We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Bearna Rua Lodge”
Review of Bearna Rua Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bearna Rua Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Rathcoole B&B and Inns
Mechanic Falls, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our stay at Bearna Rua Lodge”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Bearna Rua Lodge for three nights in June of this year, and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We were warmly met by Elizabeth and taken to our bedrooms which were very nice, and the beds were very comfortable. She was very helpful in showing us the transportation options in the area. She told us about the "hop on hop off" bus to Dublin, and even called them and arranged for us to be picked up. Bearna Lodge is a beautuful place, and the views of the surrounding area are breathtaking. Elizabeth prepared all our food and everything was delicious. If we return to Ireland again, we will definitely stay at this wonderful B&B again. Elizabeth was the perfect hostess and her B&B was truly wonderful.

Room Tip: all her rooms had lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    9
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
37
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rialto, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Very close to Dublin and Wicklow county. With the help of Elizabeth the hostess was able to plan out a full day of all the things we wanted to see. With excellent directions through the country side.
There were three of us and the room was rather small and the en-suite a little funky. Our accommodations were clean and view beautiful. Excellent recommendation of where was the best place to eat. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buzylizzie, Owner at Bearna Rua Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay in our Family Home and glad that you found my recommendations helpful to you. Thank you for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our experience at the Bearna Rua B&B was wonderful. The accommodations were lovely with wonderful views for many kilometers and the breakfast was outstanding. However, the best thing was our proprietress Elizabeth who was extremely helpful and even allowed us to change our plans at the last moment when a conflict arose even though it meant that she would have an empty room for the weekend. She was very understanding and quite knowledgeable about the sites of Ireland.

Room Tip: Ask for the view to the north.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddntmosely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laupheim
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We spent 2 wonderful Nights at this lovely B&B in Sep 2012.
Clean Rooms and very nice bathrooms, wonderful view and personal atmosphere.
The owner was very helpful, giving advice for trips, dinner etc.
Very nice breakfast and separate TV| Tea room. WLAN available.
The place is a very good location for trips to the Wicklow Mountains, Glendalough etc.
Dublin can also be reached relatively quickly.
Car recommended to reach the house.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jochen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This summer my wife and I stayed at four different B&Bs; Three in Ireland and one that we frequent back in the States. Bearna Rua Lodge's owner Elizabeth displayed an amazing amount of friendlyness and helpfulness that we only saw from our regular B&B.

The breakfasts alone were bountiful and we never walked away hungry. I ordered the typical Irish Breakfast while my wife went for the fruit and cheese plate. There was always enough for us and then some.

The rooms were very comfortable and had all the necessary requirements for our stay; clean, quiet, internet ready and very peaceful. We could have stayed closer to Dublin as most of our time in Rathcoole was spent commuting but the location of this lodge was scenic and the owner's connection with a local tour guide made sure that a bus was able to pick up up in the nearby town and take us into the city.

The best part of this place is the owner though. She was able to field any questions we had and was more than happy to offer suggestions to two tourists that really didn't do too much research prior to visiting. I don't usually write reviews but I felt I owe it to this woman for providing us with a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buzylizzie, Owner at Bearna Rua Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and show of appreciation. It's always my pleasure to know that a visitor to my home has enjoyed their stay. It so rewarding for me also. Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brive-la-Gaillarde, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We've stayed in Bearna Rua Lodge just for one night and we were very well welcomed. The hostess and her husband were kind and help us with their knowledge of the area. The room was clean and the bed really comfortable. We 've just regreted the fact that the localization was too distant from the centre of Dublin, we would have prefered to be nearer from Dublin. Despite this regret, it is a pleasant place to stay.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillaume B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buzylizzie, Owner at Bearna Rua Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you said Bearna Rua Lodge is at a distance of 16km from Dublin City Centre, having said that, Dublin City Centre is easily accessible by local public transport. Hope you do return to us if ever you return to Ireland.

Á Bientôt Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We can highly recommend the Bearna Rua. Nothing was too much trouble for Elizabeth and the rest of her family. They had a "can do" attitude. Our room was fresh, the bed was very comfortable and all the bed-linen etc was beautifully crisp and laundered. Others here have mentioned the breakfast and we would agree that it was cooked beautifully and there was plenty of it (the kids loved the chocolate spread). We were attending a convention nearby and we would encourage anyone visiting Dublin for business or pleasure to journey the extra couple of miles out to the Bearna Rua Lodge to enjoy a "home-from-home" welcome. Jean Booth

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buzylizzie, Owner at Bearna Rua Lodge, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. Would love to have you and your family stay here again in the near future. Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathcoole
3.7 mi away
KingsWood Hotel Citywest
KingsWood Hotel Citywest
#1 of 1 in Kingswood
394 reviews
4.9 mi away
Glashaus Hotel
Glashaus Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tallaght
534 reviews
4.6 mi away
Green Isle Hotel Conference & Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
647 reviews
7.9 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
558 reviews
5.5 mi away
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
#1 of 7 in Clondalkin
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bearna Rua Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bearna Rua Lodge

Property: Bearna Rua Lodge
Address: Redgap | Rathcoole Co Dublin, Rathcoole, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Rathcoole
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rathcoole
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bearna Rua Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming family B&B run by Elizabeth. Panoramic views of Dublin and seven Counties. Relax in a rural setting yet only 30 minutes drive to Dublin City and Airport. Extensive breakfast menu.Ideal touring base for Dublinn, Wicklow and Kildare. Help is always at hand with inineries for Glendalough, Powerscourt Gardens, Castletown House, National Stud Farm & Japenesse Gardens. Avail of Hop-On-Hop-Off Tour Bus into Dublin City from Rathcoole Village . Luas (tram) park & ride every 5 minutes into Dublin City and it runs to midnight. Local Restaurants: Poitin Still (famous old Irish pub and restaurant), Avoca shopping Outlet and restaurant which has won many awards for its food, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Bearna Rua Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bearna Rua Lodge Ireland/Rathcoole, County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing