We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Catalina Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Catalina Hotel & Suites
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Do not get me wrong, it is not a bad hotel. However, it is totally overpriced.

The wifi did not work in my room, even though it did at the reception. Nobody could do something about it.

I was told to pay 100% of the total amount for my stay, even though I had already paid 50% when I made the reservation online. The staff said that they had not charged this initial 50%. Would you believe it "just like that"? As the wifi was not working, I had to go to a restaurant in the surroundings (where there was wifi available), so that I could check my account statement online. Of course I paid afterwards, but the procedure was not "top-class".

The pictures of the rooms that you can see on the website are not valid for each one of the rooms that the hotel offers. The rooms definitely do not look as nice as in the pictures.

The phone in the room did not work at all, so you couldn't call the receptionist in case of any questions. In fact, I had a couple questions. Therefore, I walked to the reception twice. The receptionist did the same in order to give me the answers.... instead of fixing the phone.

The small fridge in the room was ok. However, it would have been nice to have one with all the four supporting parts at the bottom. Every time you opened the fridge, the door would hit the floor.

When we visited the restaurant, we had to look for the personnel. The staff was not as available as you expect in such a hotel. Additionally, it would have been nice to have a "hole-less" tablecloth. The breakfast was good. However, due to the overall experience, we decided to have lunch and dinner somewhere else.

In the room, we had cable tv. However, the signal was really bad. There were some tv channels that you just couldn't watch. That should not happen in such a hotel.

You definitely need a car to reach this hotel. Don't be so mean to the taxi drivers.

There were some water fountains in the property in very bad condition. The gardens looked quite nice.

Room Tip: Ask for the ones that look exactly as the ones in the pictures. Most of them do not look like that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn K, Guest Relations Manager at La Catalina Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We are sorry to read from your review that you had encountered few difficulties during your stay with us and please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused. It is never our intention to disappoint our guests .. We are thankful that after checking the internet, this guest could see we were not attempting to charge him twice.... glad they enjoyed the free breakfast.

Our hotel consists of 6 acres with wi-fi access throughout but on occasions wi-fi equipment breaks down and we must get it from North America. The part of the property where this guest was staying, the wi-fi system had broken and we were awaiting replacement part, however, we did have wi-fi access in the reception area, restaurant/library/upper pool and reading room area so there was no need for this guest to leave the property to see if we charged him or not , he did mention in his review the wi-fi worked in the reception area.

We are a boutique hotel and room size and classifications do vary. This guest booked a Presidente Room with Jacuzzi and King Bed. The larger sizes are in the main mansion and in most cases are the first to be sold out. This guest booked his reservation through a hotel booking site and not directly with us. We provide the outside hotel booking sites with all of our pictures of the rooms and grounds but they do not publish all the pictures we give them. This is just another reason why you should book directly with a hotel.

This guest lives in Costa Rica and is fully aware that when certain things breaks down, it is not readily available and must be ordered out of country. Shortly before this guest arrived we had an electrical storm that damaged part of our phone system, which has left some of the rooms without phone service. This guest was advised of this upon check-in. The problem was fixed later in December. The cable company was able to fix the issues with poor signal problems. The guest was correct about the refrigerator, it was corrected forthwith.

We always let our guests know that if there is any problem(s) with your room to please advise us so we can correct the issue at hand. This guest never reported any issues with his room, we only found out through this website.

We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming this guest in the near future to see our many improvements...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    21
    7
    6
    10
See reviews for
6
46
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Perfect location in SJO! The food was delicious and the staff was amazing with us! We will go back in January with more friends!
Executive king suites with jacuzzi are clean and well decorated with Costa Rica charm
Thank you for made us feel at home!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravisUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed for one amazing week in this gorgeous hotel.
The staff was friendly and helpful; I booked all my tours with them.
I will like to highly recommend the Poas Volcano tour that is about 40 minutes from the hotel.
On February 14th we had a romantic Dinner with live music for valentine’s day, they decorated all the hotel with hearts and they also putted candles and fresh flowers in every table but the best part was the views to the central valley from the restaurant, was a really good experience for me and my fiancé (I said my fiancé because I asked her to marry me that night).
The rooms are clean, the food was excellent (try the mahi mahi) , the grounds are beautiful but the best part of everything was the helpful

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin Alonso E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Stay here if you want to relax and decompress. This is a mountain resort. There isn't allot of rooms or guests at La Catalina.
However you will be tended to very well, a stay here is like a private getaway with a personal staff just for you. Good food. Small town near by also if you want to meet locals.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

very high prices (169-199$ per night), average quality, not very clean, everything looks a little untended, location very outside, personal very friendly

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john0123, Manager at La Catalina Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
The reviewer was not honest and lied. Tthey never stayed with us as alleged.The reviewer made a reservation at our agreed price,showed up to checkin and found out they did not have their passports with them,so they left to get their passports.No money changed hands and the reviewer never saw all the hotel property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Perfect location outside the city, la Catalina is a couples only hotel which was perfect for us! We only stayed one night (our last night in CR) but we are definitely going back to spend more time!
The staff was really nice with us and the food was delicious.
We booked a presidente suite and they gave us an upgrade to the honeymoon suite which was beautiful with amazing views to the central valley!
The property is really big with lots of things to do, they also have a tennis court and a small gym for people to get in shape!
The main house is decorated with all types of wood and make the hotel really romantic, this hotel is perfect for people on their honeymoon, anniversary or just people looking for romance!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite with the views to the central valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austincole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

The Catalina is a good choice for travelers seeking romance, relaxation and good entertainment at night.
we went for only two nights and we were amazed at how big and luxurious, the main house is decorated in different types of wood with a restaurant and cozy bar.
From our room we could see all the lights in the central valley which made it very romantic our stay.
the receptionists were very friendly from the start.
a good choice was to go to Poas Volcano and La Paz Waterfalls that are just 40 minutes away.
massage were done by a professional masseuse and also gave us the option of making them in the room with beautiful view of the central valley.
in the pool have a very comfortable beds for sunbathing and there is also a waiter that runs every 10 minutes offering you drinks.
I just want to recommend a different hotel, welcoming and full of romance near the airport.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eduardogol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birri
4.4 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Campana
Hotel Monte Campana
#1 of 1 in Birri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
8.4 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Catalina Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Catalina Hotel & Suites

Property: La Catalina Hotel & Suites
Address: beside Cetal LaCatalina, Birri, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Birri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Birri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Catalina Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Catalina Hotel & Suites is an adult couples only, majestic private, gated resort, located a few miles just outside the City of Heredia which is just outside the Capital City of San Jose, on 6 lush acres inhabited by tropical flowers, trees, ponds and other gracious amenities like tennis court,gym,billiards,jacuzzi and 2 swimming pools.One swimming pool is nude and the other up to topless. Fully furnished hotel rooms, suites and villas are offered - studios, one or two bedrooms, and even romantic private villa enclaves ready for your enjoyment.Some weeks in the year are totally clothing optional.La Catalina has the best food in the area from North American to South American to Asian to Seafood.La Catalina has a great weekly entertainment program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your La Catalina Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Catalina Hotel And Suites
La Catalina Hotel Birri
Hotel La Catalina
La Catalina Hotel & Suites Costa Rica/Province Of Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing