We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really bad tourist trap. I was not amused.”

Arecibo Lighthouse & Historical Park
Ranked #5 of 18 things to do in Arecibo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Arecibo Lighthouse & Historical Park, offers to the general public The Morillos Lighthouse from 1898, last Lighthouse built by Spanish Government in the island just before the Hispanic-American War. It was totally restored and opened to the public in 2001. In the surrounding areas, some replicas of elements of Puerto Rico history like Taino Village, Spanish Conquest with 3 ships, African Hut, Pirate Ship and the only salt-water aquarium in the island. Also Decks with the magnificent views of the Atlantic Ocean. You can access the "Splash by the Lighthouse" a wading pool area for kids and adults.
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
66 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A really bad tourist trap. I was not amused.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I really like lighthouses and went expecting to see a lighthouse like the one in Rincon. I was sorely disappointed. I arrived to find out that the lighthouse was incorporated into an amusement park, and there was no way to visit the lighthouse without paying full fare into the park. Since I had driven a long way I decided to just pay the fee.

What I found was a bunch of fake pirate ships and "huts" like the natives supposedly used. I decided to ignore that and go right to the lighthouse. The building itself is very nice, except for the fact that it is filled with fake pirate chests and phony trinkets. There is a nice view of the ocean and a large deck to stare out at the sea. That was the best of it.

I do not understand putting a water park right next to the ocean, but somebody thought it was a good idea. I suppose if you have children, they might enjoy it. Otherwise, save your money and visit Cabo Rojo or Rincon. In retrospect I should have just gone to the observatory.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lourdgoogoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    60
    62
    32
    27
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“More for families with kids.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was a money racket for anyone without kids. They have an indian village set up, replicas of Columbus's ships, playground and of course the Lighthouse. The view from the Lighthouse was beautiful. Had I know before hand that was all that was there I would not have paid the entrance and parking fee as this was not a great place for someone travelling solo. It is a good location for families with small children.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time...poor treatment of mini zoo animals”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

It's not worth your time to go here. You see a few ship imitations, a small aquarium, a light house where there's nothing much to see that you didn't see below. There is no reason to have a "mini zoo". The goat's & ram's hair was very matted & they were housed by themselves. The macaw's tail was gone & the cage is made out of wire fence with a piece sticking out..no toys or wood to chew on and it's water made me sick to look at. The mini horse's stall was full of diarrhea. When I complained, they said the person who took care of the animals wasn't there today. Nobody grooms or takes care of these animals...they should find them new homes.
The "bumper boats" can't be bumped into each other. The water play area is very small. Spent $26 for me & my son and it's wasn't worth $10.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Liked it but could be better.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I visited on the way to La Cueva del Indio(very close). I thought it was just a lighthouse but it ended up being a mini park of sorts. The entrance was $12 for adults and $10 for kids. Don't forget your bathing suits because they have a swimming area. The kids loved it, Pirate cave was a little bit of a knockoff of the Pirates of the caribbean theme. They also have an aquarium which is interesting. Atop the light house is a great view where you can see a large part of the island. If your hungry, forget it. There is a food stand where a little old lady works by herself and the wait was ridiculous. I only was 3rd in line and after 15 minutes of waiting with no movement of the line I left. The pool area was nice but they have these boats that squirt water and you can ride them, Unfortunately, out of 6 boats, only 2 were working, which equals long a@# line! All in all the kids enjoyed themselves, so if your looking for something to do, not a bad place to take the kids, Just bring some snacks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
249 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An Ok place”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

It's sad that a place like this is not promoted adequately so one can be prepared. For $12 adults and $10 children, you can spend an hour browsing around a tiny aquarium, go to a really mini zoo with about 10 animals, most of them domestic and go on a few small scaled pirate ship replicas and a Taino indian village. Unfortunately we did not come prepared, not knowing that the place also has a splash pool where you can enjoy some relief from the heat. Of course, we could've checked the website, where all the information is available.

My pet peeve of places in Puerto Rico is the woeful signage; for such a small place, we had to ask two different people where the aquarium was, as there were not signs indicating the different places, especially those out of the way. There is a nice boardwalk with an impressive view of the Atlantic Ocean and an 19th century restored lighthouse. If you come prepared for the pool area called Splash by the Lighthouse, then you will have a lot of fun. We plan on visiting again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvsviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arecibo Lighthouse & Historical Park also viewed

Arecibo, Puerto Rico
 
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Arecibo Lighthouse & Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing