We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Certificate of Excellence
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Highly recommend a visit to this hotel, facilities exceptional, staff very helpful and food excellent! A great place to stay and relax, play golf, tennis, enjoy a country walk or visit the fabulous spa, something for everyone.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your praise for our grounds, room, dinner, food and golf course. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the near future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    392
    136
    50
    35
See reviews for
432
742
16
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Booked the hotel at short notice. Highly recommend by lots of friends we booked one night for BBD with our 2 year old son. Hotel was welcoming, warm and effortless. A huge hotel that is well used but not worn had everything for us. There are full walks about the entire complex that intersect the golf course, we had the luxury of fantastic weather. I am hard to please and found the food divine as did my wife. In particular a lady working in the restaurant (Rachel) was patient and courteous with our son doing laps around the restaurant. Breakfast staff were similarly accommodating. There was a lovely relaxed feel about the hotel and it's staff that even extended to the guests. We were that satisfied we ended up staying another night. For our two year old there was the walks, the health spa and pools and a soft toy room. Our bedroom was large but the Wi-Fi available in the bar, reception and restaurant didn't extend to our room. A minor distraction in what was otherwise a faultless stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fintyflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read your positive comments regarding your stay including the food and our staff. I am happy you and your family enjoyed your stay at Slieve Russell. I apologise that there seemed to be a problem with your Wi-Fi in the bedroom and I fully intend to investigate same as our Wi-Fi should be strong throughout the entire Hotel. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the near future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Surprise trip for my 40 birthday.

We were allowed to check in early and received complimentary room upgrade.

Room was lovely and most importantly to me on horrible shower curtain as there was a separate shower cubicle.

Food in the bar was very good and in the Setanta restaurant.

I used the spa for a massage which was pure heaven.

Although there was a wedding on the Saturday we stayed so the hotel was very busy we still felt as though we received a personal service. All staff from reception to housekeeping were very welcoming.

There is a nice short walk around part of the golf course which was beautiful on the sunny afternoon we were there.

Room Tip: Room we had overlooked golf course and lough beyond which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky7406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your wonderful review and I am absolutely delighted to read your many kind comments about the Food, our Grounds, your Room and our Staff. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell this year. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful weekend in Slieve Russell. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Check-in and check-out were very quick and hassle-free. The grounds are gorgeous, particularly the Secret Garden.
Bar food was very reasonable, tasty and well presented. Breakfast was buffet style and was more than adequate.
We found there was plenty to do there, golf, tennis, a well equipped gym and a nice pool with steam room, sauna etc.
The atmosphere in the bar was fantastic, helped by the fact a world cup match was on.
Dinner, which was included in our deal was delicious, with large portions and very friendly service.
Music was provided in The Kells Bar both nights. The guy playing piano the first night was average but the two guys on guitar on the Saturday night were excellent and the ambience and craic were brilliant.
We didn't receive a knock on our door to check out until 13.45 on the Sunday, another big plus!!
Wouldn't hesitate to return!

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the golf course and gardens, our view was of the car park and wasn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee123046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your most recent favourable review. I am delighted that your thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed using our facilities. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming your back to the Slieve Russell Hotel in the future. Kind Regards, Tony Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Lovely stay, lovely room,fabulous spa experience but oh dear the Kells bar! There was no floor service and the bar staff had no concept of 'who's next'. I felt very selfconscious as a female waiting while the men around me were served without delay.Finally ordered our 2 drinks and bar meal. Meals arrived, plate set down so hard chips went over the table, still no drinks, asked again, original barman brought them over, I did say we would have liked them before meal rather than in the middle of,barman said they were busy, wineglass had lipstick on it but I cleaned it myself rather than more hoohaa. Chicken was tepid, whether it was on its way down from hot to cold or inadequately heated I don't know but I wasn't prepared to risk it. I know one should complain properly at the time but the attitude of the barman over the drinks made me reluctant.Unacceptable dining experience spoiled an otherwise lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeyjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your most recent review. I am delighted to note that in general you enjoyed your stay however I am also dissapointed to learn of your experience in our Kells Bar. Your valued observations which highlight a number of training issues have been duly noted and I fully intend discussing these points with our Bar Manager on his return from Annual Leave. Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back ro the Slieve Russell in the near future. Kind Regards, Tony Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just returned from a week-end at Slieve Russell and had a brilliant stay. Have been to Slieve Russell many times, the reason we keep going back is because you are treated so well. It was our Wedding Anniversary and there was a lovely bottle of wine and chocolates left in our room, there are so many little perks like bottled water, tea & coffee, nice toiletries all complimentary in the room. We had our meal on Saturday evening, it was amazing, as were the Staff in the Dining Room, the Staff in the bar also provide excellent service and very pleasant with it. Our room was spotless (as usual) with a huge bathroom. I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room overlooking the Golf Course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vera h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and for your kind comments about the Hotel and our staff. I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay and will return to Slieve Russell. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here for our Anniversary last week and it was lovely. Comfortable,large room and the food was amazing. Great time. We did go for a drive but happy to chill at the Hotel and enjoy the grounds, beautiful place

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VALISAKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and for your kind comments about the Hotel. I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay for your anniversary, I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyconnell
9.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
21.5 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
11.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
12.2 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
19.2 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Property: Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Address: Cranaghan, Ballyconnell, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club is a top quality four-star hotel. Set in 300 acres, including 50 acres of lakes, the resort offers a unique experience in relaxation and leisure. Facilities include 222 stylish bedrooms, a world-class spa, excellent conference and banqueting facilities, along with a magnificent leisure centre. Enhancing the facilities is a superb 18-hole championship golf course, (ranked 5th in a survey of Irish Parkland Courses) with a nine hole par 3 academy course and adventure golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Russell Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing