We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
47
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine tastingworking vineyardper guestthe main housemagical placeeach morningcroissantsour honeymooncomfortable bedtwo nightsgreat hostson arrivalpoolbedroomnickmezelavender
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 50 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The wife and I spent an absolutely wonderful weekend chez Domaine Saint Hilaire. Anne and Jonathan are the perfect hosts who can't do enough for you. Nick the gardener is also a total charmer who may well take you on a tour of the local attractions if he likes the cut of your jib.

The house is beautiful and a joy to stay in - part 16th century I think or older and another part built in the 1920s which is like walking into an Art Deco museum. There is a small pool to lounge around in the afternoon heat and lovely gardens to sit in.

It's also a working chateau, thus the domaine prefix and the wine they produce is of a very high standard. I would have bought a pallet or two if my bank balance was a little healthier. The merlot and the chardonnay are particularly noteworthy and their top end cuvees, called Silks are terrific. The Silk Chardonnay is a perfect example of what the Languedoc can produce at its very best.

I couldn't recommend the Domaine enough. A perfect hideaway in the Languedoc.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martzdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Jonathan and Anne made our two day stay here pure bliss. A beautiful home in the heart of a vineyard. Great food, great wine and a lovely evening with the hosts made for a truly relaxing stay just north of Montpellier. We come home with bigger bellies and a boot full of fantastic wine!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_lodge1_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our second visit here, its certainly worth the journey, and possibly even better than the first. I would thoroughly endorse all previous comments, complete peace, very luxurious and comfortable rooms, delicious food and welcoming and knowlegable hosts.
Not previously mentioned is that tea ( leal not bags) is brought to your room in the morning, and was served on arrival in front of an open fire of vine wood ( unseasonably cold for late May) breakfast juice is freshly sqeezed, and there is a vast library of books and Dvds.
We were glad that we did not have a fridge in our room as they produce noise and heat, might spoil the look of the room, and we don't have one in our bedroom at home and this is a home ( albeit a rather special one ) not a hotel. The toileteies provided were perfect and more than we had in other similar places on our trip.Highly recommended

Room Tip: all good, see website for personal preference
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank difficultoplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thanks for writing such an informative review. I doubt we'll be making any vine wood fires for a few months now! The sun and cicadas are out for the summer. Hope to welcome you back some time for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Don't hesitate to stay at this wonderful domaine. The rooms are fabulous. We stayed in Autan and it's quite large with excellent modern amenities. High thread count sheets, spacious bathroom with good shower, etc. Very up to date. The owners are kind, knowledgeable and their wine is delicious. The setting is very tranquil. The pool is lovely. A good place to have a leisurely weekend. The sea is not too far a drive as well as the beautiful town of Pezenas. My only suggestions for the rooms are to have a small refrigerator in each room instead of the communal regfridge. Also to include body lotion in the bathroom amenities. Other than that, the rooms are perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelpro2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Very glad you enjoyed your stay here, and thank you for the suggestion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I agree entirely with all the comments from the previous review (except for hearing early morning noises!) This is a perfect spot for a few days relaxation with plenty to see and do within the area. It is only around 10 miles from the coast, so plenty of restaurants serving good seafood. There are attractive villages and small towns, and vineyards everywhere you look. We found days followed a pattern of sightseeing in the morning, returning late afternoon and being lazy by the pretty little pool, before heading out to dinner at one of the James' recommendations - all excellent.
We were beautifully looked after in great comfort, nothing being too much trouble and even the weather was glorious!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carpet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thanks for writing your review, much appreciated! I'm afraid we can't take credit for the weather (300 days of sunshine a year on average!), but thanks for all the lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews