We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of POL O'D Restaurant

POL O'D Restaurant
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
co tyrone
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have been to pol o'd restaurant and what a wonderful experience, from the welcome,, services and the food you can't fault them. Such a lovely cosy place, the menu is fabulous the only problem will be trying to decide what to go for, believe me no matter how full you are after your main meal one glance at the desserts heading out to the other diners and you will not be able to resist a word of advice share the trio of desserts amazing!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank francesCoTyrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Fantastic restaurant. Great Service , Great Food. The crispy duck is out of this world.
Don't miss this gem if visiting Ballyconnell.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CiaraKnightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipsambos
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Relatives in Cavan recommended we polo ds a visit and so glad we did. The restaurant itself is nice and cosy, stone walls, exposed beams, loads of candles around the fireplace and tables and that sort of thing. The service was warm, friendly and attentive. The menu was right up my alley, so genuinely found it very hard to pick. There were starters like smoked duck and bacon salad, goats cheese with a caremelised red onions and berries (we shared both - both gorgeous). For the mains we had herb crusted rack of lamb and pork belly with pork fillet with apple and cider sauce. Again, both were gorgeous - no fault could we find. The presentation was beautiful too - really stylish and modern. Actually, the presentation disguised very well the quantities of food on the plate. There'll be none of that going-home-hungry nouvelle cuisine nonsense here, let me tell you. The mains came with a lovely sideplate of mash, potato dauphinoise and a ratatoiulle which we couldn't even finish.... because we wanted to make room for dessert, which all sounded great too. There was a strawberry tiramisu with berry ice-cream and raspberry sorbet, a baileys cake with icrecream with a mini Irish coffee which I'd have been all over if I wasn't driving (often have an Irish coffee instead of dessert) so "settled" for a poached bear with brown bread icecream, fresh fruit and cream. Beautiful.

Really was fantastic. Modern Irish cuisine at it's very best. Rolled out of the place a very happy man indeed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank chipsambos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More people need to hear about this gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I had goat's cheese for starter, crispy duck for main and brown bread ice cream for dessert. The wine was a hard to find Jura Savagnin (not Sauvignon) which had an excellent balance of fruit, acidity and alcohol with a length which would have made it good value at twice the price. Excellent and knowledgeable service. Be sure to phone ahead. Contrary to an earlier review this was definitely open for business on 11th July 2012!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank caois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional Irish restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

POL O'D is a great dining experience and you should treat yourself and your loved-one's to a visit . The setting is perfect, the ambience genuine, the menu interesting, the service excellent and of course, the food exceptional. It's a fine example of the fusion of traditional and contemporary Irish cuisine and is really a "hidden gem" . Located on Main Street Ballyconnell, Co. Cavan, close to the Slieve Russell Hotel, do take the opportunity to dine here - it's top quality food at a reasonable price served in a lovely setting. We'll be back !

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JackM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed POL O'D Restaurant also viewed

Ballyconnell, County Cavan
Ballyconnell, County Cavan
 

Been to POL O'D Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing