We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food every time we visit”
Review of Sapphires Oriental Restaurant - CLOSED

Sapphires Oriental Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food every time we visit”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Love this place. Cannot recommend it enough. They do a great early bird menu and are usually happy to allow me to swap a dish from a set menu for two that includes a bottle of house wine. Staff are so accomodating, I always look forward to popping in.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    3
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Good Chinese in North Co. Dublin”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went here on a recommendation of a friend who lives in Rush. We were pleasantly surprised. 7 of us ate their last night. We had the Christmas Set Meal @ €20 each (starter, choice of mains and deserts), teenagers menu as Christmas Set Meal less the starter but including a fizzy tin @ €14.50 and children's meals including desert and drink @ €9.90. We found the food to be good, service quick enough and the serving staff family friendly. We don't live in Rush but would go back to Saphires in preference to some of the other Chinese restaurants in the other local towns.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Takeaway disgraceful”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Ordered a takeaway, set meal for two, and was told it would be 45 minutes. Fair enough, but after an hour I phoned to see where our food was only to be told it wasn't cooked because there was some cock up with another order and the phone number was wrong and blah blah blah. I live about 4 minutes drive away so it wouldn't have been a big deal to get the driver to spun up seeing as they had the address. And the way it was handled when I complained was pretty poor. I will never eat in or order takeaway from here again. Shabby service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Never again!!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

As regulars to this resturant , we were really let down on our last visit. Although the food was good and service was prompt, it was the handling of the ruining of a cake that we had brought with us, what spoilt our nite. A birthday cake was ruined and the manager was extremely rude when we asked about it.although we had checked the cake before handing it over to staff it was ruined when it was brought out very upsetting for our party as it was a child's birthday. Although I accept accident happen e were treated poorly and rudely by the manager. No customer service at all. So never again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank coldars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not good when your waitress cant speak english”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

went for a quiet meal waitress hadnt a word of english and her colleauges had to rescue her aftering arguing over 7up is not diet 7up we proceeded to eat very drieid up food . i have enjoyed sapphires for a long time but this finished it for me seems theres nowhere left in rush the harbour bar is winging it on the owners moods and sapphires are serving there leftovers

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank carmel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapphires Oriental Restaurant also viewed

Rush, County Dublin
Rush, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing