We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Little Corner on Earth.....”
Review of TJ Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arecibo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
TJ Ranch
Ranked #1 of 3 Arecibo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Best Little Corner on Earth.....”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

You can see I'm back from TJ Ranch AGAIN...July 2012

The best little corner on earth...The casitas,(any one of the casitas is perfect for your stay at the TJ Ranch) food, sorroundings/land (safe and private only guests are on premise) and the hosts are the best you'll have in Puerto Rico. You will fall in love with TJ Ranch, Tony and Juanita I promise you....You will tell yourself on your way home that you can't wait to go be back. Enjoy your stay at TJ Ranch..
Alma, Corazon, Amor y Vida es lo que TJ Ranch, Tony y Juanita son para mi.... Spirit, Heart, Love and Life are what TJ Ranch, Tony and Juanita are for me. Thank you for sharing your spectacular little corner on earth with me and everyone that visits TJ Ranch.. Love you muchoooooooooooo....See you soon... because you know I'll be back...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sohec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
72
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2012

TJ Ranch is simply amazing. Tony and Joan are very welcoming and by the time you leave, tears fill up in your eyes bc you feel like part of the family. We stayed in the yellow casita and immediately fell in love. The coquinas singing to you at night make the best sleep ever!! Our 7 year old daughter was with us and wanted to move in! Joan put Elmo sheets on her bed which was so thoughtful! Tony is the best cook ever!! If you want amazing local food prepared Puerto Rican style, Tony is your man! We stayed in Puerto Rico for 8 days total and hands down - Tony's is the best! We will visit TJ Ranch again hopefully sooner than later. We love this place!
Tonia, Mike & Abby

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We had so much fun here, and the best part was the food! Tony is an amazing chef - he's like the Rain Man of food! The property is beautiful and the drive out there is incredible. I want to go back for more of Tony's incredible cooking! You won't need to go anywhere for dinner while you're staying here because this is the best cooking in Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We found TJ Ranch online because we were searching for a place to stay near Utuado due to the fact that we had booked an adventure ziplining tour there. We originally found another place to stay but it was all booked up. The lady who owned the B&B recommended that we try to see if TJ Ranch had any openings. We called and thankfully they had a spot for us (we were booking only a few days before leaving for our trip)! Juanita was kind enough to put the room on hold for us for one night while we decided if we were going to book the room.
Once we booked the room, Juanita sent us very easy to follow and detailed directions to the ranch. We drove from Fajardo and the drive was about two hours long and she called us on our way to make sure we were doing okay! The drive was beautiful. Once we finally arrived at the ranch, we were pleasantly surprised that the place was literally in the middle of the jungle. We met Juanita and Tony is the restaurant and we were served a delicious cocunut shot! They let us get settled and then we met the rest of the guests. Besides the location, food, and cute casitas, the other best part about the ranch was interacting with the rest of the guests. Besides us, there were a total of five other guests staying at the ranch. We spent the rest of the night talking and eating a delicious dinner prepared by Tony. They also have a sweet dog named Camilla! Tony and Juanita make sure to interact with each guest and they really do make you feel like family. They are also very accomadating to needs. We were leaving very early in the morning to drive to our tour and instead of missing breakfast, Juanita offered to make us breakfast sandwiches to go so that we would be able to eat on our way.
The casita itself was the perfect size for us and we could even fit more people if we wanted to. The casita was charming, cute, and comfy. It was also very clean.
The only drawback for us was that you are basically forced to eat at the restaurant at the ranch. The food is delicious however for travelers on a budget, the food is expensive. A dinner for two of us, (we shared an entree) costs 80 dollars!
Overall, it was a great stay! Thank you Juanita and Tony!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ariel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joan k, Owner at TJ Ranch, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you Ariel for your wonderful review, but I do want to clarify one thing. I thought I had made a mistake with your food bill of $80.
You and Phillip shared a one and half (11/2) pound porterhouse steak: $35
3 glasses of wine 21
mojito 6
flan 3.50
___________
$65.50
tax 4.50
___________
$70.00
tip 10.00
__________
$80.00
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This small Puerto Rico jungle hideaway is one of the gems of Puerto Rico.
Nestled in the rugged highland jungle of central Puerto Rico, TJ's was a fine spot for my family to slow down, relax, enjoy the pool, the sun, the cottages , the quiet, the nature, and the superb quality food prepared by Tony the master chef.
The food was the best that we had anywhere in Puerto Rico. After a busy vacation, a few days at TJ's was paradise. This is tops
Our list of reccomended Puerto Rico destinations.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed or stay at the TJ Ranch! Situated up in the hilly rainforest area, we had the pleasure of being serenaded by the area's Coqui frogs each evening. Very cool indeed! We also had several occasions to see the little guys up close and personal! Tony's cooking was superb - be sure to try the lamb chops - delicious! Juanita is an excellent host and took great care to be sure everything was fine. Our cabin was very clean and up to date. If you go, be prepared for a journey through the back country and up into the hilltop area. Use the directions Juanita will provide you and follow them carefully to avoid getting lost. GPS does not work here!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onthego1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Tony and Juanita were awesome hosts. We felt welcome from the moment we arrived! As Tony said, "Mi casa es su casa" and he really meant it. The food ... well, what can I say about Tony's creations that everyone else hasn't? Each meal was just superb. Tony managed to create mouthwatering masterpieces that everyone in the family enjoyed. Even though we have several allergies amongst the clan (gluten, egg, nuts), Tony was able to adapt with awesome cuisine. The cabins were cozy and inviting. Camelia the dog made friends instantly with my kids. One important note: Arrive during the day, as the drive up the mountain is challenging the first time you do it. When our rental car gave us problems on the last day, Juanita followed us all the way into Arecibo to ensure we were safe. She also was able to recommend a chiropractor / massage therapist for my wife, and set us up with a next day appointment. Tony and Juanita, thanks for a very wonderful and memorable experience. We look forward to our next visit. You guys are the best!

Room Tip: Call Juanita and tell her what you need. She was able to come up with a creative solution for our f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arecibo
16.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Manati
Hyatt Place Manati
#1 of 1 in Manati
467 reviews
17.3 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
301 reviews
4.3 mi away
Parador El Buen Cafe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
14.9 mi away
Hotel El Guajataca
Hotel El Guajataca
#1 of 2 in Quebradillas
154 reviews
42.8 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TJ Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TJ Ranch

Property: TJ Ranch
Address: HC 4, Arecibo 00612-9264, Puerto Rico
Location: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Arecibo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Arecibo
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 3 casitas: green (queen size bed), blue (queen size bed)and yellow(king size bed-or 2 twin beds). Each has a private bath and screened porch (no kitchens). Wifi is available for guests, but not in their casitas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tj Ranch Hotel Arecibo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing