We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glendalogh and St. Kevin's Monastic Site”

Glendalough Monastic Settlement
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.06*
and up
Wicklow and Glendalough Tour from Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This historic site, whose Gaelic name translates to “valley of the two lakes,” consists of the 6th-century monastery founded by St. Kevin and the famous round tower, standing 112 feet high with a base measuring 52 feet in circumference. Visitors: There is a car park at the Visitor Centre. It is recommended to see the informational video at the Visitor Centre before starting your explorations.
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Glendalogh and St. Kevin's Monastic Site”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Lonely Planet calls this one of the prettiest spots in Ireland and they are correct. The site has ancient monastic buildings and one of the most famous round towers that still survives in Ireland.
The visitor center provides the historical background to the site. The valley it is located in is rather remote but well worth the trip.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler120483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,002
    360
    47
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too commercialised”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This used to be a quiet reflective place, now I found it noisy and crowded, certainly seemed to me to have lost its "monastic" air. The site away from the settlement is lovely for a walk in majestic surroundings perhaps the whole area could be advertised in a different way.

The cost of entrance to the information centre was, in my mind, a rip off as we did not get to see the video and had no maps or information on the area ( even signposted walks) given to us and no contact from anyone who worked there apart from the one who took our entrance fees.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JMD97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting and recreational”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Very nice place for family fun day. Ruins, old cemetery, round tower waterfall and walk ways. Everything in one place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fidel_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A beautiful place”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

For anyone living in or visiting Dublin, this is a must-see particularly as it's so close to the city; much closer than I thought! It's really gorgeous, very like a postcard! I find history fascinating and this is history at it's finest with a very well-kept, aptly named 'monastic city'! It houses a great example of a round tower and can be explored at one's leisure. The surrounding valley is just as beautiful, with a walk to the Upper Lake (which is literally out of a postcard). There are many walks dotted around the park and I would recommend taking the time to wander them! Must see if you're visiting Ireland!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

It was a very beautiful place to visit and very relaxing. Quite crowded for Ireland so go early to avoid the tourists! We did the white and red walks and had some lovely views.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glendalough Monastic Settlement also viewed

Glendalough Village, Vale of Glendalough
 

Been to Glendalough Monastic Settlement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing