We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Myca and Steve”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rathcoole
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greenacres Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Rathcoole B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this fastidiously-kept B&B with friendly, hospitable hosts. Mary happily answered all our questions, providing brochures, local information, and detailed directions into Dublin by way of the Luas, so we could avoid driving.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 486StevenM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 36 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

My family and I went to Ireland just recently for holiday. We travel internationally every year, and are very accustomed to European culture. We have consistently had great B&B experiences, which is why I felt it important to write this review. The owners of this B&B are neither warm in reception, gracious to guests, nor are they hospitable.
Prior to our arrival we had emailed to indicate that we'd be in Rathcoole before check-in, and if it would be possible to drop our luggage off. The owner wrote back and assured us that this was fine. However, when we arrived we were kept waiting outside. When we were finally greeted by the owner she brought her CIE book to state the appropriate check-in time. She would not concede to the fact that she had agreed to the arrangement that very morning! The rest of our stay at Greenacres was not much better. There was no heat...I could literally see my breath inside the house. I had to sleep with my coat, gloves and hat on, and this was in addition to the multiple blankets I was under. After realizing that we were not welcome guests at all, we decided to leave on the second day and room elsewhere. You can imagine that this did not go over well with the proprietor, who all but bullied my mother into making full payment for the remainder of our stay (even though we would not be rooming there) quoting false CIE information. It is a shame that this is how our trip started, and most unfortunate that we had decided to stay at Greenacres because of the other good reviews. If this was my first experience with a B&B I would not ever return to one. That is how awful this was. I can only hope that this review will give caution to others who are contemplating booking at this inhospitable B&B.

Room Tip: There is no common room/sitting room for guests to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank katd75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Greenacres is a lovely B&B, Mary is extremely sweet and kind, an excellent host. The rooms and home are absolutely lovely, the grounds are meticulously kept. The beds were the most comfortable to sleep on out of our entire trip. Very close to the airport and Dublin City, however away from everything with a very nice country setting. Mary is an excellent cook! Get the full Irish breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Wonderful accomodation.Nothing was too much trouble for our landlady-she
was helpful and kind - making us feel welcome and making sure we had everything
we needed.
The cooked breakfast was first class - not often do you get a breakfat cooked
like that!
The house itself is immaculate with equally immaculate gardens in a peaceful
setting.We were sorry to leave!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnCoArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Couldn't ask for any better. Even an electric blanked. Mary is so kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ulrich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here on the last two nights of our stay in ireland for our honeymoon. The owner was very nice and accommodating re: what time we wanted breakfast (and what a good job she did!), how to use the train to get to dublin (much easier than driving around the city), and even recommending places for dinner.

The room and TV were a bit small but had very nice furniture and a nice comfortable bed. The shower was nice and wireless reached to room (most places we stayed on our journey had weak showers and weak wireless so you had to use your computer in a living room area to get signal).

When/if we return to ireland we will certainly stay here again, beautiful lawns, cozy rooms and close to dublin and the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vt3dogs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

We arrived in Ireland about 8:30 am, and had packed our vouchers in our luggage. They let us stay and evan allowed us to use the phone there to call the airline to arrange the bags to be dropped off. When the airline didnt show up they told us to go to the airport and check on it and if the bags where there and drop the voucher off when we have our luggage. Very good service and very understanding.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rathcoole hotels
0 mi away
GoldenDawn Guest House
GoldenDawn Guest House
#1 of 1 in Rathcoole
10 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bearna Rua Lodge
Bearna Rua Lodge
#1 of 4 in Rathcoole
82 reviews
1 mi away
Banner House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hillbrook B&B
Hillbrook B&B
#3 of 4 in Rathcoole
15 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Greenacres Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenacres Bed & Breakfast

Address: Green Acres Kilteel Road, Rathcoole, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Rathcoole
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rathcoole
Hotel Class:3 star — Greenacres Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Greenacres Bed & Breakfast Ireland/Rathcoole, County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing