We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet le Chapeau Bleu
Ranked #1 of 3 Saint-Beat B&B and Inns
Southsea, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy Honeymoon!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We enjoyed a friendly, relaxed one-week stay in this cosy chalet for our honeymoon.
Carole and Ron really made us feel at home and were extremely helpful in suggesting places to go and how to get there - we had three fabulous, long, mountain walks and recommend Ron's packed lunches to maintain energy! We also had dinner a couple of the nights, which was not only plentiful and irresistibly delicious (plus vegetarian friendly, which can be tricky in France) but also highly convivial, with plenty of very nice wine which contributed to plenty of very nice chat between the guests and our hosts. We can't fault the continental breakfast, either. There was juice and fresh coffee as well as quite a selection of teas, plus pastries, fruit, bread, preserves and yogurt which made for a great way to start the day.
Our room was also lovely: we stayed in Mente which has a balcony that catches the afternoon sun beautifully. The bed was very comfy and we loved details like the ipod station and the light-up showerhead. Apparently there's a story to the light effect, but we didn't quite get round to hearing it because we got distracted by other topics.
St Beat is a small town which was sadly hit by flooding a few months ago. It's recovering now and all the essentials are still within easy reach, as are loads of nice places to visit or go out to eat.
We had such a lovely trip, we're already planning our next one!

Room Tip: Try Mente for the afternoon sun or Aspin if you like a bright morning - but if you like to sleep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScooterJuly, Owner at Chalet le Chapeau Bleu, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you Ax and Rupert for your lovely review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we loved having you here too.

Always nice to get feedback and we do appreciate the fact you took time out to write it.

Hope to see you again soon.

Carole and Ron xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
57
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Great food and hosts excellent rooms in a stunning location. Food was really nice and more than filling and got a fantastic nights sleep which is just what I needed after a 7 hour drive. Breakfast set me and family up for another long drive to next location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarrenBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScooterJuly, Manager at Chalet le Chapeau Bleu, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you so much Darren for your lovely comments - we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

The storm was massive - it was amazing - it has been a long time since we had thunder and lightning like that.

Hope you had a fabulous holiday in Spain and you enjoyed the Dordogne on your way home.

Really appreciate you taking the time to write the review - thank you so much.

Ron and Carole xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights in July on our motorcycle tour.Ron & Carole were brilliant hosts and Rons cooking was first class, tried a couple of new items on his menu (treacle tart hit the spot :-) ). House is exactly what we were looking for,peaceful but within reach of all the best roads and Spain.Ron goes out of his way for you with advice on local attractions etc and routes if your biking / cycling.
After 7 nights we rode on to Barcelona but it was a bit of a wrench to leave such an idyllic setting and great hosts.
We will return in the future.
Tony & Janet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScooterJuly, Owner at Chalet le Chapeau Bleu, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hiya

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and got the chance to explore some of the routes in the region each day.

You were Ron's guinea pigs with the new Treacle Tart recipe and because you liked it, you are now to blame for it become a more regular dessert for others!!

It is always lovely to know that our guests have enjoyed their time, felt able to relax and at home during their stay so thank you for taking the time to feedback to us, it is really appreciated.

Best wishes.

Carole and Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I strongly suspect that if you look up the word "hospitable" in an encyclopedia, you will see a picture of Ron (the proprietor here) next to it!

On our recent trip around France, we were lucky enough to stay in some wonderful chambres d'hotes, enjoying superb service, food, accommodation and surroundings/scenery. These were all present in spades at the Chapeau Bleu, but it was the hospitality that shone through here quite spectacularly. Nowhere was this more apparent than at the wonderful dinners in the evening with all the guests sitting round the table; not only were we presented with a thoughtfully prepared, generously sized and very tasty selecion of courses, but as Ron prepared and served the food he was the catalyst (and interpreter when our french vocabulary reached its limit!) to the most enjoyable social evenings. We came away from the meals, and indeed the stay as a whole feeling that we had been welcomed almost as part of the family as much as paying guests.
The location of Saint Beat is superb. Nestled between many different Pyrenean peaks, the view is wonderful whichever direction you look in. The view from our room and its balcony were certainly spectacular, with beautiful mountains rising across the entire panorama. We were in the "mente" en-suite bedroom, which for us was just the right balance of spaciousness to move around and accommodate our luggage, but still small enough to have a really cosy ambiance. The balcony and views were the icing on the cake.

In short, we loved staying here and the next time we are going to be anywhere near this region at all, we will be making a point of returning.

Thank you Carole and Ron.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScooterJuly, Owner at Chalet le Chapeau Bleu, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Gosh, thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your lovely comments - it means so much to learn that you felt relaxed and welcome during your stay.

We really do want our guests to feel that the chalet is their home during their stay so to hear that is how you felt means everything.

We are lucky to live in such a lovely area and it is great to be able to share that with others and to sit down at night and share the stories and adventures experienced during the day.

A genuine big thank you and it would be lovely to see you again one day in the future.

With our best wishes.

Carole and Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schuttrange, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Ron and Carole, the owners, are very nice people and it has been fantastic to take dinner and share some drinks with them. As a B&B in the Pirineos, just to spend some relaxing holidays reading books, as a "base point" for cycling routes, or as an "etape point" in a motorbike travel (as it was our case), is a perfect place!

Hope to have the opportunity to visit them again... there are some other nice hotels or B&B... but at the end, is people what invite you to come back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CutoCalleja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScooterJuly, Owner at Chalet le Chapeau Bleu, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and for your lovely comments. It is genuinely pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the chalet is a friendly and relaxing place to stay as that is what we try to achieve, a home from home.

It would be lovely to see you again in the future. With our best wishes and thanks.

Carole and Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dukinfield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a fantastic holiday at Chapeau Bleu in spite of the flood which occurred during the night of our first day. We were really well looked after by Carole and Ron especially as we all could not get around the area and were effectively locked in. Then after a couple of days we could move and things could get back to normalish.
Food was very good, tried some new things (for me) and it was all tasty. The variety and standard was high and four courses as well. The area is good and being so near to Spain almost makes it like a two centre holiday. Even tried out the paragliding in the area!!

Ken & Pam

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScooterJuly, Owner at Chalet le Chapeau Bleu, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Hiya

Well the start of the holiday wasn't quite what you expected with the flood water coming and you getting stranded for 4 days and having to collect spring water!!!

But, afterwards we are really pleased you enjoyed exploring the region and getting a chance to go to Spain (on some alternative roads!!).

It was so lovely to see you both and we really enjoyed your friendship and company. A memorable holiday for a variety of reasons.

Thanks for writing such lovely comments - pleased you enjoyed the food (and not too many tomatoes.

Love Carole and Ron xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here whilst overnighting during a trip to see the Tour De France. A wonderful welcome after a very long journey, and inspite of our late arrival a very cheerful Ron provided a brief overview of the accommodation. Breakfast was a very lovely relaxed affair unlike a number of other similar places to stay. Ron gave us expert local knowledge on where best to watch the Tour that day.

Room Tip: Don't miss the view from the kitchen window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontyCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScooterJuly, Owner at Chalet le Chapeau Bleu, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and the Tour passing through the village and delighted you enjoyed your breakfast.

It was an important event for Saint Beat this year after all the flooding so it was lovely that we had people staying and supporting the tour as it passed by.

We love the view from the kitchen too - it was the reason we bought the chalet originally. The Pic du Gar is a wonderful mountain.

Thanks again for your lovely comments, we appreciate the time you have taken to do this.

Best wishes.

Carole and Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Beat
3.7 mi away
Auberge La Soulan
Auberge La Soulan
#1 of 2 in Boutx
30 reviews
4.2 mi away
Auberge du Crabere
Auberge du Crabere
#1 of 1 in Melles
45 reviews
3.9 mi away
Chalet Les Oursons
Chalet Les Oursons
#1 of 2 in Boutx
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
L'Abri d'Arlos
L'Abri d'Arlos
#2 of 3 in Saint-Beat
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Serre Barbier
Chateau Serre Barbier
#3 of 3 in Saint-Beat
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet le Chapeau Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet le Chapeau Bleu

Property: Chalet le Chapeau Bleu
Address: Quartier Les Espones, 31440 Saint-Beat, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Saint-Beat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Beat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pretty bed and breakfast in the heart of the pyrenees. Ideal for skiing, cycling, rambling, biking, fishing and other outdoor activities. We are only 7km from the border of Spain on the Val d'Aran and 20km from Bagneres de Luchon. Magnificent views of the mountains and local countryside from the house and gardens. Secure parking in the garden for guests. Free wifi. 4 Course evening meals with wine and coffee (reservation only) We can accommodate from 1 to 13 guests in our 5 bedrooms. Please just ask if you wish to bring your pet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Chalet le Chapeau Bleu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing