We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Grub in the Area!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bailie Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bailieborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bailie Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bailieborough
Cavan, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Grub in the Area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

I've never stayed here as I live in the area, but I must say that the grub in this hotel is second to none. We've been eating here for years and the quality has never let the hotel down. It's a family run business and the staff are very helpful and friendly. We recently ate here as a group of 10 and as usual everything was top-notch. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Bailieborough, Cavan.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutchcloggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    33
    7
    3
    9
See reviews for
28
31
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Been coming here frequently for years! Usually on a Sunday for the carvery. Can get pretty packed but the wait is never too long and the waiting staff will always have a table cleared for you by the time you get your meal. Food is top notch every time and heaped on to the plate. Keeps you going for the whole day. €11 on a Sunday and €7 during the week I do believe. Both very reasonable!Without a doubt, it's the best carvery I've been to!

Bar food is also delicious with a good menu. The bar itself is big and open with lots of seats and friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabertag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed in the bailie hotel in june with a group of friends. we were met by fantastic staff on arrival. the rooms had been newly decorated to impecable standards. there was live entertainment each night and the locals were great. management were always on hand to ensure the best service possible. food in this hotel is exceptional would definately recommend the bookmaker steak. we would definately stay in this hotel again as it proved fantastic. would have no problem recommending it to anybody.

Room Tip: room 53 is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mini c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leixlip, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Bailie Hotel over the August Bank Holiday weekend. We were part of a group and we booked 13 rooms in total.
We were actually booked into the Wedding Suite, which was beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean.
We have eaten in the hotel's restaurant and have had bar food many times. I can honestly say that the food in the Bailie is excellent. The service is fast and really friendly.
There was live entertainment at night and there was a great atmosphere in the bar.
Breakfast was spot on the next morning and when we checked out, we found the staff to be so pleasant yet again.
We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We didn't see any of the other rooms, but I would recommend that you ask for the Bridal Suite be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Best value for money in cavan!
Food is unreal and frienly staff!
Cheap hotel rooms!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Horny24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here while visiting friends in the area. The room was freshly decorated.
Bar food was fabulous, defo recommend sirlion steak and pepper sauce was to die for. Breakfast was lovely, very quick service and a very plesant and friendly service. All in all I'd definately stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hondapetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Just to say a big well done to all the staff in your hotel, reception was very efficent and friendly, our room 153, was beautifully decorated, and the breakfast great. Will certainly be returning. Give this lovely hotel a chance you will be glad. Jackie

Room Tip: Room 153 beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IrelandSunnysands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bailieborough
7.8 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
18.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
10.9 mi away
Shirley Arms Hotel
Shirley Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Carrickmacross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
11.5 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
15.1 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bailie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bailie Hotel

Property: The Bailie Hotel
Address: Main Street, Bailieborough, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Bailieborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bailieborough
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing