We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveler rating
47
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine tastingworking vineyardper guestthe main housemagical placeeach morningcroissantsour honeymooncomfortable bedtwo nightsgreat hostson arrivalpoolbedroomnickmezelavender
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 50 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is a fabulous place. The B&B is in the main house of a small wine estate situated down a narrow road in a very peaceful location. It is done to a fantastically high standard with great taste and style. It has four bedroom I think and public rooms are extensive and all furnished very well. These include lounge areas and a TV room. Inside all is cool and tranquil.

The grounds are extensive surrounded by the vineyards. There is a small park area under mature trees and a lovely small pool. The pool actually looks like a formal pond and reflects the imagination with which this place has been done.

The bedrooms are very large, with large comfortable beds with excellent linens and pillows. The bathrooms are done with great style and are very luxurious having a bath, open shower, WC, bidet and wash basins. Towels are changed daily. There is lots of hot water at high pressure. The rooms have AC units.

Housekeeping is first rate. The rooms were absolutely spotless.

Breakfast is served outside on the terrace next to the pool in warm weather and is very extensive. Cereals, fresh fruit, cheese, ham, breads and croissants are just a starter. A cooked breakfast is also offered which is a real treat in rural France. Excellent coffee in a French press and juice.

Dinner is served one day a week with light meals on offer on other nights if requested. The quality of the cooking is very high.

The owners are very helpful with sorting out dinner reservations or making other suggestions. Wine tasting is offered on request and is well worth looking at buying some as the quality is very good.

This is a very special place. Not cheap but quality of this standard doesn't come cheap.

One note of caution: it is a working wine estate so there is some inevitable "agricultural" actiivity which might be early morning. It didn't bother us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

What an informative and kind review. I think we should ask you to rewrite our website! Thanks very much for taking the time, and we hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed here for one night as part of our holiday and absolutely loved it. The house and grounds are beautiful and so peaceful. We had a wine tasting at the Domaine and came away with a number of their wines. We also paid extra to dine whilst we stayed there and were treated to a home cooked meal with the owners that was superb. The couple were extremely friendly and helpful and made the stay special. Would definitely recommend this to anyone and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Great to hear you had a good stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to post a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Slightly off the beaten track, in a beautiful location. Fabulous bedrooms. Loved breakfast round swimming pool, chatting to other guests (only 3 or 4 rooms) Ann and Jonathan couldn't have been more welcoming and informative. Tasted the wine which they produced in the vineyard surrounding the house ~ it was the best we had during the whole trip! Extremely interesting hearing how the wine is produced and how they have built the business since taking over in 2002. Both completely hands on. Also appreciated restaurant recommendation in Pezenas ~ delicious dinner!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you for posting your review - very glad to hear you had a good stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We spent two nights at Domaine St. Hilaire and I can't recommend it highly enough. The Chateau has been beautifully restored and decorated / furnished with great taste. The owners website doesn't do the quality of the rooms justice. It's a beautiful and relaxing place to stay and the hosts are very charming and make you feel very much at home. It's great value too with complimentary tea and aperitif's. Ten out of ten for quality, setting, service and value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Very touched by your headline and review. That's exactly what we're aiming for. We're not strictly speaking a chateau, but if you don't tell... Thanks & hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

My wife and I just returned from a 10-day holiday, all of which were spent at Domaine St-Hilaire. I honestly cannot remember a more incredibly restful and relaxing time, particularly one spent in such charming and elegant surroundings.

I could go on and on about the rooms, the pool, the grounds, etc., which are all exquisite, but the thing that separates this B&B / Chambres d'Hote from any others that we've been to are the hosts, Jonathan and Anne, who are both incredibly warm, kind and thoughtful. They go out of their way to make all of their guests feel at home, and spend a considerable amount of time focusing on the smaller things - booking reservations, baking cakes for special occasions, and packing ad hoc breakfasts for early departures - that makes all the difference. We will definitely be returning at some point in the future.

Also, I highly recommend a wine tasting. All of the care that goes into the Chambre d'Hote also goes into making the wine, and Jonathan is an excellent guide. My fav - the Silk Syrah. Yum!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matth3w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews