We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to deliver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is top class, great welcome from the friendly reception staff. The bar staff were lovely and helpful. The bedroom staff were plesant when you met them in the hall. The specialised walk surrounding the golf club through the wood is lovely.
I would go back time and again, worth saving for.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel and it was quiet and peaceful at night.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geraldine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your kind comments regarding reception and bar staff and the Cranaghan walk. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,698)
There are newer reviews for Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,262 - 1,268 of 1,698 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just spent Valentines Weekend at Slieve Russell and as always not disappointed.It is a beautiful hotel, with fantastic grounds. The room was apacious and spotlessly clean, Staff very professional and friendly. Food excellent. Cant wait to next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking Golf Course
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vera h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your valentine’s weekend with us. I am pleased to read your kind comments regarding your bedroom, the staff and food. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My family & I have a party for our parents who were 50 year married on Saturday. We had arranged the Slieve Russell as the venue. The hotel arranged a room to hold the function, a projector, & a screen and anything else we required.
The meal was excellent along with service. The bedroom we very clean, tidy couldn't fault them in anyway. Would definitely go back & stay there in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CityTwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted you chose the Slieve Russell to celebrate your parent’s 50th anniversary. I was pleased to read your kind comments regarding the service, meal and bedroom. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Just spent 2 nights in Slieve Russell hotel on Groupon deal. Were allocated room 430 on arrival but immediately asked to be changed as there was a damp smell in room and dirty marks on the walls. This was done with absolutely no problem by reception. Second room was fine although next time I would ask for a view as we were looking into the courtyard and other rooms.

Played golf on both the 9 hole par 3 and the championship course. The championship course is great - well manicured, beautiful scenery and some tricky par 3 holes. Thoroughly enjoyed the round. The walks round the hotel and course are very well laid out showing the beauty of the course and the lake.

Food in the hotel was excellent. Had afternoon tea, breakfast which were very hot and tasty, bar snacks and a beautiful dinner in the Conall Cearnach restaurant.

Overall a very enjoyable weekend

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenj68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your positive comments about golf, walks and food. I apologise if you were unhappy with your initial allocation, I will ensure this is addressed and I am pleased you were moved efficiently. I do hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel for a quiet break, food lovely and service great. Only down side for us was the heat, we stayed in winter with snow outside but had to go out as heat everywhere inside was stifling! Afternoon tea was delightful.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for review and I am delighted to read your comments regarding food and service. I do hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Just back from the Slieve Russell today where I spent 2 brilliant days with my wife and grandson.
All the staff were very professional in their job role.
Breakfast, high tea, and dinner all very enjoyable.
We are into our sports and played golf, tennis, Swimming, even watched the Champions league on the large screen in the bar.
The views and grounds around the hotel are breathtaking when you go for a walk.
If you get the chance try out this hotel unbelievable!
Bringing the whole family this summer! (and the golf clubs)

KMC

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kieran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your kind comments regarding our staff, food and facilities. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the summer. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Was der on da 15/2/13 for 3 days. The food was amazing all wkend. The breakfast options wer very good and tasted good. We had a meal in the 2 restaurants and dey wer the best we ever had. We also had afternoon tea which was fresh and nice. The spa was very nice. Unfortunately it was booked out but wer very accommodating and fitted us in for 30 mins sessions on sat & sun. U must book spa wel in advance if u want to use it. It is very busy der but we stil had a very enjoyable experience. Had a lovely walk around the grounds. Highly recommended

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Buster D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your positive comments regarding food and Ciúin Spa. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyconnell
9.2 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
21.5 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,489 reviews
11.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#1 of 4 in Cavan
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
12.2 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
257 reviews
17.2 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Address: Cranaghan, Ballyconnell, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Price Range: $146 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club is a top quality four-star hotel. Set in 300 acres, including 50 acres of lakes, the resort offers a unique experience in relaxation and leisure. Facilities include 222 stylish bedrooms, a world-class spa, excellent conference and banqueting facilities, along with a magnificent leisure centre. Enhancing the facilities is a superb 18-hole championship golf course, (ranked 5th in a survey of Irish Parkland Courses) with a nine hole par 3 academy course and adventure golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Russell Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing