We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely B & B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dungimmon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dungimmon House
Ranked #1 of 6 Ballyconnell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leitrim, Ireland
1 review
“lovely B & B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

we stayed here recently for a wedding and found the owners very nice and friendly. The house was very clean and very well presented, Rooms were lovely with a nice size bathroom. Breakfast was very good

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pk1193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungimmonhouse, Owner at Dungimmon House, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear PK1193,
Happy New Year, and many thanks for your kind review following your recent stay. We are delighted that you were happy with the product and service we provide and that you enjoyed your breakfast. We hope that when you're in the area again that you'll consider staying with us again.
Kindest Regards,
John Deegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    10
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
37
70
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is a very comfortable purpose built guesthouse with a warm welcome at the end of a long day.
All the rooms show care and attention to detail. With a well appointed lounge and good access to the Internet. Breakfast is exactly what "you" want - which sets you up for the day.My second visit and i will return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungimmonhouse, Owner at Dungimmon House, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear John,
Thank you so much for your kind review following your recent stay with us at Dungimmon House. It's always lovely to welcome guests back, and we are particularly happy that you felt at home here. We have recently improved our wifi reception and glad that this was a help to you on your stay.
Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind Regards
John Deegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Booked 1 night and ended up staying 3 at this amazing boutique style guesthouse this weekend. We were looking for something nice and rural as I am researching my family tree. Warm welcome by the lady of the house and the decor and atmosphere in this house were lovely. The family here made us feel very welcome and almost part of the family, without being intrusive. Breakfast was top class - I went for the poached eggs on chutney and homemade bread on all 3 mornings - awesome. My husband tasted kippers for the first time here too. We just have to come back here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungimmonhouse, Owner at Dungimmon House, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Joana,
Thank you so much for your kind review following your recent stay with us. It's always lovely to hear positive feedback and we hope that you enjoyed your visit to Ballyconnell, and in particular to Dungimmon House. Glad also that your husband got to try kippers at breakfast time. They always go down well.
Till next time,
Many thanks,

John Deegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed in this lovely place again,arrived to a warm welcome (as usual) from Grainne & John and was made feel right at home from when the front door opened.Room was lovely and warm as was great on a nippy day and spotlessly clean. All we want is a nice comfy warm bed and somewhere to relax and they deliver every time here. Would recommend Dungimmon House to anyone visiting this part of the country. Rooms are spacious,location is great,breakfast is top notch and value for money is spot on plus service is top class,you couldn't do any better. Thanks again folks for a great time and we see you again shortly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danscrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungimmonhouse, Owner at Dungimmon House, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Danscrupe,

Always lovely to have guests return a second time and thank you for your kind review. We're glad you felt as comfortable on this visit as you did on your first and that you'll consider returning to Dungimmon House on your next visit to the Cavan area.

Kindest Regards,
John & Grainne Deegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Found this guesthouse on Booking.com and decided to call directly for a better rate. I was delighted when the gentleman, John agreed to trim a little of my rate and he gave us a beautiful room at the rear of the property (Rm 5 I think). Warm welcome by John and his wife Grainne and helped ourselves to coffee, tea and cookies in the guest lounge. Although it was not a very cold day the fire stove was lit and the room was warm. Our bedroom was very spacious, warm and had the added advantage of good (and free!) wifi. Breakfast, plenty of choice and tastefully presented. Location is rural and not within walking distance to the local town but we knew that before we booked and had a car to travel the short distance. Will return for def.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungimmonhouse, Owner at Dungimmon House, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Rosanna,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review following your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to look after you and we are delighted to hear you were so happy, warm and comfortable here. We recently upgraded our WIFI to extend to all of our bedrooms and this is proving to be a great success. We hope that when you're in the area again you'll consider staying with us again.

Kind Regards,
John & Grainne Deegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belcoo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights when attending a local wedding, and no heating on in the room when I got to bed or the next morning. On day of departure the gentleman of the house knocking on my door at 11.15am and telling me check out time is 11am sharp even thought it was Sunday, and they did not need the room for any arrivals. The lady of the house seemed more pleasant and served a good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungimmonhouse, Owner at Dungimmon House, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Barry M,

We are unable to find any record of your visit for December 2011 but I will address the points you highlighted.

Our heating runs from 9.00pm until 3.00am every night we have wedding guests over the winter. Our house has been fully insulated in recent years and I fail to see why you, and no other guest, mentioned heating issues during that month. Surely you should have said something to us at breakfast, or indeed at checkout?

Regarding check out time of 11.00am, this is standard in most B&B's and Guesthouses. It is important to remember that guests are staying in a family home and we like to make plans for our family for Sunday afternoons. This check out time was made clear to you at time of booking and check in and most guests have the courtesy to respect this simple request.

Delighted that you found my wife to be pleasant and that you enjoyed the breakfast that I cooked with care for you.

Regards,
John Deegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

It was very late when I arrived at Dumgimmon, however my hosts knew I was going to be late, they texted me during the day to advise that they would be out for a while and also phoned me to advise they were home, which was a great comfort since I was travelling alone. The directions I was given were spot on. My room, which had two beds a double and single was on the ground floor so I would not disturb the rest of the house. It was warm (an extremely cold night) and very clean. I must say I slept extremely well. There was a cold buffet selection and a full menu for hot breakfast to choose from. I had the poached eggs on brown toast. Lovely big pots of fresh coffee were served aslo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise_Heneghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungimmonhouse, Owner at Dungimmon House, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Louise,

Many thanks for your kind words following your recent stay at Dungimmon House. Delighted to hear you were comfortable in your warm room and that it met your expectations on a very cold night outside. We pride ourselves on our breakfast selection and our fresh coffee always goes down a treat. We hope that if you're in the area again that you won't pass our door.

Kind Regards,
John & Grainne Deegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyconnell
1.3 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
7.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
10.5 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Knockninny Country House & Marina
10.9 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lake Avenue House
Lake Avenue House
#3 of 6 in Ballyconnell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dungimmon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dungimmon House

Property: Dungimmon House
Address: Ballyconnell | Co. Cavan, Ballyconnell Co. Cavan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyconnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dungimmon House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 2 acres of landscaped gardens, Dungimmon House in Ballyconnell is a purpose-built luxury guest house with well-appointed guest rooms in a welcoming atmosphere. Enjoy the warmth of a log stove fire whilst relaxing with a book from our library or watch satellite TV in our Tea-Coffee lounge. Free Wifi and secure off road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Dungimmon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing