We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super food”
Review of Angler's Rest

Angler's Rest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Super food”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Sunday lunch in Anglers Rest is excellent. It's carvery with a great choice of beef, turkey, fish, chicken etc with 2 veg and roast, mashed and chips. Very generous portions and staff are very friendly and helpful.
Evening meals are great too with super steaks of a great size...mini steaks are not mini size and so tasty. Fish is great too. Meals are served with peas, side salad and chips. Also good selection of sweets. If you are in Ballyconnell make a point of calling at the Anglers Rest and treat yourself to a great meal

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RebekahBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    31
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Touch of class”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Down staying at the Slieve Russell with friends and thought we would head into town to eat at this restaurant and boy what a find!!!!we all had minute steaks which were massive in size and so tasty,food amazing,as was the service,staff so friendly that we stayed on for a drink,taxi cost €8 from hotel would highly recommend roll on September until we return

Helpful?
1 Thank tracey14281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Second visit in 10 days”
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Last review l wrote on their accommodation page, didn't realise their was a restaurant page.
Anyway we were doing a bit of sightseeing in the area & called in for lunch as we had enjoyed it so much the last time.
Had chicken which was excellent, garlic potatoes, mashed potatoes, carrots, peas & cauliflower. I said l'll never eat all this & l cleared the plate. Smithwicks was excellent too.
The staff are very friendly, even gave us directions to where we were going.
Hope to have many more trips to Ballyconnell & the Anglers Rest for lunch.
It is what lunch should be, meat, veg & potatoes, plain food cooked well, in pleasant surroundings & a friendly face to welcome you.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lizzie4916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delightfully Charming”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Lovely restaurant with great decor.

Food was lovely. We all had different so had a variety of opinions which we all agreed the food was brilliant.

We had curry from the carvery, roast chicken from the carvery as well and one of us had a vegetarian pizza.

Prices were average for a carvery, about 9 euro, and well worth the money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dggr165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Food”
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Best food I have tried in a long time with the added bonus of super friendly staff. Well worth a visit!!!

They have accommodation as well prices start from £40 a night for a single....

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angler's Rest also viewed

Ballyconnell, County Cavan
Belturbet, County Cavan
 
Ballyconnell, County Cavan
Cavan, County Cavan
 

Been to Angler's Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing