We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience!!”
Review of Lake Avenue House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lake Avenue House
Ranked #3 of 6 Ballyconnell B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were recently in County Cavan to visit family and had the privilege of staying at this beautiful B&B for two nights.We all wished we could have stayed longer in this lovely home.Catherine was an exceptional host,helping us greatly with local history, stories and,of course, directions.Our breakfast was remarkable,served to us in a relaxed and welcoming setting.Our rooms were spotless and very comfortable.This B&B is a true gem in the beautiful countryside of County Cavan!

Room Tip: Our family occupied three different rooms. Each was spotless and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bawnboy, Owner at Lake Avenue House, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Brigid C, It was an absolute pleasure having you and your family stay with us during your recent visit to Bawnboy, Co. Cavan. I always enjoy helping out with the local information and of course the all important directions….as there are a lot of backroads in Cavan.
I am so glad you found our rooms comfortable and that you enjoyed our breakfast so much, hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to Cavan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 47 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

What a beautiful home and grounds! We stayed in this lovely private house for two nights and felt as if we entered the home of friends. Catherine was charming and helpful and spent probably more time than she expected to assisting with us with directions and general information about the area. Our room was a bit small but absolutely spotless and the bathroom was the same. The downstairs sitting room was set up with lots of reading information and a welcoming turf fire where we sat at night and visited with other travellers. The breakfast was delicious and the general area was lovely and remote. Would be happy to return to this accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilrhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bawnboy, Owner at Lake Avenue House, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear lilrhino , Thank you for your very kind and warm review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Lake Avenue House B&B. We try very hard to provide comfortable accommodation, good service and a homely touch in a relaxed and peaceful environment.
I am always happy to help out with information on the local area (if I don’t know the answer my mother in law down the road will). Glad you enjoyed the turf fire, a lot of people say that the smell of the peat fires is one of the real smells of Ireland.
I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the peace and tranquility of the area . Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to Cavan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Spacius en-suite bedrooms with TV in a beautiful, scenic setting. in the pretty village of Bawnboy . are ideal for visiting Cavan, Leitrim, Fermanagh and Northern Ireland.Very helpfull owner. Very good breakfast. So quiet. 10 minutes from restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bawnboy, Owner at Lake Avenue House, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Nancy M, thank you very much for taking the time to review Lake Avenue House B&B, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in this part of the Northwest of Cavan which is as you say beautiful and scenic.
I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the peace and tranquility of the area . Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to Cavan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Catherine and Joe were so gracious. Breakfast was excellent - homemade brown bread was superb. Without our asking, Catherine even had some lowfat milk ready for our breakfast. We definitely recommend this B&B for anyone else.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2012

Dear Phillip M,

Thank you so much for your kind and warm review, Joe and I are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Lake Avenue House. It was a pleasure having you and your wife stay with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed our home cooking and we endeavor to meet our guests requests where ever possible.

Thank you very much for recommending our B&B, and hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to Cavan.

All the best,
Catherine and Joe O' Reilly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We spent the last day of our one-week tour across Ireland in this wonderful place and were welcomed with incredible warmth and hospitality. Even though we could only stay for one day, this was an incredibly relaxing time, being far away from big roads and busy cities. The breakfast Catherine prepared for us was wonderful, and we were especially glad she also offered a vegetarian alternative of the traditional irish breakfast, which was absolutely delicious!
We were very happy spending the last night of our holiday at this beautiful and peaceful place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bawnboy, Owner at Lake Avenue House, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely review, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at our Bed and Breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed at this hidden Jewel of a B&B in Bawn Co Caven in December 2011. Catherine and Joe were so warm and nice, treated us like family. Rooms were warm, clean and beds were cozy, one of the best nights sleeps i ever had. Breakfast was great and we even got second helpings. Joe give us a tour down to the lake and showed us the Island with the old church, his stories were when as a kid growing up, he used to row to the Island in the morning with three goats to graze and retrieve them in the evening back to the mainland. We went on some fantastic hikes on the mountain 5 mins from the B&B and enjoyed many a good night in the local bar drinking good pints of Guinness. Looking forward to coming back again... Joyce and Noel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed with Joe and Catherine just one night, but we were thoroughly spoilt.

Our room was both spacious and spotless and we were treated with home made scones and a really tasty grilled breakfast and home made muffins.

We would definitely recommend the Lake Avenue B&B and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dublinbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bawnboy, Owner at Lake Avenue House, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Hello Dublinbrit , thank you for your very kind review of our home, we are so pleased you found our B&B room spacious and cosy. I am delighted you enjoyed our home baking.

Thank you very much for recommending our B&B, and hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to Cavan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Avenue House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Avenue House

Address: Port | Bawnboy, Ballyconnell, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyconnell
Price Range: $73 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Avenue House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling peacefully in the midst of numerous lakes, Lake Avenue House is the perfect location for touring the North West of Ireland. We pride ourselves on our excellent service and attention to detail. Relax on arrival in our guest sitting room and sample our home cooking with tea/coffee. Take a stroll to St. Peter’s Church which offers views over Templeport Lake. Ideal Dublin/Donegal stop over point off the N87 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Lake Avenue House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing