again thanks to Nevan for making this a special night. We will be back soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PhilLs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food & Service”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is really just a note of thanks to the Staff of McNeans House and restaurant. We ate there last wednesday for an evening out celebrating our wedding anniversary. From the moment that we stepped through the door and were greeted by Nevin and his uncle right through until we lefty we felt we felt welcome and appreciated. The restaurant was busy even for a wednesday in October which is a great accolade to have in this day and age. We ate from the prestige tasting menu with accompanying wine which while expensive was a joy to participate in. The sommelier, as was the case with all of the was pleasant, witty and courteous with a fantastic knowledge of the extensive wine list. We were particularly impressed with the Charpentier Champagne that accompanied our fish starter course and The Sardinian red (new to us but a "must have again") that accompanied our main course. The highlight of my food was the roast quail course and the Thornhill duck that I had for my main. I can see now why this place is booked out months in advance, it's a testament to Nevin, Amanda and their team in McNeans. We look forward to our next visit. we noticed that the Cookery school is well near completion and we wish them all teh success that they duly deserve with the latest chapter to their Blacklion story.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Desireland11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Excellent Once Again!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Lunch at MacNean House really is something special and I can't think of a better way to spend a Sunday afternoon. The food was outstanding with some diificult choices to be made as there were some great options. The side order of potato and sweetpotato gratin was so good we requested another!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sloe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Returned to my favourite restaurant for Sunday lunch with friends and once again I was not disappointed. The pea and mint soup was delicious. Excellent service and fabulous food - what a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Speedyreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacNean Restaurant also viewed

Blacklion, County Cavan
 
Cloverhill, County Cavan
Florencecourt, Enniskillen
 
Belcoo, County Fermanagh
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
 

Been to MacNean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing