We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must do!!”
Review of La Cueva del Indio

La Cueva del Indio
Book In Advance
More Info
$179.99*
and up
The Perfect Getaway with Snorkeling
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Arecibo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: This cave on the water along the rugged coast in Arecibo contains a number of Taino petroglyphs. The views of the north coast are amazing.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must do!!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Absolutely Gorgeous loved it. Amazing views. Good Idea to have a tour he will show you many areas you would of never thought of going through. Not a lot of tourist know about this place so its not packed at all. The drive is a long way from San Juan but worth the drive. Would be a good Idea to bring your own snacks since the nearest restaurant is pretty far. I think the parking fee is like 3 or 4 bucks

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jvill29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    101
    21
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponce, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peter, BEST TOUR GUIDE!!!!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

It was our second time visiting the Cuevas (1st time for my mom) and i must say, I never get bored of the beauty this place has! There's a small fee of $2 for parking but that's to help maintain the cave clean. We all had a great time exploring the sites with Peter! You learn many facts and he knows the best spots to take you, that most people wouldn't even know to go to if not with him. We all (including my 7 year old daughter) went down the long ladder into the cave! He even convinced my mom to go into the cave! He doesn't charge for his tours but of course we left a generous tip. (He more than deserved it). Peter is aware of all the holes on the caves that you can fall threw so he was always letting us know where NOT to walk. There's also a little spot when u first get into the place where they sell frituras (empanadas, soda, beer etc). We sat there after the tour n had refreshments and empanadillas. It was a great experience! Recommend for the whole familiy! Peter, thank you for the great time! His direct number is 787 567-6827, highly recommend his tours!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Natasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Pictures, and words do not describe the beauty that awaits when you tour this location!! You Must go!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JESS R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great views, very cool”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Neat little place to spend as little as 45 min to an entire day. The caves and the petroglyphs were really cool and very unique. You will want to wear footwear more substantial than flip flops due to the rocks and the ladder down into the caves. There is ocean water coming into the cave via a submerged natural tunnel going out to the surf. There are some very nice beaches that can be accessed from here also. The parking seemed secure and only a minimal charge. Use of one of their guides is advisable but not necessary (they work for tips only).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RDDitmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
74 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Place!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Great place, perfect for large groups. This was our second trip there, and it was fabulous. We had close to 40 people in minivans. We paid the $2/van to park, then bargained a bit to pay only a few dollars for the people. Last year we only had to pay the $2 car fee, if you don't do the tour. If you explore to the right you'll have some amazing arched caves and a nice beach area. To the left is the cave area to explore. If you go out to the point, you can jump into the water there. Some of the more adventurous of the group climbed to the large rock beyond it and jumped into the water below, but you'll want a local to guide you where to jump from. A great day trip from San Juan!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jaxtraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cueva del Indio also viewed

Arecibo, Puerto Rico
El Yunque National Forest, Puerto Rico
 
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Cueva del Indio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing