We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at a luxury chambre d'hôte with it's own vineyard!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montagnac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Domaine Saint Hilaire
Ranked #2 of 6 Montagnac B&B and Inns
Redhill
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay at a luxury chambre d'hôte with it's own vineyard!”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed with Anne & James at the wonderful Domaine for four nights and thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing time there. The house has been beautifully renovated with very well appointed rooms, and the grounds are stunning. It is certainly a luxurious B&B with great facilities, and the fact that it is a working vineyard (with award winning wines) makes it an even more unique and special place to stay. The hosts are welcoming and lovely people with great knowledge about the area and wine, and Anne's catering is fantastic - both at breakfast time and for the evening meals which we enjoyed. We took my father in law for a surprise trip for his 80th birthday and she even made him a birthday cake! It was great fun to sample the estate's own wine which had been selected to go with the various dishes and talk to James about the production. We can also highly recommend the wine tasting! So much so, that like other reviewers we returned home with cases of fantastic wine.

The Domaine is very well located for exploring the coast, Languedoc wine country, and some lovely towns and villages. We tended to go out and about in the morning and then laze around in the sun and swim in the beautiful pool in the afternoon. We really felt like we had the run of our own luxury country pad with great service when we wanted it. The house is nested in the middle of the vineyards surrounded by mature woodland so it makes for a very quiet and relaxing escape from the buzz of the Languedoc summer. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The wife and I spent an absolutely wonderful weekend chez Domaine Saint Hilaire. Anne and Jonathan are the perfect hosts who can't do enough for you. Nick the gardener is also a total charmer who may well take you on a tour of the local attractions if he likes the cut of your jib.

The house is beautiful and a joy to stay in - part 16th century I think or older and another part built in the 1920s which is like walking into an Art Deco museum. There is a small pool to lounge around in the afternoon heat and lovely gardens to sit in.

It's also a working chateau, thus the domaine prefix and the wine they produce is of a very high standard. I would have bought a pallet or two if my bank balance was a little healthier. The merlot and the chardonnay are particularly noteworthy and their top end cuvees, called Silks are terrific. The Silk Chardonnay is a perfect example of what the Languedoc can produce at its very best.

I couldn't recommend the Domaine enough. A perfect hideaway in the Languedoc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martzdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Jonathan and Anne made our two day stay here pure bliss. A beautiful home in the heart of a vineyard. Great food, great wine and a lovely evening with the hosts made for a truly relaxing stay just north of Montpellier. We come home with bigger bellies and a boot full of fantastic wine!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_lodge1_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our second visit here, its certainly worth the journey, and possibly even better than the first. I would thoroughly endorse all previous comments, complete peace, very luxurious and comfortable rooms, delicious food and welcoming and knowlegable hosts.
Not previously mentioned is that tea ( leal not bags) is brought to your room in the morning, and was served on arrival in front of an open fire of vine wood ( unseasonably cold for late May) breakfast juice is freshly sqeezed, and there is a vast library of books and Dvds.
We were glad that we did not have a fridge in our room as they produce noise and heat, might spoil the look of the room, and we don't have one in our bedroom at home and this is a home ( albeit a rather special one ) not a hotel. The toileteies provided were perfect and more than we had in other similar places on our trip.Highly recommended

Room Tip: all good, see website for personal preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank difficultoplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Domaine Saint Hilaire, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thanks for writing such an informative review. I doubt we'll be making any vine wood fires for a few months now! The sun and cicadas are out for the summer. Hope to welcome you back some time for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, MI
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Don't hesitate to stay at this wonderful domaine. The rooms are fabulous. We stayed in Autan and it's quite large with excellent modern amenities. High thread count sheets, spacious bathroom with good shower, etc. Very up to date. The owners are kind, knowledgeable and their wine is delicious. The setting is very tranquil. The pool is lovely. A good place to have a leisurely weekend. The sea is not too far a drive as well as the beautiful town of Pezenas. My only suggestions for the rooms are to have a small refrigerator in each room instead of the communal regfridge. Also to include body lotion in the bathroom amenities. Other than that, the rooms are perfect.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpro2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Domaine Saint Hilaire, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Very glad you enjoyed your stay here, and thank you for the suggestion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire,
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I agree entirely with all the comments from the previous review (except for hearing early morning noises!) This is a perfect spot for a few days relaxation with plenty to see and do within the area. It is only around 10 miles from the coast, so plenty of restaurants serving good seafood. There are attractive villages and small towns, and vineyards everywhere you look. We found days followed a pattern of sightseeing in the morning, returning late afternoon and being lazy by the pretty little pool, before heading out to dinner at one of the James' recommendations - all excellent.
We were beautifully looked after in great comfort, nothing being too much trouble and even the weather was glorious!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carpet9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Domaine Saint Hilaire, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thanks for writing your review, much appreciated! I'm afraid we can't take credit for the weather (300 days of sunshine a year on average!), but thanks for all the lovely comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is a fabulous place. The B&B is in the main house of a small wine estate situated down a narrow road in a very peaceful location. It is done to a fantastically high standard with great taste and style. It has four bedroom I think and public rooms are extensive and all furnished very well. These include lounge areas and a TV room. Inside all is cool and tranquil.

The grounds are extensive surrounded by the vineyards. There is a small park area under mature trees and a lovely small pool. The pool actually looks like a formal pond and reflects the imagination with which this place has been done.

The bedrooms are very large, with large comfortable beds with excellent linens and pillows. The bathrooms are done with great style and are very luxurious having a bath, open shower, WC, bidet and wash basins. Towels are changed daily. There is lots of hot water at high pressure. The rooms have AC units.

Housekeeping is first rate. The rooms were absolutely spotless.

Breakfast is served outside on the terrace next to the pool in warm weather and is very extensive. Cereals, fresh fruit, cheese, ham, breads and croissants are just a starter. A cooked breakfast is also offered which is a real treat in rural France. Excellent coffee in a French press and juice.

Dinner is served one day a week with light meals on offer on other nights if requested. The quality of the cooking is very high.

The owners are very helpful with sorting out dinner reservations or making other suggestions. Wine tasting is offered on request and is well worth looking at buying some as the quality is very good.

This is a very special place. Not cheap but quality of this standard doesn't come cheap.

One note of caution: it is a working wine estate so there is some inevitable "agricultural" actiivity which might be early morning. It didn't bother us.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Domaine Saint Hilaire, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
What an informative and kind review. I think we should ask you to rewrite our website! Thanks very much for taking the time, and we hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montagnac
1.0 mi away
Les Rocailles Hotel
Les Rocailles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagnac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
5.1 mi away
Garrigae Distillerie de Pezenas
3.3 mi away
La Belle Vigneronne
La Belle Vigneronne
#1 of 6 in Montagnac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mas de Thau
Mas de Thau
#2 of 4 in Montagnac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
130.2 mi away
Belambra Clubs - Le Verdon
2.3 mi away
VVF Villages Montagnac-Mediterranee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine Saint Hilaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine Saint Hilaire

Property: Domaine Saint Hilaire
Address: | N 43-26.680' E 003-31.501', 34530 Montagnac, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montagnac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Montagnac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magical destination with a rich history built shortly before the French revolution and hidden away among the vineyards of the Languedoc. The estate is a working Domaine which produces a wide range of award winning wines and single varietal wines, which serve as a a perfect introduction to wine-tasting for those who want to learn more. There are five stylish rooms with ensuite wetroom bathrooms and lovely waterfall showers. Outside you can take afternoon tea in the Rose garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing