We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

I got married in the Slieve Russell and I could not fault them. Everything ran seamlessly and they couldn't Do enough! One of our guests injured herself dancing and went back to Dublin to hospital and the hotel refunded her money, gave her a duvet to keep her warm in the car and bottled water for the drive and called her the next day to make sure she was ok. They really made it a day to remember. Set in beautiful grounds and only 30 mins from Enniskillen for shopping!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra27Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and for your kind comments about the Hotel, and our staff. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your Wedding Day with us here at Slieve Russell, and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    957
    381
    135
    49
    36
See reviews for
423
729
16
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meath
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Had a lovely night in the Slieve Russell over the Aug bank hol wkend. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Rooms spotless & extremely spacious.
We ate in the Setanta restaurant - the food was man sized portions and delicious. The hotel gardens are beautiful, very well kept.
We are hoping to go back again over Christmas.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeathMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your excellent review and I am pleased to read your positive comments about our rooms ,gardens, staff and food. I am pleased you enjoyed your Anniversary here with us and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

I was at a wedding here in April last and it was a very enjoyable experience. We dined in the restaurant on our first night and it was lovely. The wedding itself was great fun. Food & atmosphere was excellent. The only thing that was poor was our room, it was very old. I would go back though.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GalwayGetaway_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read your positive comments. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Spent 17th and 18th July in Slieve Russell, Ballyconnell to attend a wedding. The staff were just amazing, helpful and friendly adding to the wonderful overall ambience of the place. Dinner on the Thursday night was superb and the food at the wedding banquet was the best wedding meal I've experienced. We were given an upgrade of room without having to ask-best beds and pillows in any hotel I've ever slept on! Listed as 4 star but deserves 5 star without a doubt. the facilities in the hotel are all top class. A lot of our party enjoyed the great golf course on site. Great value break, thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on golf course side of hotel, on floor 6 or 7, these are actually on ground level. Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaidenCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your excellent review and I am pleased to read your positive comments about our rooms, golf course and food. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the Wedding you attended here at Slieve Russell recently and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterkenny
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed for three nights' dinner, bed and breakfast. We were delighted to receive a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room, which was an unexpected treat. We ate in the Conall Cearnach restaurant each night. Food excellent, although surcharges for some dishes a little disappointing. Also delighted that the menu had some variations on the third night. Breakfast was again very good, although the cold buffet could do with a little more variety. Staff were professional, polite and friendly in all encounters. Unlike some more recently built hotels, the Slieve Russell has numerous seating areas, with comfortable sofas and armchair seating grouped in the public areas for guests to enjoy the complimentary morning newspapers over a relaxed coffee. The grounds are magnificent, the 2.5k walk around the edge of the gardens/golf course/lake was just what was needed after meals, as well as trips out into the Cavan countryside to view the myriad lakes and historical sites. We didn't get to the Cavan Burren, but will be back to experience that on another trip

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaighreadUiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and for your kind comments about the Hotel, and our staff. I am happy to hear you will return, and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We just had a five night break at this hotel. It was fantastic. We had a suite with an adjoining double room which was great as we had three kids with us. The breakfasts were amazing. We had dinner there three nights and it was good too. The rooms were lovely, clean and had tellies with lots of channels. The staff were all lovely. They all say hello to you.
The only criticisms I have is that on the days when the kids club doesn't have a lot of children there doesn't seem to be the same effort. One night the kids had a lovely buffet meal and the following night because there weren't too many children about it was a very formal sit down meal with very small portions.
The pool is really lovely and the children loved it. The only problem here was that there was a sign saying that children ten and under must be supervised in the pool. This was fine as my two were over ten. Then when we actually went to the pool there was a debate every night whether they could go into the pool alone while we were at our dinner as children under 12 need to be supervised outside of the pool. There was no sign stating this, and had there been I would have adhered to the rules. They need to sort out this policy as it seems to depend on which attendant is on duty. This was important as the older kids liked going to the pool when we went to dinner. And I was the one made to feel I was breaking the rules.
The hotel seems to have really tapped into the family market. And aside from the minor issues above I would love to return to the Slieve Russell. I even managed a trip to the Spa which is a must treat.
Its' a pity the Setanta Restaurant isnt open more as we only got to dine here once and it was a delicious meal

Room Tip: Although children under four cannot go to the Kids Club, they can still eat at the kids club. I only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darcyfarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read your positive comments about our staff, rooms and food. I have noted your comment about the confusion of the age of children using the swimming pool unsupervised and I intend discussing this matter with the Country Club Manager. I am delighted your family enjoyed your break here at Slieve Russell and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Westmeath, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner had a lovely relaxing two night break away. The rooms were lovely and clean spacious. The staff were helpful . The food was lovely, the grounds were amazing. The bar food and drink were a little pricey but Overall our experience was flawless.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read your positive comments. I am happy you enjoyed your stay at Slieve Russell and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyconnell
9.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
21.5 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
11.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
12.2 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
19.2 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Property: Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Address: Cranaghan, Ballyconnell, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club is a top quality four-star hotel. Set in 300 acres, including 50 acres of lakes, the resort offers a unique experience in relaxation and leisure. Facilities include 222 stylish bedrooms, a world-class spa, excellent conference and banqueting facilities, along with a magnificent leisure centre. Enhancing the facilities is a superb 18-hole championship golf course, (ranked 5th in a survey of Irish Parkland Courses) with a nine hole par 3 academy course and adventure golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Russell Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing