We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely,family run B&B”
Review of Dungimmon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dungimmon House
Ranked #1 of 6 Ballyconnell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely,family run B&B”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money. We stayed three nights here and had a great time. The owners are very,very helpful and work hard to keep the standards high. Would stay again without a shadow of a doubt. Breakfast menu was brilliant and facilities great. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank niv178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungimmonhouse, Owner at Dungimmon House, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Niv178,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. It was a pleasure looking after the Niven family and trust that you took away many nice memories following your visit to the Ballyconnell area.

Please do call in if you're ever in the area again.
Kindest Regards,
John Deegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    10
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
41
76
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alfreton Derbyshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed for one night only en route to Donegal Beautiful house and groands with ample car parking space. Lovely area and great restaurants nearby.. Dining room set out very nicely and breakfast wonderful
The hosts John and Graine are the best ever. We have traveled Ireland twice a year for 30 years plus
and this is one of the finest B & B's we have encountered

Room Tip: Leave it to the hosts!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DENBRIDGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungimmonhouse, Owner at Dungimmon House, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Denbridge,

Thank you so so much for such a nice and complimentary review. Your comment "One of the finest B & B's we have encountered" is very flattering considering you have been travelling Ireland twice yearly for the past 30 years. It's always lovely to know that our hard work and commitment is appreciated, and reviews such as this helps make our profession worthwhile.

I hope you had a safe and pleasant visit home and that we may see you again some time on a future visit to Ireland.

Kind Regards,

John & Grainne Deegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loxwood
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights at Dungimmon house very recently, rooms very comfortable, The use of the downstairs Lounge was very usefull. The Breakfast on both days was excellent.

We were made to feel very welcome

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungimmonhouse, Owner at Dungimmon House, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Gina,

Thanks for taking the time to pen a review following your recent stay with us. We're happy you were comfortable with us and that you enjoyed your breakfast and the use of our guest lounge.

We hope you had a safe and enjoyable journey home.

Kind Regards,

John & Grainne Deegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Dungimmon House proved to be great value and very comfortable. The rooms were big and airy. The owners were very friendly and extremely helpful, nothing was too much bother for them. A lovely breakfast, with much variety was served with a smile. I would definitely recommend a stay.
John Quinn

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungimmonhouse, Owner at Dungimmon House, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Quinn,

Thank you for your very kind review of Dungimmon House following your recent stay. It's always nice to hear that our guests felt welcome and comfortable and that breakfast was a pleasant experience.

Please pass on our thanks and best wishes to your wife and hopefully you will consider staying with us in the future.

Kind Regards,

John & Grainne Deegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwabmuenchen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2013

THe location is great, the owens ary very very very friendly.

Excellent breakfast and service. Clean and big rooms, with everything you need.

Every time again.

This stay was perfect.

Thank you very much

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven_pat_lang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungimmonhouse, Owner at Dungimmon House, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Steven,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review following your recent stay with us. It was lovely having you both stay and we hope your visit to Ireland was a memorable one.

Kindest Regards,

John & Grainne Deegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is my second visit to Dungimmon House which is a super location for those playing golf or attending a wedding in large nearby hotel 1.5miles away.
Dungimmon House is very clean with spacious rooms and with a room available on the ground floor. Lovely lounge for guests in which to relax and have coffee/tea. Plenty of parking space. The breakfast menu offers a good choice and cooked to order. After the full breakfast on two mornings it was early afternoon before food was thought of again! The town of Ballyconnell does offer a choice of places to dine in the evening.
John and Grainne were friendly, sincere and interested in all their guests without being obtrusive.

Room Tip: There is a ground floor room to those who may have difficulty with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnlmcclure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungimmonhouse, Owner at Dungimmon House, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear John,

What a lovely review! Thank you so much.

It's always lovely to see guests returning to Dungimmon House and we hope you had an enjoyable (and successful) round of golf at the Slieve Russell Hotel. Glad to hear too that you enjoyed the choice at breakfast and didn't need to eat until lunchtime. I might bump into when I'm up on the North coast over the winter and if not hopefully we'll see you back for a hat-trick of visits next year. Regards to your lovely colleague Billy.

Kindest Regards and Best Wishes,

John & Grainne Deegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

a lovely place to stay great breakfast the owners were very helpful ,we were a party of four attending a wedding in the area ,we left our car at the hotel and john drove us to collect it the next day. it is by far the best B and B I have ever stayed in .

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gladysgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungimmonhouse, Owner at Dungimmon House, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Gladys,

Many thanks for your lovely review following your recent stay with us. It was lovely having your group of 4 staying and I hope you enjoyed your day at the wedding at the wonderful Slieve Russell Hotel. It's very kind of you to say we are the best B&B you've ever stayed in. It's always nice to know our hard work and interest is appreciated.

If you're ever passing through this area please call in....the kettle is always on!

Kindest Regards,
John & Grainne Deegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyconnell
1.3 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
10.5 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
721 reviews
7.9 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Knockninny Country House & Marina
5.6 mi away
Lake Avenue House
Lake Avenue House
#3 of 6 in Ballyconnell
44 reviews
10.3 mi away
Glendurragh House
Glendurragh House
#7 of 13 in Cavan
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dungimmon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dungimmon House

Property: Dungimmon House
Address: Ballyconnell | Co. Cavan, Ballyconnell Co. Cavan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyconnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dungimmon House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 2 acres of landscaped gardens, Dungimmon House in Ballyconnell is a purpose-built luxury guest house with well-appointed guest rooms in a welcoming atmosphere. Enjoy the warmth of a log stove fire whilst relaxing with a book from our library or watch satellite TV in our Tea-Coffee lounge. Free Wifi and secure off road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dungimmon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing