We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conductor of the food orchestra” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of MacNean Restaurant

MacNean Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Blacklion
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $141
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kenmare, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Conductor of the food orchestra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had the pleasure of being invited to join friends at Nevin Maguires recently. We travelled from Kerry but were not disappointed by the long trip. We found the staff very welcoming and attentive. The premises from exterior through to the bedroom was decorated in very good taste and very comfortable. When our order was being taken for our meal the waitress explained the different dishes and was in command of her job. Without going through the different courses I could only describe the food as amazing. The combination of ingredients and flavours has to be experienced. The four of us deliberately tried different dishes at each course and there was much tooing and frooing of food at the table so that we could experience each others dishes. Everybody at our table was extremely happy with our meal. I had described our meal as a symphony of taste and flavour to my companions. At the end of the meal the "conductor" of the food orchestra, Nevin Maguire, visited our table and welcomed us to Mac Nean's and enquired if the meal had been to our satisfaction. We found him to be an absolute gentleman, welcoming and down to earth. We stayed overnight and were delighted with the firm bed and nice clean, warm room. The food extravaganza continued the following morning at breakfast, the granola yogurt and honey cereal was outstanding. I had the traditional breakfast which was memorable, there was a flavour from the sausage, pudding and bacon reminicient of what food used to taste like. The eggs benedict was also fantastic. Thank you Mr. Maguire for a fantastic experience, we hope to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    28
    18
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Hard pushed to recommend to anyone”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just back from an overnight stay and dinner at McNeans with my husband and two friends. We were really looking forward to eating at this restaurant and were delighted when we managed to get a booking as they are hard to come by. Whilst two members of staff seemed friendly and conversational, the majority were very brusk and business like - a lot of the time walking away and not really listening/hearing what you were saying/requesting so it was not ideal. The food was not a fabulous as I had hoped and expected based on previous reviews and also anecdotal feedback. It tended to be over 'cheffed' with foam coming with everything. One of our group had a dairy intolerance and whilst this was dealt with, she did feel that she was missing out in comparinson to what the rest of the table was receiving. Whlst some of the food was tasty, it was not as mind blowng as we had hoped.

The rooms were tastefully decorated and you were provided with homemade biscuits and fresh milk for your tea/coffee in your room. The mattress was more supportive than I like so it did not lead to a good nights sleep.

The breakfast this morning - there was a good selection of items from the buffet menu and there was also a hot menu available. I would advise that if you don't like salt to request your breakfast without it, I got the scrambled egg and couldn't finish it. I explained to the waiting staff that it was too salty. They did kindly offer to replace it with one without salt, however at that stage I was ready to give up. The scones, fruit salad and smoothie are nice. Apparently the rashers available on the traditional and special dishes are quite salty also.

In essence, it was felt by the table that whilst it was nice, it was missing that special experience/feeling. I have no doubt that I will be asked by friends as to whether or not they should visit and honestly, I would not be encouraging them to go. I think for the money that one is paying, I would strongly advise that you book a special meal in Sabor Brazil, Dublin rather than at McNean's. It is popular so you would need to book weeks in advance but well worth the wait and money and I was not the only one at our table saying that.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Muzzy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the best restaurant we have ever been. Definitely worth the long wait for reservation. Next time

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TeddybearMayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

MacNean House has done it again, with the food just seeming to get better and better - if that is at all possible!!! The beef for the main course just melted in the mouth and all the little extras between courses were a delight. Our room was comfortable and beautifully decorated - it was also very quiet, as it faced towards the back of the premises. Breakfast is another feast and it is well worth taking the time to linger over this and savour every mouthful. After breakfast if you feel in need of some exercise, take a right out of the front door and then right up a very steep hill. The hill is tough but once you get to the top there is a lovely, leisurely, circular route (about 45minutes) back down to the village.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sloe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Perfection yet again!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Fantastic food and service in a lively relaxed atmosphere - what more could anyone want? Dinner was complete perfection - from every course to all the little extras between courses. And the briiliant thing was that we managed to stay the night, in a beautiful room and the next morning were able to enjoy the best breakfast that you could get anywhere! Keep it up MacNean House - we will be back!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Speedyreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MacNean Restaurant also viewed

Blacklion, County Cavan
Cloverhill, County Cavan
 
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
Florencecourt, Enniskillen
 
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
 

Been to MacNean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing