We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nudi nella sauna per favore!”
Review of Hotel Gran Risa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Gran Risa
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in La Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2011

The Dolomites are our favorite skiing area; so we go there every March. This time, March 2011, we ended up at hotel Gran Risa, named after the magnificent slope and egg-cabin skilift immediately in front of the hotel. Hire your equipment, buy your skipass, and up you go, all within 100 meters from the front door of the hotel. Gran Risa means Big Smile and, really, this is how we felt skiing back down in the afternoon. Three slopes arrive at the hotel, a blue one (#15), a black one (the real Gran Risa), and a red 'variante'. Even if La Villa is at the edge of the Dolomite Super Ski area, the other slopes are well in reach. It took us 5 hours to do the Sella Ronda from here and we are not very good skiers. On the other side of the hotel other skilifts leave for Pedraces and the San Pietro chapel.
The hotel itself brings you a gran risa too. A very accessible and professional staff, managed by a young couple and the husband's sister, the Valentini family. Kitchen, facilities and service satisfied our expectations. We had a superior room (97 euro half board) with a large balcony and a view on the Grand Risa slope. Clean, spacious and very light because of the glass balcony doors.
We consider an extensive and well equipped wellness facility an important asset of a hotel and this goes for Gran Risa too. It has a smal but beautiful swimming pool, a Scandinavian sauna, a Turkish bath (bagno turco), a kind of herb sauna, and a relax room with water beds. We only used the Scandinavian sauna and the relax room. The two other spaces were comfortable but did not make you sweat at all. Worse, however, was that the Italian hotel guests, the majority of the wellness visitors, had no idea of what they were doing in the sauna. They did not shower before entering, wore bathing suits even in the hot sauna, went in and out continuously, and behaved noisily. The hotel owners are hardly to blame, for clear instructions all over the wellness area, published in three languages, showed how (not) to dress and behave. Fortunately, the over-dressed sauna guests were as embarassed as the nude ones, so even here we all left with a big smile. A gran risa.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank _0landesevolante_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 211 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2011

After reading some earlier (in Italian) comments, in reality I have been positevely surprised by this hotel and services' standard.
Localisation is excellent when you go skiing, for us this was a new definition of 'close to the lift' description - hard to imagine something closer ! Also the choice of slopes and lifts is impressive. Easy access to Sella Ronda tour.
Staff was very friendly and helpful- this refers to owners too.
Meals - breakfasts OK, dinners were excellent, quantity was more than we were able to eat really, some 'out of menu' meals for children were also possible. Maybe dinner would start slightly earlier (as for us).
Room was clean and big enough for our family, decorated in typical style with lot of wooden elements. Bathroom OK.
Perfect after-ski relax for all family at SPA complex.
Our impression is very positive and we will visit this place next winter again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarek2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fabirizio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: È meglio la zona sopra la reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marelli69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le stanze appena rinnovate hanno legno e non moquette. Ottime per chi soffre di allergie alla polver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank fabperin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank cristina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
3  Thank Vekkia1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Villa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#2 of 18 in La Villa
495 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rezia
Hotel Rezia
#4 of 18 in La Villa
195 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#9 of 18 in La Villa
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#14 of 18 in La Villa
121 reviews
1.2 mi away
Miraval NaturHotel & Residence
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Majun
Hotel La Majun
#6 of 18 in La Villa
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Risa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Risa

Address: Strada Colz 133 | La Villa, 39036 La Villa, Badia, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Badia > La Villa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in La Villa
Price Range: $252 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Risa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Risa Hotel is conveniently located in front of the ski-lift station of "Piz La Ila" (Web Cam) with direct connection with the Sellaronda and also the Dolomiti Superski. The hotel is situated just a few steps from the heart of La Villa village. The central position will give you the possibility to enjoy the atmosphere of the little town as well as immerse yourselfes in the enchanting nature of the Dolomites ... wishes you can fulfil in a flash. At the Wellness Hotel Gran Risa you can also enjoy the using of the new wellness-centre "Sana" with swimming-pool, cascade, relax zone with panoramic view, whirlpool, sauna, turkish bath, pine cabine, scroll shower, relax zone, water beds. In our traditional and familary hotel you will find all conforts you need to make your holidays unforgettable. We would be glad to welcome you. Family Valentini ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gran Risa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing