We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Me and my family stayed here on groupon deals. Four adults and 3 children. This is our 3rd time staying and once again very impressed. The hotel was very busy weddings both fri and sat but this didnt take away from the outstanding food we were served both nights. We also had afternoon tea in the bar area. Great varity of sandwiches and was very nice. breakfast was also very impressive and nothing in this hotel is a bother to staff. On the sunday morning my husband asked for some pineapple, the dining area was very busy but this wasnt a problem for staff. Within minutes the staff member returned with some fresh pineapple. Its the small things like this that make all the difference.The pool area is very clean and ideal with children of all ages. the Kids did go to the kids club one day and also got free evening tea. ideal for familys. We also had th luxury of visiting the spa, the girls are so professional and excellant at there jobs.Our room was immaculate and plenty o room for the kids things, pram etc.We cant wait to return soon

Room Tip: 512 rooms 2double beds good size rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen4231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your wonderful review and I am so pleased to read your positive comments regarding the food, pool, spa, staff and in particular breakfast staff. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    392
    136
    50
    35
See reviews for
432
740
16
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and were very impressed. The hotel is spacious and immaculate, and the grounds are beautiful. Our room was very comfortable and immaculate too. The food is lovely - we had afternoon tea, evening meal and breakfast and the quality was consistently very good. What most impressed us was the very high standard of customer service, which came across as genuine and not rehearsed or forced. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stockart7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your praise for your room, grounds, food and customer service. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Went to this lovely hotel for 2 nights and stayed in a suite, the room was fab, the bed, I think was the comfiest I have ever slept in!! The spa was amazing and the food was lovely as were the staff and grounds to walk around. Will definitely be back here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your kind comments regarding your room, spa, food, staff and grounds. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We arrived last wednesday on a Groupon deal - from Reception to bar, dining, gym staff all wonderful. You were not made feel any different because you were on Groupon deal. With the deal you got free afternoon tea (worth €20.00) which we bought the following day it was so good. The food was excellent we ate in the Restaurant the first night food excellent and in the bar the following night very good.
Wonderful selection at breakfast - this is one hotel that you will not leave feeling hungry.

The room was spotless and we had a view over golf course - fab. There is a walk around outside of golf course well worth doing. The swimming pool was excellent and spotless.(they even gave you bag to put your wet gear in - nice touch) I did not use the spa (treatments) so cannot comment on these.

You do not need to leave the hotel as it is soo relaxing from the minute you walk in the ambience is superb. Well done to all the staff. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to learn you enjoyed your recent Groupon break. I was pleased to read your kind comments regarding staff, food, room and swimming pool. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

lovely hotel and staff are very friendly and helpful food was of high standard . We had a twin room which had 2 double beds which were very comfy which ment I had a brilliant nights sleep for the 3 nights we were there , room was quite big and had plenty of room and bathroom had a bath and separate shower , I went down to have a look around the spa but unfortunately for me I have bad hip and knee pain and didn't risk using the steps into the pool area but it really looked lovely . I would recommend this hotel to anyone and hope to be back soon

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your praise for our staff, food and your bedroom. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the near future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend. Fantastic hotel, excellent staff and delicious food. They offer great deals on groupon keep an eye out. Lovely grounds to walk around and a great spa. There was a live band playing in the bar one night and the place was buzzing. Great atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cocodooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your lovely review and I am delighted to read your kind comments regarding staff, food, grounds and spa. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed on a Groupon deal for two nights last week. I cannot fault







We stayed at the Slieve Russell last week for two nights on a Groupon deal. The hotel is amazing. The grounds are beautiful. Our room was a standard room but it was big and airy and exceptionally clean. The bathroom had a bath and a very big shower. Made us wonder what the superior rooms would be like! All the staff were lovely. Food was superb. We had a wonderful afternoon tea. Loved the ambiance of the hotel. Even with a wedding on, the place was not crowded. Very relaxing. Can't wait to return. We would Highly Recommend this hotel for families and couples.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 507 overlooking a courtyard with trees. Very quiet. So restful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanasandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your praise for the grounds, room, staff and food. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the near future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyconnell
9.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
21.5 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
11.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
12.2 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
19.2 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Property: Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Address: Cranaghan, Ballyconnell, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club is a top quality four-star hotel. Set in 300 acres, including 50 acres of lakes, the resort offers a unique experience in relaxation and leisure. Facilities include 222 stylish bedrooms, a world-class spa, excellent conference and banqueting facilities, along with a magnificent leisure centre. Enhancing the facilities is a superb 18-hole championship golf course, (ranked 5th in a survey of Irish Parkland Courses) with a nine hole par 3 academy course and adventure golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Russell Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing