We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful place to visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glendalough Monastic Settlement

Glendalough Monastic Settlement
Book In Advance
More Info
$24.31*
and up
Wicklow and Glendalough Tour from Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This historic site, whose Gaelic name translates to “valley of the two lakes,” consists of the 6th-century monastery founded by St. Kevin and the famous round tower, standing 112 feet high with a base measuring 52 feet in circumference. Visitors: There is a car park at the Visitor Centre. It is recommended to see the informational video at the Visitor Centre before starting your explorations.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A peaceful place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We took a tour with Wild WIcklow Tours from Dublin to Glendalough Monastic Settlement. It was a lovely ride through the Wicklow Mountains. Glendalough was beautiful and peaceful and has so much history with it. I would recommend visiting this place.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimidarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    961
    347
    46
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

My husband and I drove to Glengalough from Enniskerry which took us about 40 minutes. The view on that trip was phenomenal. We stopped at least twice to take it all in. Granted, it was a dreary day it was still worth it. When we arrived to Glendalough it was still raining and we thought we'd be in and out within 10 minutes. Instead, we explored the grounds for over an hour in pouring rain. To sum it up, Glendalough is very lovely and historical. I highly recommend the trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A step back in Ancient Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have been visiting Glendalough for many years and I can truly say that each visit leaves me with a feeling of fulfillment.
The area is absolutely beautiful with its wonderful walks, lakes (bring your camera) and that surprise around every corner. I have seen wild deer many times, majestic animals living in a natural habitat. All in all you will feel a part of this beautiful natural unspoilt part of Wicklow, now
to be missed.
A very nice hotel in the village, definitely would recommend it.
Dare I say, nearby in Laragh there is a nice place to have a meal, the name alludes me, but if you are leaving Glendalough watch out for it on the right, it is a put and restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Col W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Glendalough so lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I visited this site with a tour group in 2005 and can still recall it vividly and fondly. Walking around the fantastic monastic settlement with ruins about you as you wind your way to the back where the creek runs through it breathtaking, particularly as you enjoy all points of view surrounded by large pastures dotted by the occasional sheep. Understanding the efforts of St. Kevin is particularly enlightening. The many headstones throughout the graveyard were amazing to see. This is not a place for those who don't enjoy walking about. The restaurant facility was small compared to American places, but the food was delicious despite the wait.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Llm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Walking off the Christmas Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

There are two aspects to Glendalough - History and Walking. First, to get there you will need a car or take an organised coach trip. Car Parking is €4 for all day payable on entry so have change [pedestrians can walk in free]. The geography of the site is two lakes set into a steeply glaciated valley - very scenic! The historic area is situated at the first of the lakes and there is a Visitor Center close by. The historic site consists of several ancient christian churches and chapels and a remarkably well preserved Round Tower. All of these are typical of a Celtic Christian monastic settlement. However, the founder of the site - Saint Kevin, was a hermit who lived above the second of the lakes in a cave which is practically inaccessible and attempts to go there are not advised due to the terrain and possibility of falling and injury. For me, there are several signposted walks of varying lengths and difficulties. The Poulanass Waterfall is particularly spectacular in winter after rain. The Spinc is a moderate to difficult hike up through the woods, across the moors and back down the boulder strewn valley past the ruined miners village. The Boardwalk is an easy stroll between the Upper Lake car park [the end of the road] and the monastic site. I can recommend a few hours at this site.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 171956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glendalough Monastic Settlement also viewed

Glendalough Village, Vale of Glendalough
 

Been to Glendalough Monastic Settlement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing