We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet le Chapeau Bleu
Ranked #1 of 3 Saint-Beat B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Another excellent stay with Ron & Carole... always such a laugh and this time Rocket Ron joined us for a day on the Motorbikes... well done Ron!!
Fantastic food as always....far too much eating & laughing...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScooterJuly, Owner at Chalet le Chapeau Bleu, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi Karen

You are right - ate far too much, drank far too much but the laughing was perfect (great workout for the stomach muscles - if you were here any longer I would have a six pack.............well working towards anyway).

Loved our day out - still working on getting Carole on the back - what are the chances!!

Bye for now and see you in August when we have our trip to Blimey.

Thanks for the lovely review - it means a lot, and thanks for returning to us again.

Love Ron xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
57
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ron now has a new kitchen to enable him to display his culinary skills even better. Guests can watch him at work as well as chatting about travel, skiing, life and anything else.

As always the welcome was warm and genuine, the rooms were super comfortable, and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7gineer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScooterJuly, Manager at Chalet le Chapeau Bleu, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hey
The new kitchen is brilliant but also a challenge - not used to cooking in front of everyone.
Seriously, it is great - means I can cook and chat and join in all at the same time.
Thanks for the review. May has been dreadful in terms of weather but we have had a super time with everyone - means more time in the chalet and less time in the outdoors - great for me - lots of great company, chat and wine!!!
Bye for now. Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Le Chapeau Bleu for two nights as part of our annual boys week away on our motorcycles. Le Chapeay Bleu is a wonderful chalet set in a beautiful location and Ron the owner is an excellent host and chef. It had everything we wanted, comfortable beds, clean rooms, great food, gopod company with the other guests and we will certainly be going back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiggerii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScooterJuly, Owner at Chalet le Chapeau Bleu, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks so much for the fantastic comments - they are much appreciated. Really lucky in this line of work because I get to meet great people, have great nights and get paid!!!!
Really enjoyed your company and glad you enjoyed your stay.
All the best. Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was my third visit to Ron and Carole's, twice with my wife and once with a group of Bikers. Ron and Carole are the perfect hosts, the rooms are clean and Rons cooking is the best we have experienced. His Soups are Legendary!
This is an ideal location for anyone wishing to explore the area by Car, Bicycle or Motorcycle and there is always a warm welcome when you return.
Don't let the Biker/Motorcycle thing put you off, I'd happily recommend this to anyone with a family.
Hope to return soon
Mike and Mandy

Room Tip: Stayed in three different rooms, all perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScooterJuly, Manager at Chalet le Chapeau Bleu, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello Mandy and Mike
Thanks again for taking the time to write your review - they are so important to us and we really appreciate you doing this.
For you, the weather meant you were stuck in with me. For me, meant that I had great company and a fun time - I was the winner I think.
What a May - never seen weather like it.
Really touched that you came back to stay with us.
Best wishes. Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Me and the brother in law stayed here for 2 nights and had a brill time apart from the weather Ron your host cooks some fantastic meals and you are made to feel a family friend he's a great bloke the rooms are good and facilities excellent all in all great value for money

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hucknal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScooterJuly, Manager at Chalet le Chapeau Bleu, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks for the review - really enjoyed your company and believe me, appreciate it when you take the time out to write lovely comments.
Trying out some new menus this year - so when you write you like the food it means a lot.
Cant do much about the weather unfortunately - been a dreadful May, worst I have known since moving here but pleased to hear you had a good time.
Best wishes and thanks again. Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

As regular users of Tripadvisor we were delighted to find accommodation with such excellent reviews in Saint-Beat near to Luchon and where we were planning a short break.
The reviews already listed on Tripadvisor can be trusted. Le Chapeau Bleu is a gem and a real find. Located in Saint-Beat, a commune in the Haute-Garonne department of south western France this comfortable and clean Chambres d'Hote is set in an idyllic spot with stunning mountain views all around. Our host, Ron was absolutely charming and could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. We were offered refreshments on arrival (teas and coffee are available throughout your stay and in your room) and nothing was too much trouble. Our room, the Aspin, was exactly as described on the website and met all our needs. Ron even lent us the "Skyfall" DVD to watch during our stay. We had opted for breakfast and dinner and we were not disappointed. As vegetarians, we particularly appreciated the care and consideration given to the meals provided. Dinner was 4 generous courses and at €20/head including wine, water and coffee/tea represented exceptional value for money. Breakfast was equally good with a generous and varied supply of cereals, pastries, bread, jams and fruit.
Overall, our stay was first class and we look forward to returning in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: There are a choice of rooms available. Some rooms have private bathrooms and others have shared faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhousesitters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScooterJuly, Owner at Chalet le Chapeau Bleu, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much Tracy and Della for your lovely comments - they are really appreciated. Ron really enjoyed your company and had a wonderful time at dinner, our friends Bernard and Dot also had a great night and even emailed me the next day to let me know!!

I was sorry not to be there during your stay so it was lovely to meet you both and your family and thanks for taking the time to come and visit us on your way to Spain for Tapas.

We hope you have had a fantastic week in Luchon and look forward to seeing you again next year, hopefully with your friends from Canada.

With our very best wishes and thank you again for the review. Ron and Carole xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at Chapeau Bleu : very clean and spacious room, amazing view, lovely hosts. It was a perfect, nice and relaxing weekend !

Thank you Ron and Carol, we'll be back :)

Chloé & Adrien (and baby)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chloe123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ScooterJuly, Owner at Chalet le Chapeau Bleu, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Google Translation
Hello Chloe and Adrian (and baby too)

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for you. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to seeing you again with baby too!!!

It was such a pleasure to meet you both.

With best wishes and a big thank you.

Carole and Ron xx


Bonjour Chloé et Adrian (et le bébé aussi)

Je vous remercie beaucoup d'avoir pris le temps d'écrire un tel examen très agréable pour nous. Nous sommes très heureux que vous avez apprécié votre séjour chez nous et nous réjouissons de vous revoir avec bébé aussi!

C'était un plaisir de vous rencontrer.

Avec mes meilleurs voeux et un grand merci.

Carole et Ron xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Beat
3.0 mi away
La Gentilhommiere
La Gentilhommiere
#1 of 1 in Fos
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Abri d'Arlos
L'Abri d'Arlos
#2 of 3 in Saint-Beat
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Serre Barbier
Chateau Serre Barbier
#3 of 3 in Saint-Beat
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Le Baluchon
Le Baluchon
#1 of 3 in Cierp-Gaud
25 reviews
3.9 mi away
Chalet Les Oursons
Chalet Les Oursons
#1 of 2 in Boutx
11 reviews
9.2 mi away
Chateau De La Lanette
Chateau De La Lanette
#1 of 1 in Salechan
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet le Chapeau Bleu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet le Chapeau Bleu

Property: Chalet le Chapeau Bleu
Address: Quartier Les Espones, 31440 Saint-Beat, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Saint-Beat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Beat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pretty bed and breakfast in the heart of the pyrenees. Ideal for skiing, cycling, rambling, biking, fishing and other outdoor activities. We are only 7km from the border of Spain on the Val d'Aran and 20km from Bagneres de Luchon. Magnificent views of the mountains and local countryside from the house and gardens. Secure parking in the garden for guests. Free wifi. 4 Course evening meals with wine and coffee (reservation only) We can accommodate from 1 to 13 guests in our 5 bedrooms. Please just ask if you wish to bring your pet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Chalet le Chapeau Bleu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing