We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault this Hotel at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just returned from a week-end at Slieve Russell and had a brilliant stay. Have been to Slieve Russell many times, the reason we keep going back is because you are treated so well. It was our Wedding Anniversary and there was a lovely bottle of wine and chocolates left in our room, there are so many little perks like bottled water, tea & coffee, nice toiletries all complimentary in the room. We had our meal on Saturday evening, it was amazing, as were the Staff in the Dining Room, the Staff in the bar also provide excellent service and very pleasant with it. Our room was spotless (as usual) with a huge bathroom. I would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room overlooking the Golf Course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vera h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and for your kind comments about the Hotel and our staff. I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay and will return to Slieve Russell. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,055 - 1,061 of 1,751 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed here for our Anniversary last week and it was lovely. Comfortable,large room and the food was amazing. Great time. We did go for a drive but happy to chill at the Hotel and enjoy the grounds, beautiful place

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VALISAKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and for your kind comments about the Hotel. I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay for your anniversary, I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had already had two previous breaks here in 2006 / 2007 so were a bit cautious about returning to try to repeat the experience. We were not disappointed! Great evening meal in restaurant, friendly but not over bearing staff. Stayed in deluxe room which was very clean with large bathroom. Excellent breakfast. Used leisure facilities and went for walk in grounds. All well maintained.
Only downside was lack of specific information in room about facilities. General info on tv but nothing specific about opening times,restaurant times,menus etc. Had to phone reception twice. Hardly catastrophic when everything else was so wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read your positive comments. I am happy you enjoyed your stay at Slieve Russell and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have just come back from a weekend in the Slieve Russell and were highly impressed! Beautiful, spacious hotel with stunning gardens and golf course. The hotel was spotlessly clean, bright and airy. Food in the main restaurant was excellent and we really enjoyed the experience. The bedroom we had was lovely and big, with large bathroom with bath and separate large shower, all spotlessly clean. The staff throughout the hotel were very pleasant and helpful even though extremely busy with weddings etc. and even though there were weddings on both days the hotel was very quiet and relaxed. Gardens and golf course alone are worth the visit, really beautiful and immaculately kept! I can say without doubt that we will be back to visit the Slieve Russell and would highly recommend it to anyone. I would also recommend that you take in a visit to Florencecourt House near Swanlinbar and MacNean Bistro with Neven Maguire in Blacklion (about 35mins drive away!) but you would need to book well in advance of your visit! Exceptional!

Room Tip: The only reason I'm not giving "excellent" for the sleep quality was because the weath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennett_on_the_go_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your wonderful review and I am absolutely delighted to read your many kind comments about the Food, our Grounds, your Room and our Staff. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell this year. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed at the Slieve Russell for 2 nights with family and had a great time. My husband took a round of golf while me and my sister-in-law took a spa treatment which was fantastic. The food was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room over looked the golf course but the next time we go I would like a room with a balcony. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room over looking the golf course or even better with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read your positive comments. I am happy you all enjoyed your stay at Slieve Russell and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

What a beautiful hotel situated in a wonderful parkland setting. First time in this hotel and it had everything one could wish for on a quiet mid-week break. Lunch in the golf club house was first class, then a round of golf on a majestic course, well maintained fairways, greens which ran straight and true, fast and challenging. The hotel was surrounded by wonderful gardens maintained by an excellent team of gardeners - the secret garden was just magic! Rooms were great, breakfast buffet was truly satisfying. Bars were comfortable and reasonably priced. Dinner on our first night was disappointing but when this was pointed out to the duty manager there was a complete and total reversal on our second night. Overall the staff were competent, helpful and friendly.This hotel is to be highly recommended. I look forward to being there again, sooner rather than later!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony were special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJC2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and for your kind comments about the Hotel, the Grounds, and our staff. I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay and will return to Slieve Russell. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Grounds well kept, inside being decorated, Kells bar closed for painting papering . Staff friendly and one male receptionist very knowledgeable and informative. Breakfast adequate buffet style afternoon tea a treat and dinner excellent although it felt a bit rushed each night. Delux room large nicely decorated free wifi large bathroom. Poor view out to other part of hotel. Spa experience wonderful, great back massage from Ciara who was very knowledgable and effective. Overall good experience and great value.

Room Tip: Large hotel with plenty of rooms with good views from upper floors out to golf course. Turn air cond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JESSCavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your wonderful review and for your kind comments. I am happy you enjoyed your stay at Slieve Russell and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyconnell
9.2 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
21.5 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,550 reviews
11.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
12.2 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
266 reviews
17.2 mi away
Belmore Court Motel
Belmore Court Motel
#1 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Address: Cranaghan, Ballyconnell, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Price Range: $144 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club is a top quality four-star hotel. Set in 300 acres, including 50 acres of lakes, the resort offers a unique experience in relaxation and leisure. Facilities include 222 stylish bedrooms, a world-class spa, excellent conference and banqueting facilities, along with a magnificent leisure centre. Enhancing the facilities is a superb 18-hole championship golf course, (ranked 5th in a survey of Irish Parkland Courses) with a nine hole par 3 academy course and adventure golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Russell Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing