We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Forge

The Forge
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Moycullen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a great experience here. The restaurant was recommended to us by someone at Kylemore Abby. We were very happy with the recommendation. We had a great steak and red curry chicken that was delicious. Ann Marie was very friendly. We had a great conversation. We would come back frequently but unfortunately live a little to far away. Our next visit to Ireland we will definitely go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heinzstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    38
    18
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delicious food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited the Forge twice whilst in Moycullen, absolutely delicious food in large portions served in lovely surroundings with extremely friendly service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We visited The Forge twice during our stay in Ireland. Both visits we had excellent service and very good food. We tried a stir-fry special, burger, sea chowder and the fish and chips. They were all very good, served fresh and hot. The owner (Ann Marie?) was so friendly and interested in making sure she learned about us, offered us great food and great service. We would definitely be regular guests if we lived in the area.They also offer excellent free wi-fi connection, a plus for anyone traveling the area. Stop by for a pint of Guinness and some good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alethea16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
400 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“So good we came back for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I had dinner here on Aug. 30- the first night of our recent vacation in Ireland [we stayed in Galway that night]. We were so impressed with everything- the service, the food, and the restaurant itself, that we talked about coming back again for dinner but it was too far to drive back after dinner from where we were staying in Ballyconneely the rest of the week.
For dinner, I had the salmon and it was excellent. My wife ordered the Margherita pizza and really enjoyed it. We noticed there was a lot of wine being consumed at other tables- everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves. After I took a picture of my salmon, a woman made a comment like “it must be really good”, to which I replied “well, we’ll see”. Turns out she was the owner [and the salmon was REALLY good]. We chatted a little and Trip Advisor came up- and I told her I submitted reviews. She was most encouraging in this and I noticed a Trip Advisor sign later. I always feel good about a place when they are not afraid to have their business reviewed. The bill for our dinner, including two pints, was 35.50 Euro, lower than it might have been if my wife would have ordered something other than a pizza.
We did stop back for lunch on our last full day in Ireland, when we were driving through on our way back to the airport area. I had a ham and cheese sandwich and my wife had the same pizza. We thought it interesting that both times her pizza was delivered without the basil that is listed on the menu- so both times they had to bring it out afterwards. The food was good- the service was “OK” during our lunch- it took a while to get our bill that day.
We would highly recommend The Forge for dinner. It’s a relatively short drive from Galway and on the way from Galway to Clifden.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DonnieOshkosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tastiest mashed potato EVER!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had a family dinner here a couple of times and they never disappoint. They serve nice big portions at a reasonable price. They offer a great variety of foods and there is something on the menu to suit everyone. We will most definitely be back for more mashed potato, the best I've ever had!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KathleenNicD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Forge also viewed

Moycullen, County Galway
 

Been to The Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing