We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best”
Review of Eonish Lodge

Eonish Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eonish Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Killeshandra B&B and Inns
york
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the best”
Reviewed September 16, 2010

We stayed for one night while touring Ireland on a motorcycle. Eonish Lodge is quite a way up a narrow road, just when you think you've missed it you arrive. Geraldine welcomed us like old friends. The house is spotless and the rooms are extremely comfortable. The position overlooking Loch Oughter is perfect. The following morning we got up to pouring rain. Geraldine let us put the bike in the garage to load up and there was no rush to leave. Nearly forgot to mention the breakfast! You guessed, it was ace!!
If you're in the area this is the place to stay. If you're a fisherman be asured you have easy access to the water.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittenYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We have been staying in Sean and Geraldine's self catering house, one week in August for the past few years. We bring all the toys - speedboat and all the things to drag behind it, fishing rods, bikes, Canadian canoe. The location is ideal - overlooking Eonish Lough. Sean looks after the beautiful gardens and has given me seeds from various beautiful plants. Both Sean and Geraldine are very warm and welcoming without being intrusive. One wonderful image I have is paddeling the Canadian on the lough - smooth as glass by the light of the stars.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingsilently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Having stayed at Eonish Lodge in both the self catering house and B+B several times I can highly recommend both. We go for the fishing which is directly outside and it's brilliant for bigs bags of Bream and Tench. Sean and Geraldine are fantastic hosts nothings ever too much trouble for them. This is a truely beautiful location, very peaceful and quiet. We love it here and return most years.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vinfoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2010

my friend and i have just returned from a fishing trip and stayed self-catering at the
bungalow.We really did enjoy our trip, not only catching fish from the private stretch,but the location was really outstanding also.
We have no hesitation recommending Geroldine and Sean's Eonish Lodge really superb.
.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anglerbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

The Eonish Lodge B & B is definitely the best accommodation in Killeshandra! As a fisherman the facilities are excellent. They have a large secure storage area with a bait refrigerator and hand washing facilities. The rooms are very spacious, well laid out and kept to a very high standard. The views from the lodge are spectacular, which overlooks Eonish lake. The lodge is situated in a peaceful and quiet area. Geraldine and Shaun are superb hosts who go out of their way to make your stay here as homely as possible. The breakfast is fabulous and you never leave the table hungry!! As a fisherman or someone just traveling through the area I would certainly recommend staying at Eonish Lodge. I will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DVBNantwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2010

This was our third stay at Eonish Lodge in three years. Geraldine and Sean run a superb b&b set in a stunning location with views over a beautiful lake. The welcome we get each time makes us feel like we are returning to see old friends. The house is immaculately clean and the rooms very comfortable. The peace and quiet of the location suits light sleepers like us. The breakfast was cooked to order each morning and the "full Irish breakfast" set us up for a busy day doing family history research. We travel a lot and stay in various hotels etc but have never found anything to beat this place for value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robinfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Could not fault the views, the hospitality, the food or the accommodation. We had a wonderful stay! Thank you Geraldine and Shaun!

I would recommend Eonish Lodge to anyone for a relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings - it is an ideal place for touring the Irish Lake District. We were not fishing but but I understand from other holiday makers who were fishing in the area that it is a wonderful venue for them and they come back year after year. Geraldine and Shaun also have a self catering bungalow which I understand is ideal for fishermen staying in the area as well.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SumnersHorsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killeshandra
3.7 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
5.0 mi away
Lakeside Bed & Breakfast
6.4 mi away
Fortview House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Church View Guest House B&B
Show Prices

Been to Eonish Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eonish Lodge

Property: Eonish Lodge
Address: Eonish, Killeshandra, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Killeshandra
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Killeshandra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing