We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Pignata

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Levie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Pignata
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Levie
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

An excellent restaurant in a beautiful setting, albeit a heck of a trip to get there if you are not staying the night. The views are excellent and the dining room very pleasant.

Food is very good indeed and an excellent way of sampling local rustic cuisine, at a reasonable price (not cheap, and given the nature of the food the margins must be big, but it is worth it). Good wine list too.

Service is very pleasant, the only very light snag being that they do not accept card payments and did not mention this to me on the phone when booking which could have caused an awkward situation, particularly given how remote the place is. I thought there was an element of patronisation when it was explained that 'you shouldn't travel into the mountains without cash', despite the fact that everywhere else I visited in the mountains did accept credit cards, and indeed so did they through their hotel reception. This was only minor, however, and not enough to deduct a star, so overall it gets full marks from me.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmrenouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    58
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
48
150
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunis, Tunisia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

The first hotel we have ever found where to accommodate a 2 years old child in a baby bed you pay an extra of 55 Euro per day on top of the 260 Eur for the double room! The owners say this is the price for the half-board treatment but then we find out by chance that the price for the baby bed is 15 Eur, the breakfast is 5 Eur and the dinner for a child is 12Eur, so we're still wondering why they have charged us these 55 Eur extra per day! Ridiculous and a waste of money!!
For breakfast they basically serve only bread and cheese, corn-flakes, a terrible home-made cake and 2 types of marmalade - orange and plum. It was the same for 1 week and they couldn't even provide another type of marmalade!
At the restaurant we had to insist for 2 days until they accepted to prepare a child menu (that what only pasta or rice without any sauce!!!!) instead of their heavy menus not really suitable for a 2 years old child!
Even if they knew very well we were a couple they prepared 2 single beds in the room instead of a double bed!
No phone line in the rooms even if their information booklet says to call the reception dialing 200 in case of emergency or need....i wonder from which phone....
What else can we say ....... After 5 days when we went to complain at the reception for some of these things the son of the owner came to our room and he started shouting at us and told us to leave the hotel!!!!!! Unbelievable, never seen anything like that!
No additional comment is needed........

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank AVa210569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
276 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights, in a superior room, this one having a private terrace (giving some good shade, although a bit less privacy), the room itself has sober decoration and (only) shower and no AC (which might be usefull during hot summer nights, as the sliding door are in the same time the window, we left it open during night, but had difficult to keep the cat outside..), they have a good indoor pool (sliding doors can open with nice view), only very negative point : they ask 5€ rental for a pool towel ..!! Excellent to mention is the kitchen (we took halfboard), we ate outside and had 2 times a great meal (entree, main, cheese and dessert), really worth the price of the halfboard, although must said that breakfast was more the typical French style : baguette and butter/jam .. anyway taking the + and -, we would definitely go back , even only for the kitchen !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvakat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

In a lovely peaceful setting a few miles from Levie, we enjoyed our one night here at the start of an abbreviated walk on the Mare e Mare. The room was clean, well designed if quite economic on space. The double bed was very short and the pillows too hard for our liking - but the plumbing was all modern! The rooms with balconies are probably more spacious. The pool area was very pleasant but we thought it was a bit odd that it was indoors - but nice sitting area outside. Dinner (we were on half board) was robust but a bit patchy - soup cheese and pane cote good, but the unspecified 'viande' too bland. Nice atmosphere in the dining room. Good breakfast on the covered terrace with spectacular views, altho the ever present canned music may not be to everyone's liking. Staff very friendly. Recommended

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

We were staying Quenza but the 40 minute car journey was well worth it. The 7 course set menu we excellent and huge in portion, not sure it is possible to eat it all and definatley don't make the mistake of trying to finish the earlier courses, make sure you leave room for the later ones!

The home made fig jam with the cheese at the end was so good that we made a trip back to the town of Levie the next day to buy some of the jam from teh local shop that makes it.

We didn't stay in the accomodation but there but having had a quick look around while at dinner we wish we had of stayed for a night or 2 as it is so tranquil and has a lovely view!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RDH181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
74 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

This converted ferme sits nicely tucked away in a dramatic setting in Haute Corse. Rooms are well sized immacuately cleaned and scrubbed ; the food is devine , Service overall is unfortunately far from perfect at its best unattentive and full of attiitude - which spoiled the stay. Anoher small letdown is the refurbishement of the ferme - all authenticy has gone could be in the nappa or anywhere else now.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zuperzigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

I'd be tempted to go back. The rooms were lovely, very modern not too hot and gorgeous bathrooms. The swimming pool was great after a long day in the hot sun and there was even a turkish bath to help relax before dinner. The half board option was good value, typical corsican fare though you did not get a choice of menu and we did get charged extra for coffee at the end of each meal which was disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyEckersley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Levie
21.4 mi away
A Cheda
A Cheda
#4 of 20 in Bonifacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Le Tourisme
Hotel Le Tourisme
#1 of 9 in Zonza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hotel U Capu Biancu
Hotel U Capu Biancu
#3 of 20 in Bonifacio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 28 in Ajaccio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
20.3 mi away
Hotel Version Maquis
Hotel Version Maquis
#2 of 20 in Bonifacio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bartaccia
Hotel Restaurant Bartaccia
#1 of 11 in Propriano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Pignata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Pignata

Property: A Pignata
Address: Pianu, 20170 Levie, Corsica, France
Location: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Levie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Levie
Hotel Class:3 star — A Pignata 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
A Pignata Levie, Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing