We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip this place”

Restaurante Picholo
Ranked #36 of 58 Restaurants in Arecibo
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, Puerto Rican
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Skip this place”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This was the first restaurant we ate at when arriving in Puerto Rico. We weren't greeted by anything other than some redfish and shrimp that looked like they had been sitting in the window all day. We had a party of fifteen and not a one of us could recommend their meal. I prayed non of us got sick and to their credit non of us did. That said the place had no air was lack luster and was way over priced $25 - $30 a person for a plate of food with no presentation or flavor. Every time we passed this restaurant we all cringed. Hopefully the restaurant will freshen their place and food up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    15
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Decent food, not great service”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

OMG it took forever to get my food. Basically a fast food restaurant & took 2 hours from arriving to leaving. Once it arrived food was decent. I had red snapper & it was tasty. A bit salty but I liked it. Be prepared for the whole fish, head included. I went with four others and no one complained about the food. Very loud too. Just give yourself plenty of time & be patient.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
private
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

food was good but the service was not. The waiter was always busy talking with friends at a table for far too long. We had to bother another waiter to help us. The place can benefit of a good cleaning and renovation

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank fredi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartford, ct
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would never go back”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This was not a good experience. Service was very slow. We waited at least 15 minutes before they took our order. We even noticed that one of the waitress took another tables order before coming over to us...we were there first! The first appetizer we ordered was a octopus salad....that was hot and very strangely "fishy" tasting. We returned that. The rest of the food was OK. The waiter didn't even get drinks right...we ordered bottled water! Lastly, as we are sitting having our meal one of the employees begins to spray Glade all over the dining area--- the worst!!! We all suddenly were inhaling the "rosy" scent completely ruining the rest of our experience.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nrod9606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“You want outstanding sea food then visit Picholo”
Reviewed February 8, 2011

This is a place that has been open for over 20 years. Originally owned by fisherman family. Nowaday is still owned and run by a family. The sea food goes from fresh fish to frozen fish fillet and is local homemade cooking, no fancy recipes. You have to ask what is available then select. The space is full of all time memories around fishing. You can spot Victor (owner) in several of them. You have to order Marlin bocadillos (marlin nuggets). This is a place to have lunch. Don't expect a place like Chillis, it is awckarly decorated.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank familyman80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Picholo also viewed

 
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
 
Arecibo, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Restaurante Picholo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing