We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Service, Great Golf - Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Like many others I guess - we got a groupon deal for a 2 night stay, including one afternoon tea, beginning on St. Patricks Day. From arrival the staff were great especially those operating on reception on what was a very busy weekend - they couldn't have been more attentive and helpful especially to my wife who had been suffering the effects of flu.

Our room had a great view over the golf course which made down time even better.

I had the pleasure of playing on both days on what I now consider to be one of Ireland's hidden gem golf courses - it really was that good!. Ciaran and the team in pro shop were fantastic in making the arrangements and the price , as a resident, was a great bonus. Thanks also to the local members Larry, Seamus and Ryan who helped introduce me to the many challenges of the course on day one and to Tony, Trevor and Mark from Holywood GC for a great days golfing on day two.

The Hotel has plenty of areas for unwinding and for the enjoyment of Afternoon Tea which is a lovely experience in itself - the service and demeanour of staff only added to the enjoyment. The staff in the golfing bar/ restaurant were also fantastic.

I agree with other reviewers that the hotel caters for all , golfers, families, couples, events - many other hotels would do well to copy the Slieve Russell in the standards that they set.The Customer and the experience are at the centre of what they deliver - We will be back.

Room Tip: Get a room with a golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Straightdrive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your wonderful review and I am delighted to read your comments regarding your room, golf and staff. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,300 - 1,306 of 1,751 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

just got back from 2 nights at the slieve russell and it was great .we got dinner to our room as after a bath just wanted to be lazy and it was real nice.staff were very friendly and a mention to the cleaners even after a bust st patricks night the smell in the corridors was really really good,the misses even wanted to know what they used top job.the only bummer was i had a round of golf booked for tuesday morn woke up to snow just means we have to go back .hurry up group on

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wayne o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read your comments regarding dinner and staff. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future and hopefully you will get to enjoy that round of golf then. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Havve golfed here before but never stayed and thanks to a brilliant Groupon deal, we had our opportunity!! Arrived on a busy St Patricks day and we booked in at the scheduled 4pm ( at bit late but the check out is too) :-) Given a groundfloor room overlooking the courtyard, I requested recloation to a superior room with a superb view over the golf course (€40 extra but worth it)!! Can not fault any part of our stay. The staff were extremely friendly and the bar had a great atmosphere but alot of alternative seating areas for a quieter time. This hotels caters for families, golfers, romantics and everyone else i havent mentioned!!We opted for dinner in the hotel and we were not disappointed and reasonably priced. Afternoon tea was brilliant and very popular. The golf was amazing on one of the best courses in Ireland·Cannot wait to get back:-)

Room Tip: Fantastic access for all and great choice of rooms but definately worth having a room with a view!!G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your kind comments regarding the bar, food, staff and golf. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just back from the slieve Russell and very impressed. We were lucky to get a groupon deal which included half price golf. Excellent course. The staff, room and food were all great though expect to pay over the odds as you do in most hotels. The swimming pool etc was just the job after the golf. Elemis toiletries in the rooms was a nice touch.

Going back in October for a wedding and will be happy to pay the usual full price, though might take a few G&Ts with me next time!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Racs84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am pleased to read your kind comments regarding the staff, room, food and golf. I look forward to welcoming you back in October. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the slieve russell hotel in jan for 2 nights b&b with afternoon tea included.. we upgraded to a fab superior room overlooking the golf course for just 40 euro.. well worth it. Pool area was very nice as was d food

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank olcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding your room, pool and food. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Was in Slieve Russell before Christmas and had a terrific stay. No complaints whatsoever, facilities, food and staff excellent. The buffet breakfast was the best i ever had.Despite the fact that there was 2 weddings taking place, they didn't interfere at all with our enjoyment . Particularly loved the setting and walks in the grounds and even the weather was nice! I cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your kind comments regarding food, facilities and staff. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Busy hotel, well maintained and great food. When we arrived on the Friday there appeared to be two weddings taking place, the reception area was extremely busy and the restaurant and bar that evening very busy. Book a table for restaurant when booking hotel - that's what we did.

Played golf next morning, again book slot on 18 hole course beforehand - you can do this online. Men played 18 hole, said it was in excellent condition, we played Par 3 which was included in deal. Beautiful morning and Par 3 was quiet, so we had a lovely round. Pool and Spa area was very busy all weekend, there seemed to be lots of families, which put us off going to the pool, but we had a great weekend and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Una R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your wonderful review and I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding the grounds, staff, bar and food. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyconnell
9.2 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
21.5 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,550 reviews
11.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
12.2 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
266 reviews
17.2 mi away
Belmore Court Motel
Belmore Court Motel
#1 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Address: Cranaghan, Ballyconnell, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Price Range: $144 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club is a top quality four-star hotel. Set in 300 acres, including 50 acres of lakes, the resort offers a unique experience in relaxation and leisure. Facilities include 222 stylish bedrooms, a world-class spa, excellent conference and banqueting facilities, along with a magnificent leisure centre. Enhancing the facilities is a superb 18-hole championship golf course, (ranked 5th in a survey of Irish Parkland Courses) with a nine hole par 3 academy course and adventure golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Russell Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing