We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting and recreational”

Glendalough Monastic Settlement
Book In Advance
More Info
$33.45*
and up
Kilkenny and Wicklow Day Tour from Dublin
More Info
$33.45*
and up
Wild Wicklow Tour including Glendalough from Dublin
More Info
$35.84*
and up
Glendalough and Wicklow Mountains Day Trip from Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This historic site, whose Gaelic name translates to “valley of the two lakes,” consists of the 6th-century monastery founded by St. Kevin and the famous round tower, standing 112 feet high with a base measuring 52 feet in circumference. Visitors: There is a car park at the Visitor Centre. It is recommended to see the informational video at the Visitor Centre before starting your explorations.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Interesting and recreational”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Very nice place for family fun day. Ruins, old cemetery, round tower waterfall and walk ways. Everything in one place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fidel_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,092
    392
    54
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A beautiful place”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

For anyone living in or visiting Dublin, this is a must-see particularly as it's so close to the city; much closer than I thought! It's really gorgeous, very like a postcard! I find history fascinating and this is history at it's finest with a very well-kept, aptly named 'monastic city'! It houses a great example of a round tower and can be explored at one's leisure. The surrounding valley is just as beautiful, with a walk to the Upper Lake (which is literally out of a postcard). There are many walks dotted around the park and I would recommend taking the time to wander them! Must see if you're visiting Ireland!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

It was a very beautiful place to visit and very relaxing. Quite crowded for Ireland so go early to avoid the tourists! We did the white and red walks and had some lovely views.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
199 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Founded by St. Kevin in the 6th century, this place is a treasure. The visitor center has a short movie, an exhibition and then a guided tour to the monastic settlement. We spent 2 hours walking and listening to the guide. Wonderful views of the mountains. The day was nice and clear. We arrived early and avoided the tourist as we left we saw 2 full tour buses and more people coming.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank teresa3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
524 reviews
398 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Travel back in time”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

It rained almost the whole time we were there and while it was quite inconvenient for us to hold our umbrellas,tread on the sometimes muddy trails and at the same time try to take pictures for future memories, we were not discouraged and did a more than two hours tour of the ground. Indeed the hazy background, the chill, and all the ruins from the medieval ages sent us back in time to feel what it was like when St. Kevin and the rest started the cultivate this land back in the 6th century. Though one may tend to think about the hardship associated with living in the wild which could probably be the case, I somehow feel that this is a heavenly surrounding as there are two lakes, hills with lots of greens thus making the basic necessity for food probably a lesser concern back then. In fact even on the day we were there, we saw deers grazing on the pasture. The environment put those of us from the concrete jungles back in touch with nature in its purest form. It is a good opportunity for us to reminisce our past history and think about our future. I would recommend that you try to visit on a clear and sunny day which would give you a more pleasant and leisurely walk and more scenic views . And do take a tour of the display at the visitor's centre as it would give you an overview of the site and its history before you start your venture.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ricky Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glendalough Monastic Settlement also viewed

Glendalough Village, Vale of Glendalough
 

Been to Glendalough Monastic Settlement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing