We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Rush B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our family of three spent two nights at Sandy Hills. Our room was large and comfortable and very clean. Our room felt peaceful and the window overlooked the beautiful garden. Our hostess Mary was able to recommend a great restaurant for dinner just a scenic 20 min walk along the coast to get there. (You can also drive there, but we wanted to walk.) We caught the train to Dublin to sight see the next day. We were running late so Mary drove us to the station, so kind of her. What a great place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PowayLisa53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 256 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

At Sandy Hills, you wil not be treated kinder, taken care of better or eat more home grown food.
Mary is truly a delight and wonderful woman who goes out of her way to make you feel comfortable in her country and her home. She is a wonderful hostess with a warm smile.
I had the best sleep ever on her bed. When I change my mattress, I will be purchasing whatever she has.
She is 8 minutes from the Dart that will take you right into Dublin City. Such a treat.

Please don't let this B&B pass you by. You will be truly sorry.

Room Tip: We had the room with a King bed and a single bed. It was lovely. All her rooms are high quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hope L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Sandy Hills is a great b&b with an incredibly patient owner who will stay up to welcome you late, feed you delicious scones, and give you all the best spots to visit. If you want to escape the hustle of Dublin but still remain close, or use it as a base to explore the nearby sites I really can't recommend Mary's B&b more highly.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Corinne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

lovely warm lady is our mary.
stayed here before when motorcycle raceing weekend arrives, close to the beach , shops, pub with very good food . called the strand.
marys home made bread, scones,cakes,jams, really hit the spot with me,
big bald biker eating scones and jam in the garden with a pot of barrys tea,
thank you mary, may you brew forever, nuff said, pete.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Mary was so warm and welcoming and made us tea and cakes on arrival.
The room was large and light and airy also very modern and so clean.
we were very comfortable there.
Mary gave us directions for a walk and we walked over the beach to a pub for supper.
We loved it x

Room Tip: All rooms looked lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We just arrived home after a day-long journey from Dublin back to the USA and wanted to immediately provide our thoughts on our last night in Ireland at Mary's Sandy Hills B&B. Mary far exceeded our expectations of a B&B host. Our first and lasting impression were she is running an oasis for travelers and not a business. She offered tea, coffee and homemade baked goods upon our arrival. Mary took time from her busy schedule to spend some quality time with us. Mary remembered our names every time we crossed paths during our stay. She was at the front door waving goodbye as we drove off to the airport. Her knowledge of "off the beaten tourist trail" sights throughout Ireland is extensive. I would have modified our itinerary had we began our journey at Mary's B&B and tapped into her insights and recommendations. The room was spotless and breakfast excellent. Sandy Hills is in a very convenient and quiet location only 20 minutes to Dublin Airport. We will return.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We changed the reservations for our last three of 24 nights in Ireland to Sandyhills B&B mostly based upon its location. The decision was the best one of our trip. Mary Buckley, the proprietress and factotum, provided us with our most pleasant stay of all. The accommodations, her superb breakfast services, and excellent recommendations were outstanding. We must return to Ireland very soon--and we will be staying a lot longer than three nights at Sandyhills.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rush
2.7 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
796 reviews
7.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,610 reviews
5.8 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
364 reviews
6.2 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast

Address: Corrs Lane, Rush, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Rush
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rush
Price Range: $104 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Sandy Hills Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Hills Hotel Rush
Sandy Hills b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing