We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potentially great site let down by poor facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Campsites Le Parc de Fierbois
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Potentially great site let down by poor facilities”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This is our third Les Castels site and we have not been disappointed till now. The surroundings are beautiful and the site itself offers great pitches (as long as you're not in the woods where you get hardly any sunlight) and there are plenty of activities for children. The whole site, from the lake and forest to the pool complex, is all you would hope for from a camping holiday. However, the shower facilities are horrible. The men were wading in each other's shower water in the morning and the cubicles are dark and dirty with a poor water supply. I found a shower in the washing up area that had a better water pressure and in seven days the same blobs of shower gel and other "stuff" were left on the tiles by whoever was responsible for cleaning them. We couldn't wait to get home to use a clean shower. We thought that the evening entertainment as advertised would be great for our 16 year olds but it was so dire that even they were embarrassed to watch - suggest they hire a local group/singer to provide at least one decent night's entertainment in a week. This lovely site, great for families with young children, is let down by a lack of effort which could make it a brilliant place to stay. Just up the road, Domaine de la Breche has got it right.

Room Tip: If you ask for a pitch in the shade you may never see the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JaneL44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    79
    48
    32
    15
See reviews for
185
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I must admit we weren't very satisfied with the services we got on arrival. We were messed around with our pitch. The service was very, very unorganised.
The pitch we were finally given was right next to a washing block, so at night it was very noisy and was hard to get sleep.
In the pool area so many kids were jumping off a 6ft tall bridge into the water, and there was no lifeguard. It was quite shocking to see that someone could easily slip or jump on someone. The lifeguard didn't turn up for his job until at least 13:00, on most days.
The showers were always very dirty, always dark as there was no light and they were very weak and always seemed to be cold depending on the one's you went in.
Some of the food from the bar is cooked in a microwave from frozen and is not fresh in any way. I ended up having a stomach ache for the rest of the day!

Although I have highlighted some bad things against the site. It does have excellent entertainment facilities. Ping pong room, skate park, archery, football, tennis, basketball, volleyball, gym, indoor and outdoor pool, restaurant, bar, snooker, free internet access, biking routes, bike hire, karting hire, zipwire across lake, beach, grocery shop, clothing shop, games room, horseriding, children's clubs for all ages.

The main outdoor pool is really deep, and diving is allowed, but it's preferred that there is supervision for children diving. There are 2 kinds of waterslides as well as a baby pool that looks so much fun (for a baby)

Despite the bad points I felt that the site was brilliant on the entertainment side

Room Tip: If you go in the Summer make sure you try and get a pitch with some shade. (Not to do with rooms) Tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We only stayed here for 1 night as we were driving around France staying in different areas but we tried to extend our visit as it was so great.

This parc was located in the countryside with lots of pretty towns nearby which was great for day trips sightseeing.

The mobile home was big, the decking and BBQ were lovely and the homes weren't cramped together.

The lake area was lovely and the indoor swimming pool and gym overlooking it were great.

The kids club, swimming pool and bar area/games area were good, not too busy and the kids loved staying at the parc.

The bar, shop and restaurant weren't cheap but having them all on site was a great help.

We will be returning here next year as we stayed at 3 of these parts and this was by far the best for both adults and children

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Stopped here for four days last week on way back up from the Dordogne. Had lovely stay and really like this site. We stayed here three years ago as a one stay holiday. The site is well maintained and pool is excellent. Can't complain.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RichT07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I simply cannot fault this site...we travelled with a 10yr old and 12yr old and they had a fantastic time. We were quite apprehensive as previous reviews have been anything but complimentary. Stayed for the first 3 weeks in July. We travelled with Keycamp and had a lovely pitch. Some pitches are quite shaded in the wooded area and I would recommend you request a sunny pitch. The Castell group also provided a great time table of activities for young teens from soccer to archery, tennis, golf, ping pong, aqua gym.....we practically had to make an appointment to meet our children. The bistro was superb and quite inexpensive. Karting within a 10 minute drive. Zip wires on site by the lake; perhaps not as adventurous as others we have experienced on the coast. Bastille night was amazing!!!!The best I have seen in our 10yrs holidaying in France. A superb fire works display is held by the lake...lasted approx 20mins. There was face painting , a parade with lanterns, chinese lanterns..not to be missed if you are booking for next year.

Room Tip: Avoid the wooded area because let's face it we are getting far more rain than we ever got and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CorkBuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Problems with Keycamp Villagrand mobile home at pitch number 611 included

Black mould spots over the double bed head board
Blood stain and other large stain (possibly urine or semen) on the centre of the mattress cover (mattress cover taken away by courier from Key Camp but no replacement)
Coagulated blood on bedroom doorframe at hip height
Most cutlery bent and all teaspoons heavily stained
Small saucepan contained previous holidaymaker’s food
Small sharp knife had point broken off
Vegetable peeler completely blunt
Tray heavily stained
Glass bowl chipped around rim
No tea pot
Mop and bucket not found for days eventually found behind mobile home
Stickiness and stains on indoor dining table
Filth collected around sink
Filth collected around indoor bin handle
Cupboard doors, doors, light switches and handles with dirty marks on them
Cooker very slow compared to previous gas cooker units
Water pressure for Wash Hand Basin very low
Tooth paste embedded in bathroom plug
Toilet cistern loose on wall
Shower room cabinet doors not meeting as doors misaligned
Shower room roller blind stained with white marks
Roller blind in bunk room torn
Curtain tiebacks in all rooms, except double bedroom, were missing their Velcro
Outside furniture covered in splashed up mud
Parasol filthy and mouldy
Pitch had white paper rubbish strewn over it and the remains of an orange balloon
On arrival my husband and I cleaned for two hours - which has hopefully improved things a bit for the next unfortunate family. I made a complaint in resort and after the holiday to Keycamp and we have been given a few pounds towards another holiday with them.
The campsite in the brochure is quite different in reality. The swimming pool footbath was a muddy puddle which on one day contained a dead slug. I cannot see how this keeps a swimming pool any cleaner! The pool itself was quite interesting but a supervision nightmare, the situation being made worse by lifeguards that were not always on task and sometimes absent. The indoor pool was down a steep hill near the lake. The lake and artificial beach were unappealing. The lake was very dirty and I am told very deep; the beach was builders sand with weeds growing in it. The paths on this campsite are quite rough in places, especially around the shaded pitches near the trees and lake. We observed Canvas Holidays making a greater effort with the cleaning of their mobile homes, even cleaning the tops of their parasols. So we might use the site as a base again but not with Keycamp.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sainte-Catherine-de-Fierbois hotels

Castlewellan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Like the previous two reviews, I felt I had to post my views of the site after reading some really negitive reviews. We stayed on the site over June / July 2012 through Canvas and had a fantastic time. The site looked well kept and clean, and the pools etc were great. There were no lifeguards until July but if you read the signs it does say that! Canvas staff were great and we had no problems with any of the site staff either. I have stayed on a castles site previously and found there to be much more space and privacy on the Fierbois site.
I get annoyed when people say things like "the shop is expensivet" and "the pool is cold", no one is forced to shop there ! and why is an outdoor unheated pool going to be warm !
This is an prefrce peacfull location for relaxing and exploring the Loire. I would say bikes are a must as the local roads are ideal. Ok this site is not perfect, i would say 7/10. It could do with a freshen here and there and as all the buildings are fairly modern it does lack some of the character of other Castles sites which tend to be centered arround a chateau. Off season it is quiet which we had no problem with but I can imagine that older kids/teens might get bored.
All in all though a great site, we got good weather which made it.
A must is the Zoo de Beauval about an hour away, expensive but worth it! and the town of Richelieu has a beautiful park which you can loose a day in.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Willowlodge05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Catherine-de-Fierbois
9.2 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
476 reviews
10.8 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
13.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Tours Sud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Les Hauts de Sainte Maure
Les Hauts de Sainte Maure
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Maure-de-Touraine
105 reviews
18.4 mi away
Camping les Acacias
Camping les Acacias
#1 of 1 in La Ville-aux-Dames
70 reviews
17.1 mi away
Camping Loire et Chateaux
Camping Loire et Chateaux
#1 of 1 in Brehemont
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campsites Le Parc de Fierbois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campsites Le Parc de Fierbois

Property: Campsites Le Parc de Fierbois
Address: Parc de Fierbois, 37800 Sainte-Catherine-de-Fierbois, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Sainte-Catherine-de-Fierbois
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sainte-Catherine-de-Fierbois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Campsites Le Parc de Fierbois 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Loire Valley, a vast domain surrounded by a lake and a hundred year old forest. Quality accomodation and multiple activities make an ideal location for restful and family holidays: vast water areas (toboggans, heated and covered pool, lake and fishing), activities for everyone (adventure trail, sports grounds, skate park, archery, crazy golf, pony rides, etc...), Restaurants, shops, bar, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Campsites Le Parc de Fierbois reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campsites Le Parc De Fierbois Hotel Sainte-Catherine-De-Fierbois
Campsites Le Parc De Fierbois France/Sainte-Catherine-De-Fierbois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing