We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dungimmon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dungimmon House
Ranked #1 of 6 Ballyconnell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding bed and breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

I spent 2 nights here as part of a trip around Ireland with some friends and had a fabulous time. The property was spotless, in a great location and the hosts very welcoming indeed. The breakfast alone was worth my flight over and none of us could eat lunch due to the generous helpings. All in all a great find. We will be back for sure ! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungimmonhouse, Owner at Dungimmon House, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Dungimmon House on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased that you found our accommodation to be comfortable and clean, and that you enjoyed the breakfast so much. We pride ourselves on our breakfast and use fresh, local produce and suppliers where possible. Delighted to hear that you would stay with us again.

Kind Regards
John & Grainne Deegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    10
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
37
70
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windischgarsten, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

I always stay here because: It is like home for me. It´s quiet, you get a good rest.The owners are always nice to me. If you need something they will always help you that you feel comfortable. If you have any wishes you will get it.
I´m a non smoker, so i have no problems with the owner.
I like the rooms on the back side of the house, very quiet and a good rest. Front side to the street is a bit noisy in the morning. Room are all nice - i have been in all since i come over for business. I stay from 2 nigts to 14 nights and i had never any problem here. IT´s a lovely B&B, with nice people (owners)!!! If you stay here, it´s good to have your own car with you. It´s outside and if you like to do any activities(restaurant, Pub,...) you need a car!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungimmonhouse, Owner at Dungimmon House, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Hi Martin,

Nice to hear from you again. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to Dungimmon House and we are glad to know that you are comfortable here. We are constantly striving to improve our facilities and service, and the comments from such a regular and esteemed guest are greatly valued, and much appreciated.

Beste Wünsche für Sie und Ihre Familie.

John & Grainne Deegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Currently staying at this lovely guesthouse while golfing in Cavan. Extremely comfortable bedrooms and lounge and allround very nice homely feel. Breakfast top drawer. Made feel very welcome. Will definitely return here!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danscrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungimmonhouse, Owner at Dungimmon House, responded to this review, February 9, 2012
Dear Danscrupe,

Many thanks for your very kind review and we are very happy that you felt comfortable and welcome here. We pride ourselves on our breakfast quality and presentation and source most of our ingredients from local suppliers and markets. We hope that you will spread the good word of Dungimmon House, and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ireland's lakeland county.

Kindest Regards,
John & Gráinne Deegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We stayed in Dungimmon House last year we booked in for two nights because when we checked the internet it said it was close to the Sleive Russel Hotel Its only close if your willing to drive on arrival i booked myself and my partner in and also my sister and her husband but because we were running late for a wedding they had gone straight to the hotel the man that we met when we arrived was one of the owners he seemed nice enough that soon changed he told us it was a non smoking house and we undertood as neither myself or partner smoke but we didnt think to mention this to my sister and her partner so anyway the next morning we were woke up to shouting we didnt know what was happening it turned out the owner that we thought was nice had been waiting on the stairs and when they came out of the room he was shouting at my sister and her husband for smoking in their room they were apoligising and he started too square up into my sisters face he told them he wanted them to leave and half an hour previous he done the same to my brother and his wife who also happened to be staying there then his wife who happens to be a receptionist in the sleive russell just for conveinience came up and asked them to stay they said they would prefer to leave because of the attitude of her husband, and they wouldnt return their money for the second nyt which i had paid i understand he had a policy on smoking but it wasnt their fault it was mine because i had failed to mention this it put a complete damper on the wedding weekend for all of us i have to say the house is lovely and the rooms are spotless but dont breathe walking in the door late at nyt and be careful because if you dont get down well before the time for breakfast is up you get nothing in my opinion it has poor management and i wouldnt recommend it...

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary1982Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungimmonhouse, Owner at Dungimmon House, responded to this review, January 18, 2012
Thank you for your review and comments. We clearly remember you & your party's visit to Dungimmon House last summer due to the disturbance caused to John and I, our family, and other guests. Dungimmon House is a 4 star Failte Ireland approved Country Home B&B, which by defintion means you are staying with another Irish family and therefore some respect for this is expected. On the weekend of your stay, we were awoken on your return to our home in the small hours of the morning as a party had ensued in the bedroom occupied by your sister and her husband. When the bedroom door was opened to John he was met with a cloud of smoke, lots of beer cans & a party. As you've said yourself in your review our policy was explained to you on arrival as well as clear signage in our bedrooms. The next morning when John spoke to your sister & her husband he was met with an aggressive attitiude and walked away to diffuse the situation.

Breakfast times were also explained to you on your arrival and cooked breakfast is served until 10am sharp with tea & toast offered after this time which I note your husband took along with fruit, youghurt, cereal & breads at approx 10.30am on the Saturday morning of your visit.

What you have outlined in your review is quite the opposite to the title you have used and in fact shows very good management - a non smoking policy, quietness to respect other sleeping guest and quailty breakfast served until an appointed time.

Grainne & John Deegan

As you can see from all the other reviews posted here on Trip Advisor and on many other websites, we run our business very well and have achieved a 4 star rating from Failte Ireland due to our hard work and professionalism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

Dungimmon house is a fabulous bed & breakfast. I stayed last night and I was very impressed firstly with the level of service. The proprietors were so helpful and kind. The house is fabulous, more boutique hotel than B&B. The room was beautifully warm and cosy, the perfect retreat from the biting cold yesterday evening. Then breakfast this morning was just cooked to perfection. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jog104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungimmonhouse, Owner at Dungimmon House, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear JOG104,

We were delighted to learn of your satisfaction following your recent stay at Dungimmon House. We are constantly striving to improve our facilities and service and it is encouraging to read such deeds are being recognised and appreciated by our discerning guests.

Have a lovely Christmas and a healthy and happy 2012. Hopefully we'll see you on your next visit to Ireland's lakeland county.

Regards
John & Grainne Deegan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed here one night when going to a wedding reception at the Slieve Russell hotel up the road. We were welcomed by john the owner who was very friendly. The house and rooms were nice and very clean. He offered to drive us to the reception at no charge. breakfast very nice. would highly recomend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParkyFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungimmonhouse, Owner at Dungimmon House, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear ParkyFalkirk,

Many thanks for your complimentary review of Dungimmon House. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have pleasant memories of your visit to County Cavan.

Best wishes to you and yours for a Happy Christmas and a Healthy and happy 2012.

Regards
John & Grainne Deegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

I stayed in Dungimmon House for one evening with my family on the way from County Clare to Larne as a wee pit stop. We were warmly welcomed, the owner (John ?) made special attention to my mum who suffers from arthitis and struggles with stairs etc. He ensured the room was comfortable and the facilities were suitable.
The house has a lovely sitting room that guests can use to for reading, drinking tea and having a wee quiet moment. Very comfortable as were the rooms!
Breakfast was very good and served with a smile. All in all a very good stay and I would recommend it to anyone. I hope to stay there again.
Thanks Dungimmon House!!

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor if you have mobility issues - the rooms are very well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jclaresparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyconnell
1.3 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
7.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Farnham Estate Hotel, Cavan
10.5 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Knockninny Country House & Marina
10.9 mi away
Hotel Kilmore
Hotel Kilmore
#3 of 4 in Cavan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lake Avenue House
Lake Avenue House
#3 of 6 in Ballyconnell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dungimmon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dungimmon House

Property: Dungimmon House
Address: Ballyconnell | Co. Cavan, Ballyconnell Co. Cavan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyconnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dungimmon House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 2 acres of landscaped gardens, Dungimmon House in Ballyconnell is a purpose-built luxury guest house with well-appointed guest rooms in a welcoming atmosphere. Enjoy the warmth of a log stove fire whilst relaxing with a book from our library or watch satellite TV in our Tea-Coffee lounge. Free Wifi and secure off road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Dungimmon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing