We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spoilt Rotten”
Review of The Keepers Arms

The Keepers Arms
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Keepers Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Bawnboy B&B and Inns
Y Felinheli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spoilt Rotten”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Having just returned home after another great week with Brain and Sheila, again we were treated like one of their family, all that mouth watering delicious home cooked food, and the hospitality is second to none. The rooms are clean, well thought out and all en suite, and the beds are so roomy and comfortable. No request is any trouble. Hope to be with you both again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crissyfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Spent a week fishing in and around Bawnboy the weather and fishing was crap but staying at the Keepers arms made up for the bad weather. Sheila and Brian really looked after us there is a walk in fridge for the bait and a place to dry clothing and kit. Have got to recommend Sheila's Irish Stake with mushroom stir fry.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

we stayed at the keepers arms for one night while attending the classic car show in bawnboy we had a great time shelia and her staff were so helpful the breakfast was great with plenty to eat rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable would recommend this b&b we hope to stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We had a fabulous time at The Keepers Arms. The rooms were all en suite and the staff was fantastic. A super hearty breakfast was included and started off each day perfectly. Sheila went out of her way to make us feel at home, and w/2 kids, that's a tall order. She even let us use a baby monitor so we could take part in a night cap each night at the bar below after putting the kids down to sleep. I would recommend this place w/o a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wheelies29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were in Ireland for one of my wife's cousin's wedding in Bawnboy, Co Cavan, Ireland The family houses were full so we wanted to stay close to the rest of the family. This was as close to staying with family as we could get. Sheila made us feel as though we were family. The breakfasts (fry) kept us all day. The rooms were very clean.

The pub was fantastic. The staff is very helpful and deliteful. I would recommend the Keepers to anyone looking for a home away from home in Co Cavan, Ireland.

Joe and Maureen

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jmmmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

went into the pub saturday 26th March around 7pm for some food after a days fishing.
the food was nice & the two girls that worked their were really nice.
We stayed till closing time, the pint was one of the best, the barman made us feel welcome, and even while outside having a smoke, the locals made us feel welcome.
this is a great place.
Plan to go back with my family during the summer.

Brian.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MagicbusDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

A wonderful weekend in comfortable and happy surroundings. Our hosts were most hospitable, willing to please where ever they could (Brian in the bar and Sheila in the kitchen - what a team!!) I would have expected to pay handsomely for these sorts of facilities but was pleasantly surprised at the final cost. There is obviously a lot of personal effort gone into creating this hotel and continue they do it proud.
Ross J.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RossBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bawnboy
5.3 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
16.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
3.9 mi away
Glendurragh House
Glendurragh House
#6 of 13 in Cavan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lake Avenue House
Lake Avenue House
#3 of 6 in Ballyconnell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Keepers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keepers Arms

Property: The Keepers Arms
Address: Bridge St, Bawnboy, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Bawnboy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bawnboy
Hotel Class:2 star — The Keepers Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing