We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view, but definitely a local beach” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Poza Beach

La Poza Beach
Ranked #4 of 17 things to do in Arecibo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice view, but definitely a local beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We definitely stood out like the tourists we were, but not a local seemed to mind us wandering into their little private place on the island. :) There were lots of people enjoying the natural pool of water, but we skipped that to dip our feet into the waves. The ocean was quiet on the day we were there- no crashing waves like we've seen on our other trips. My daughter climbed the rock formation to get a better view of the lighthouse, while I took pictures of the men jumping off the rocks! It was an interesting place to see, but we truly prefer some of the other beaches along the coast where there were little to no people. You can actually walk down this beach a bit to get to a quieter spot!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffreysgirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    29
    12
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty cool, but mostly for the locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

It's like a natural pool right on the beach. You go and well, just swim around. You can take a walk along the side of the beach, and there's a nice view of the lighthouse. Not bad, but again is like a local thing.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Xavier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“nice little beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I wish someone would take care of it. It was very nice and the view is awesome but no showers, no shop, only local street vendors. Is more a local thing than a tourist attraction. Too much noise from the car radios (at least that day) and inappropriate music. We just went ahead to the lighthouse.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jose m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebradillas, null, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A nice natural little pool at the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

You can see the lighthouse from this place, which is a plus, but the fact that it is a natural pool of sea water is just unbeatable. I wish they had showers at least. It's a local thing, but you can mingle and enjoy.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice...but neglected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Very nice work of Mother Nature....but full of street dogs and loud music from cars...I did not wanted to stay there...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank TinaHudgens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Poza Beach also viewed

Arecibo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Poza Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing