We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxury but not over the top”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“luxury but not over the top”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

second time staying in the slieve russell hotel.enjoyed the stay in the hotel.Staff very friendly and helpful.Had family do in same -had personal waitor for the event.Couldnt complain about anything.The breasfast was brillant very tasty.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dympna062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to read your kind comments about our staff, breakfast and hotel in general. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    407
    139
    50
    37
See reviews for
444
761
17
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newry
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I are just back after spending two nights in the hotel to celebrate my birthday. The hotel was buzzing on the Sunday afternoon when we arrived but was much quieter on Monday and Tuesday which was exactly what we wanted. We used the pool and there were not too many people around and also when we dined in the Setanta restaurant the food was excellant as was the service. Had been looking forward to going to the Slieve Russell as it had been highly recommended by family and friends and we were not disappointed. Even had wine and chocolates as a birthday treat after having a conversation with a very helpful and friendly member of housekeeping, much appreciated. Hope to return again very soon and will definitely be recommending it!

Room Tip: Had a deluxe room overlooking the golf course which was beautiful, peaceful and spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scorpionewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted you chose the Slieve Russell to celebrate your birthday. I thank you for your lovely comments regarding the pool, Setanta Restaurant and housekeeping staff. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had been dying to here for ages and finally bit the bullet when we say a weekend offer on their website. From the moment we arrived we were made feel welcome and upgraded to a suite which was amazing! They got everything right with this hotel, the attention to detail is everywhere and the staff are so well trained and so polite. The food is just gorgeous and we wanted for nothing all weekend. This was the most realxed I have ever been on a weekend break, we barely left our suite except to eat as we wanted for nothing. One of my favourite hotels

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your lovely review and I am delighted to read your kind comments regarding our staff, food and the hotel in general. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had heard good things about the Slieve Russell so was really looking forward to our stay however myself and my husband were left feeling very disapointed at the quality of our room and some aspects of the service. We were in a small room in the middle of the hotel with a view over a rooftop and down into the restaurant were we could see right on to peoples plates. The room was clean and the bed comfy but not a lot of room to move around the bed. The bathroom was terrible. The fan was non existant so after coming out of the shower i couldnt use the mirror due to the steam. This wouldnt have been a problem only that the 70s style hairdryer (no on/off, a box and hose attached to the wall) was in the bathroom. The heat left in the bathroom from the shower meant actually trying to blow dry my hair was impossible. The late check in time (4pm) meant we didnt get to use the pool or spa but i heard they are quite nice. Breakfast was good but had to ask for a pot of tea 3 times before we got it. overall disappointed!

Room Tip: We were in room 213 so avoid this, i see people recommend asking for a golf course view so this may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clare c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your bedroom. It is regrettable that you did not make us aware of this during your stay, as we would have done our utmost to resolve this for you. I apologise for the lapse in our standards you experienced whilst ordering tea at breakfast. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel, as we would welcome an opportunity to restore your faith in us. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Midweek stay, availed off a Groupon Voucher, which made my stay extremely good value for money. I asked for an upper floor room with a golf course view as was recommended by a previous reviewer, definitely a good suggestion as some rooms look on to an inner courtyard, an extremely different view. Really comfortable bed, breakfast has plenty of options available and staff friendly and accommodating,. The Health Centre is very clean, again staff very friendly and informative, steam room, nice lighting and an aroma of eucalyptus that's a huge plus.

Room Tip: Room 733, nice views of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axel07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. I thank you for your positive comments regarding breakfast, our staff and leisure centre. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Slieve Russell in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniscorthy, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I are just back from a weekend in this fabulous hotel. The food was as I remembered it from my last visit (about 18 months ago) - Exquisite!! This was the case in both restaurants as we ate in each of them, being there for two nights.The Staff couldn't be more professional and yet warm and friendly, always looking to do all they possibly can to help and made us feel so welcome right from the friendly receptionist to the Spa attendant! The Hotel itself is spotlessly clean and really well maintained. The gardens are kept immaculately and while I'm not a golfer from the lovely 3k country walk we took around the Golf course it looked like the golf greens were kept incredibly well also! In the Spa, my wife had a facial which she thought was wonderful and I had a back and shoulder massage which was also fantastic - probably the best I've ever had! the spa itself and its relaxation area is really modern and finished to the highest standards.
The highlight of the entire trip?? The Entire Staff Friendliness and Efficiently warm and helpful manor!! Cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: Seems to me all were excellent! Iv'e now stayed in two very different rooms each equally as good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colm N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted to read your kind comments regarding our staff, food, spa and gardens. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you and your wife back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We are a family of five, our children are aged 9,9 and 7.
We had a lovely stay over Halloween at the Slieve Russell and felt it was very good value for money.
We had a family room which was a bit tight but fine. There was a bit of a mix up as we had been told the kids club was open on Fri night but it wasn't, however they didn't charge us for the kids food which would have been part of the package, it did mean we had to eat with the kids.
The following night we had an amazing meal, much better than I would expect in a hotel.
The kids went on a Halloween spooky walk and watched a DVD in kids club until 10pm.
The pool was lovely and warm and the kids really enjoyed it.
We also went on one of the walks around the golf course and all in all had a vey relaxing few days away and very good value. We will definitely come again. I'd love to play golf the next time, the course looked great and was empty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PElspethC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony_Walker_GM, General Manager at Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and your kind comments regarding our Kid’s Club. I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind regards, Tony Walker.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyconnell
9.2 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
21.5 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,431 reviews
11.8 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
12.2 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
238 reviews
6.8 mi away
Knockninny Country House & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club

Property: Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
Address: Cranaghan, Ballyconnell, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballyconnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club is a top quality four-star hotel. Set in 300 acres, including 50 acres of lakes, the resort offers a unique experience in relaxation and leisure. Facilities include 222 stylish bedrooms, a world-class spa, excellent conference and banqueting facilities, along with a magnificent leisure centre. Enhancing the facilities is a superb 18-hole championship golf course, (ranked 5th in a survey of Irish Parkland Courses) with a nine hole par 3 academy course and adventure golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slieve Russell Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing