We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic week-end”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another fantastic week-end”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband & I have just returned from another most enjoyable week-end, at this beautiful hotel.Food is amazing,both @ breakfast,where the choice is unbelievable & dinner,was fantastic.
Easter week-end we had spring lamb,it was so good we had it two nights,beautifully cooked.deserts are very moorish!!,just couldn't resist them three nights.
The staff are most pleasant.& always welcome you by name on a return visit,this is a lovely touch.
Being the Easter break the hotel was very busy,but there were no delays in the restaurants.
We had a beautiful room,overlooking the golf course,will be returning very soon again, can't wait

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course are beautiful.very cosy ,& warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler84674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding food, room and staff. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    407
    139
    50
    37
See reviews for
444
761
17
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent one night in this hotel quite recently. This was a special and surprise treat for my wife's 60th birthday. From the moment we arrived until we left we had a superb time. The room was lovely and comfy. In the evening we had a delicious 3 course meal and the breakfast the following morning was just what was needed - a satisfying fry-up ! At all times the staff were helpful, pleasant and professional. We didn't get a chance to use the spa, gym, swimming-pool, etc - but next time hopefully !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afcdeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding breakfast food, dinner in the restaurant and our staff. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Booked a couple of nights here for ourselves and the kids as it was their Easter break, was very excited to be heading there after all the good reports I've heard from family and friends. My sister heads there 2or3times a year with the kids. We booked a standard family room, but were delighted when told by reservations that we would be upgraded to a deluxe family room. First impressions of the hotel as you drive in are amazing the grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The hotel looks great. Check in was clinical, not at all friendly or welcoming or warm, bang bang here's your room number ...go. There was a brief mention of a kids club starting the following day. But little in the way of information on it.
The family room was the most disappointed I've been with a hotel room in a long long time, two double beds in a small room, hardly family friendly in size. A double bed for 2 kids is not ideal, one moving in the night would wake the other etc ... (I'm sure parents out there will understand... it seems like a small detail but it matters ). The room was spotless , there was an adequate size bathroom. But I'm just stunned that this was a deluxe family room , I'd hate to have gotten the bog standard size if that was / is the case. Disappointment aside we settled in and unpacked. We wandered about looking at the hotel and its grounds. Now the secret garden is to be commended , it is fantastic and the children loved exploring it. The bar staff were fantastic, friendly , chatty, professional and this was every member of the bar team we came across over our stay, Barry needs a special mention here for going that extra mile in his role , he is a valuable asset to this hotel bar.
So breakfast in this hotel was way below the standard one might expect, 5 cereals on offer which really became a choice of 3 for the children ( bran flakes and Special K are never going to set kids imagination on fire for breakfast cereal choices ) so corn flakes it is then, the hot food plate was not very good, I'm not going to go into the every detail , the eggs were rubbery, the sausages cold. When seated , it took 2 or 3 attempts to get a drop of tea or coffee from the very busy waiting staff , who were so concerned with clearing tables and setting up for new arrivals to the breakfast room, that they ignored the guests already present. Overall very poor choice and service.
The restaurant experience on the first night was almost comical, getting starters that weren't ordered, then getting the correct starters and then being charged for the first. My menu differed from my partners menu and there was confusion as to which menu was the correct one for that particular evening. The second night we were sat in a table near the kitchen hatch , so the traffic of people coming and going from the kitchen hatch was annoying. It was a cold spot in the room. The food was lovely , can't fault it, although I did get a nice piece of grease proof paper in the sticky toffee pudding.
We ordered afternoon tea from a menu on one of the tables in the lobby, advertised on the menu at 17.50 when it arrived the receipt had 19.50 on the price, when questioned we were rudely told "thats the new price" , apparently there has been a review of price, yet older menus still circulate , it's not about 2 euro, it's about the fact that a simple query can be met with such attitude. Am I in the wrong for having an out of date menu ? The kids club was my main disappointment with this hotel, ATTITUDE is the only word I will use to describe the experience, nothing was fully explained or explained with any level of detail and any comment or question was met with a good deal of attitude from kids club staff. One final gripe is the lack of hot food available after 10pm, wether it be in the bar, lobby or room. Perhaps the chef standing behind the breakfast counter serving the rubbery eggs could be put to better use doing late night snacks ?
It was nice to have had the experience of staying here, to see what the hype is about, it's just a pity it wasn't a nice experience. Won't be returning anytime soon.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Happysham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and for your positive comments regarding the gardens and bar staff. I am most concerned to read of your disappointment and I have emailed you for your contact details in order to investigate this matter in full. I am sure you will appreciate from reading our other Trip Advisor reviews that your experience was not the norm and we pride ourselves on our customer satisfaction. I intend to address your concerns once I receive your reply. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Booked a 2 night Easter break. The deal included a meal. On arrival there was a great atmosphere in the hotel as it was full. We soon saw why. The service in this hotel is up there with the best that we have encountered. The staff couldn't do enough to look after us. Both meals at night were excellent and the breakfast, considering the numbers being catered for, was outstanding.

The rooms were perfect (view of golf course and lake) and the bar and surrounding areas great. There was even live music both nights. 10 out of 10 and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking golf course and lake
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your wonderful review and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your Easter break with us. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My family and I went for Sunday lunch here recently and were extremely disappointed with the manner in which we were dealt with. From the moment we entered the restaurant we were made feel very uncomfortable with very poor service throughout our meal. I rang the next day to speak to a restaurant manager but my call was never returned. I have always enjoyed previous visits to the hotel but on this occasion the experience was very unsatisfactory. I certainly have no desire to return here.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 80reils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer. I am most concerned to read your review and I have emailed you in order to learn some more information and look into the matter fully. This certainly is not the high standard of customer service we pride ourselves on and I shall give this matter my personal attention once I receive your reply. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthernIreland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We played here on the 24th March while most of Northern Ireland shut down due to the after effects of the blizzard. Cavan had been spared the snow but our expectations of a playable course were low given the weather conditions over the past several months. We were pleasantly surprised and, despite the Baltic conditions in a brisk wind, had a superb round. Fairways were firm and the greens running fast but true. It was a pleasure to play and the reception in the clubhouse excellent, as usual. The food on offer was great value and delicious and could not be faulted. A tremendous day to be repeated very soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonn13dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding the condition of the golf course and clubhouse food. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, would like to see it slightly modernised however was beautiful the grounds were gorgeous, service was great, rooms were nice, restaurant was great, food was really tasty, had the best Korma ive ever had there, my favourite part was the room with the fire, although we couldn't get near the fire because the seats beside it were taken at all times it really was my favourite room!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OBrien25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your kind comments regarding the grounds, service and food. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyconnell
9.2 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
21.5 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,431 reviews
11.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
12.2 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
238 reviews
6.8 mi away
Knockninny Country House & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Property: Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Address: Cranaghan, Ballyconnell, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club is a top quality four-star hotel. Set in 300 acres, including 50 acres of lakes, the resort offers a unique experience in relaxation and leisure. Facilities include 222 stylish bedrooms, a world-class spa, excellent conference and banqueting facilities, along with a magnificent leisure centre. Enhancing the facilities is a superb 18-hole championship golf course, (ranked 5th in a survey of Irish Parkland Courses) with a nine hole par 3 academy course and adventure golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Russell Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing