We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is brilliant!”
Review of Dungimmon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dungimmon House
Ranked #1 of 6 Ballyconnell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This place is brilliant!”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed at Dungimmon House during our stay in Ballyconnell for a friends wedding. We were welcomed at the front door by John, one of our two very friendly hosts. The rooms were immaculate, the Irish breakfasts (and kippers) were superb (particularly welcoming after a wedding reception the night before) and John and co made us feel incredibly welcome. Home from home really. I would definitely recommend this place and will return should my travels take me back to Ballyconnell. John even provided a taxi service for us when picking our car up from a hotel a few kilometres away the day after the wedding! Now that is service!! Thanks John!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumfordSons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    10
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
40
77
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Thanks so much for accommodating us. Our friend was having his wedding reception at the slieve Russell but as we were travelling on a budget dungimmon house was the perfect alternative. It is a short drive away from the sr and at about £34 pp it was half the price and that included breakfast which helped us recover in the morning!rooms are spacious and clean and john&grainne's hospitality was overwhelming.John even drove us to the sr in the morning to pick our car up.thank you so much for adding to the enjoyment of our friends wedding!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Curtmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

The couple who run the B&B are sociable,hospitable and friendly despite the fact they are busy with a young family...One thing for sure is that you won't die of thirst as you are constantly offered tea or coffee, which is nice...The rooms are lovely and the breakfast also is good....

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarvis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We stayed in Dungimmon House for one night on 25th Feb. 2011. The house was spotless, everything was immaculate. John and Grainne coudn't have been nicer. Lovely breakfast. The only bad thing was the fact that we only stayed for one night. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravelling21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2011

I stayed in Dungimmon House with my 18 month old Daughter this weekend. It was a great location, just off the main road from Cavan to Enniskillen ( it took 1 hour 15 minutes from Dublin airport), on the main road into Ballyconnell. The welcome from the owners was great and there was plenty of parking. Bedroom was a great size with plenty of room for a travel cot (which they supplied). The bathroom also was a great size, there was plenty of room for my daughter to run around. Breakfast the following morning was delicious, plenty of it and really tasty. I'd highly recommend the property as a base to explore the area or as an overnight stop en route to the North West.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa, JHB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We arrived without a reservation but were welcomed with such friendliness and courtesy that it made us feel at home instantly. The rooms were very cozy and comfortable, and we had an absolutely brilliant breakfast the next morning before leaving. We would highly recommend a stay at this lovely B&B and would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenpen10j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Stayed here while attending a wedding at the Slieve Russel Hotel. Much better value than the hotel and if I have another wedding I will definitely stay here again.
Stay here if you want hotel quality, B&B hospitality at a great price.
Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurrayPA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballyconnell
1.3 mi away
Slieve Russell Hotel Golf and Country Club
10.5 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
739 reviews
7.9 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,450 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lake Avenue House
Lake Avenue House
#3 of 6 in Ballyconnell
44 reviews
3.6 mi away
Church View Guest House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dungimmon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dungimmon House

Property: Dungimmon House
Address: Ballyconnell | Co. Cavan, Ballyconnell Co. Cavan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Cavan > Ballyconnell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ballyconnell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dungimmon House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 2 acres of landscaped gardens, Dungimmon House in Ballyconnell is a purpose-built luxury guest house with well-appointed guest rooms in a welcoming atmosphere. Enjoy the warmth of a log stove fire whilst relaxing with a book from our library or watch satellite TV in our Tea-Coffee lounge. Free Wifi and secure off road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Dungimmon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing