We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Lovely”
Review of Tiriguro Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tiriguro Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Orotina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westchester, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Lovely”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Tiriguro Lodge was a perfect place to stay. Peaceful, quiet, beautiful, modern, CLEAN. The absolute Costa Rican experience of being IN nature. We arrived late and hungry, poor planning on our part, so we had to go out again to find food in the small town of San Mateo. The roads are quite challenging and signage is terrible. But when we arrived back to the lodge I took an evening swim in the pretty pool and off to a great night's sleep. The next morning we had the most delicious breakfast ever on the veranda overlooking the property. Didier and his wife are charming and gracious hosts. We would definitely go back--especially now that we know where it is!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VERGEZ, Propriétaire at Tiriguro Lodge, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Hello Rebecca,
We're happy that you've enjoyed your stay at Tiriguro Lodge.
We know that we're a little difficult to find. That was the challenge to create a little B&B in this place !
Also, I'm sorry that you've had to go out for dinner. We're not a restaurant, so we need to be informed before the arrival to be able to propose something to eat to our guests.
Regards,
Didier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
112
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Didier and Myriam Vergez have carved out an oasis of calm alongside a winding road that leads up into the mountains above San Mateo and Orotina. I found my cabin (Carambola) scrupulously clean, good smelling and well-appointed. The porch looks out on the surrounding woods, across an agricultural valley and southwest to the sea. It proved a good place to read, birdwatch and enjoy the breeze. My email of inquiry was quickly returned, and confirmation of the reservation was accompanied by a helpful map: Tiriguro is well outside of town, and while this is definitely integral to its charm, you will want Didier's map as well as a vehicle capable of climbing a rocky and uneven road in order to make the trek. Breakfast is the delight that other reviewers have described: Fruit so fresh you may actually have watched it being picked, and good, strong Costa Rican coffee. For dinner, I liked "Algo Diferente" on the main route that runs through Orotina towards San Mateo. I'm given to understand that with notice, Didier and Myriam can prepare dinner for you and that the menu may include fresh lobster from the nearby coastal market. I hope I will have the chance to evaluate that option. The Vergez family made me feel entirely welcome during my stay and I hope to have the chance to enjoy their hospitality again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank shunpiker73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VERGEZ, Propriétaire at Tiriguro Lodge, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Hello Riley,
Thank you for your comments.
It's very satisfying for us to give our guests a moment of quietness during their holydays.
We're happy to see that people like this place situated in the "real" Costa Rica.
Regards,
Myriam and Didier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I cannot recommend this spot more highly. What an excellent find! We spent only one night at the Tiriguro Lodge, but all four of us agreed it was the best place we'd found for a relaxing stay in all of Costa Rica. It is a little off the beaten path (and only reachable by way of a steep, 4-wheel-drive climb on a rocky road) but it was so very worth the extra effort, and not only for the fantastic view (that stretched all the way to the ocean). While close to restaurants and parks in nearby San Mateo, Tiriguro lodge is removed from the hustle and bustle of heavy tourism. It is a place for peace and reflection, for soaking in the beautiful environment, and for memorable conversations with family and friends. The grounds are wonderful and impeccably well designed. Didier and Myriam, the owners, are friendly and interesting, are clearly dedicated to ensuring the best experience for their guests, and can converse clearly in Spanish, French, and English. We were greeted with fresh fruit juice, made from fruits picked from trees outside our windows, and we woke the next morning to a mound of delicious fruit, honey, and crepes. The design of the grounds was exceptional, the rooms were clean, and the beds were warm and dry. There are three rooms at this site, each with one large bed, so plan on visiting only in couples or small groups. The small size makes the experience intimate and, at times, it feels as if you have the whole mountain to yourselves. We all hope that we are one day fortunate enough to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VERGEZ, Propriétaire at Tiriguro Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Hello Casey S,
Thanks a lot for yours compliments.
We try to do our best with my wife for our guests.
Also, we think that it's very important to propose a clean place and a good quality of service.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orotina
17.2 mi away
Villa Blanca Cloud Forest Hotel and Nature Reserve
21.1 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#2 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
22.2 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#1 of 42 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Amatierra Retreat and Wellness Center
12.0 mi away
Hotel Cerro Lodge
Hotel Cerro Lodge
#1 of 1 in Garabito
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Iguana Verde
Hotel Iguana Verde
#2 of 3 in Orotina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiriguro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiriguro Lodge

Property: Tiriguro Lodge
Address: Maderal de San Mateo | San Mateo, Orotina 20901, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Orotina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Orotina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tiriguro Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B is located 45mn from airport San Jose and near to Orotina.The Tiriguro Lodge is a little hotel peaceful held by french, located on the heights of San Mateo, typical village and in the middle of the countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Tiriguro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing