We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Certificate of Excellence
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is my favourite hotel ever! Have just returned from yet another weekend in The Sieive Russell
as usual our stay was delightful Every member of staff we encountered was friendly and willing to help.The atmosphere in the whole hotel is friendly and relaxing especially in the foyer/bar area where I sat at an open fire in a comfy chair and read for an entire afternoon! HEAVEN!! This is a luxurious hotel but with a very homely touch. Great food, great staff, what more can I add.Oh just that the Spa and the staff there is also BRILLIANT***

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerardine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your wonderful review and I am delighted to learn that the Slieve Russell is your favourite hotel. I thank you for your praise for the staff, hotel atmosphere and food. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    381
    134
    49
    35
See reviews for
422
729
16
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a really lovely hotel. We felt welcome immediately upon arrival, the staff are friendly and efficient. The whole ambience is grand yet relaxing, there are plenty of different areas to explore and find comfy seating in. The foyer/bar food was amazing. We had the afternoon tea which was a charming experience in the foyer.
Our bedroom was to a high specification, with separate double size shower and full bath with shower in the en-suite. We over looked an internal courtyard and the only quibble we had was that we felt a bit overlooked as there were no net curtains for privacy, this meant we felt the need to draw the lovely curtains earlier than really necessary.
Everywhere was very well maintained inside and out. We will certainly look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryD0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding staff, afternoon tea and your bedroom. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed in the last four months and each time is better than the last time we had our three grand kids with us this time it was just my wife.From the moment we arrived the staff were just great.We where up graded the room had king size bed very comfy.All ways find the staff warm and friendly.Food just great.Its one of those were they seam to get every thing right.and the attention to detail is everywhere many thanks for a great stay this is one hotel where i can see us returning year after year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shargil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your wonderful review and I am delighted to read your praise regarding our staff, room and food. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell for many years to come. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

second time staying in the slieve russell hotel.enjoyed the stay in the hotel.Staff very friendly and helpful.Had family do in same -had personal waitor for the event.Couldnt complain about anything.The breasfast was brillant very tasty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dympna062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your kind comments about our staff, breakfast and hotel in general. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I are just back after spending two nights in the hotel to celebrate my birthday. The hotel was buzzing on the Sunday afternoon when we arrived but was much quieter on Monday and Tuesday which was exactly what we wanted. We used the pool and there were not too many people around and also when we dined in the Setanta restaurant the food was excellant as was the service. Had been looking forward to going to the Slieve Russell as it had been highly recommended by family and friends and we were not disappointed. Even had wine and chocolates as a birthday treat after having a conversation with a very helpful and friendly member of housekeeping, much appreciated. Hope to return again very soon and will definitely be recommending it!

Room Tip: Had a deluxe room overlooking the golf course which was beautiful, peaceful and spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpionewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted you chose the Slieve Russell to celebrate your birthday. I thank you for your lovely comments regarding the pool, Setanta Restaurant and housekeeping staff. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had been dying to here for ages and finally bit the bullet when we say a weekend offer on their website. From the moment we arrived we were made feel welcome and upgraded to a suite which was amazing! They got everything right with this hotel, the attention to detail is everywhere and the staff are so well trained and so polite. The food is just gorgeous and we wanted for nothing all weekend. This was the most realxed I have ever been on a weekend break, we barely left our suite except to eat as we wanted for nothing. One of my favourite hotels

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your lovely review and I am delighted to read your kind comments regarding our staff, food and the hotel in general. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had heard good things about the Slieve Russell so was really looking forward to our stay however myself and my husband were left feeling very disapointed at the quality of our room and some aspects of the service. We were in a small room in the middle of the hotel with a view over a rooftop and down into the restaurant were we could see right on to peoples plates. The room was clean and the bed comfy but not a lot of room to move around the bed. The bathroom was terrible. The fan was non existant so after coming out of the shower i couldnt use the mirror due to the steam. This wouldnt have been a problem only that the 70s style hairdryer (no on/off, a box and hose attached to the wall) was in the bathroom. The heat left in the bathroom from the shower meant actually trying to blow dry my hair was impossible. The late check in time (4pm) meant we didnt get to use the pool or spa but i heard they are quite nice. Breakfast was good but had to ask for a pot of tea 3 times before we got it. overall disappointed!

Room Tip: We were in room 213 so avoid this, i see people recommend asking for a golf course view so this may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clare c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your bedroom. It is regrettable that you did not make us aware of this during your stay, as we would have done our utmost to resolve this for you. I apologise for the lapse in our standards you experienced whilst ordering tea at breakfast. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel, as we would welcome an opportunity to restore your faith in us. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyconnell
9.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
21.5 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
11.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
12.2 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
19.2 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Property: Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Address: Cranaghan, Ballyconnell, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club is a top quality four-star hotel. Set in 300 acres, including 50 acres of lakes, the resort offers a unique experience in relaxation and leisure. Facilities include 222 stylish bedrooms, a world-class spa, excellent conference and banqueting facilities, along with a magnificent leisure centre. Enhancing the facilities is a superb 18-hole championship golf course, (ranked 5th in a survey of Irish Parkland Courses) with a nine hole par 3 academy course and adventure golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Russell Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing