We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bearna Rua Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little Acre(Newcastle)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glashaus Hotel(Tallaght)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Plaza Hotel(Tallaght)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
64
12
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
12
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bexcellent directionsdublin citybreakfast was deliciousbed was very comfortableenjoyed our stayseanhoststramirelandcorkproximityluggage
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 83 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our experience at the Bearna Rua B&B was wonderful. The accommodations were lovely with wonderful views for many kilometers and the breakfast was outstanding. However, the best thing was our proprietress Elizabeth who was extremely helpful and even allowed us to change our plans at the last moment when a conflict arose even though it meant that she would have an empty room for the weekend. She was very understanding and quite knowledgeable about the sites of Ireland.

Room Tip: Ask for the view to the north.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddntmosely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We spent 2 wonderful Nights at this lovely B&B in Sep 2012.
Clean Rooms and very nice bathrooms, wonderful view and personal atmosphere.
The owner was very helpful, giving advice for trips, dinner etc.
Very nice breakfast and separate TV| Tea room. WLAN available.
The place is a very good location for trips to the Wicklow Mountains, Glendalough etc.
Dublin can also be reached relatively quickly.
Car recommended to reach the house.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jochen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This summer my wife and I stayed at four different B&Bs; Three in Ireland and one that we frequent back in the States. Bearna Rua Lodge's owner Elizabeth displayed an amazing amount of friendlyness and helpfulness that we only saw from our regular B&B.

The breakfasts alone were bountiful and we never walked away hungry. I ordered the typical Irish Breakfast while my wife went for the fruit and cheese plate. There was always enough for us and then some.

The rooms were very comfortable and had all the necessary requirements for our stay; clean, quiet, internet ready and very peaceful. We could have stayed closer to Dublin as most of our time in Rathcoole was spent commuting but the location of this lodge was scenic and the owner's connection with a local tour guide made sure that a bus was able to pick up up in the nearby town and take us into the city.

The best part of this place is the owner though. She was able to field any questions we had and was more than happy to offer suggestions to two tourists that really didn't do too much research prior to visiting. I don't usually write reviews but I felt I owe it to this woman for providing us with a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buzylizzie, Owner at Bearna Rua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your kind words and show of appreciation. It's always my pleasure to know that a visitor to my home has enjoyed their stay. It so rewarding for me also. Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We've stayed in Bearna Rua Lodge just for one night and we were very well welcomed. The hostess and her husband were kind and help us with their knowledge of the area. The room was clean and the bed really comfortable. We 've just regreted the fact that the localization was too distant from the centre of Dublin, we would have prefered to be nearer from Dublin. Despite this regret, it is a pleasant place to stay.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Guillaume B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buzylizzie, Owner at Bearna Rua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you said Bearna Rua Lodge is at a distance of 16km from Dublin City Centre, having said that, Dublin City Centre is easily accessible by local public transport. Hope you do return to us if ever you return to Ireland.

Á Bientôt Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We can highly recommend the Bearna Rua. Nothing was too much trouble for Elizabeth and the rest of her family. They had a "can do" attitude. Our room was fresh, the bed was very comfortable and all the bed-linen etc was beautifully crisp and laundered. Others here have mentioned the breakfast and we would agree that it was cooked beautifully and there was plenty of it (the kids loved the chocolate spread). We were attending a convention nearby and we would encourage anyone visiting Dublin for business or pleasure to journey the extra couple of miles out to the Bearna Rua Lodge to enjoy a "home-from-home" welcome. Jean Booth

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buzylizzie, Owner at Bearna Rua Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments. Would love to have you and your family stay here again in the near future. Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews