We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monte Campana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birri
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

As soon as we got to our suite we learned that the fan/light above the bed didn't work. We weren't even offered another room. The lighting in here sucks all together. my husband and I went in the jacuzzi which was decent. Although there was a weird smell. I dont know if it's the water or what. The same smell is outside our balcony. The next morning we couldn't get the temperature of the shower to stay the same. The only towels that are given are for showering. There isn't even a hand towel to dry your hands after washing. The pillows on the bed are flat, my husband and I had to put all three together and share. They apparently cant afford to put a fitted sheet on the bed, they use a flat sheet on the bottom which just slides around once you get into bed.
Dont leave any food open because the ants will come in seconds. Dinner was decent. Coffee tasted bad. They say its regular coffee and regular milk. I think it was the milk because it made the coffee look almost white.
I honestly thought it was going to be peaceful here, but all I heard at night was loud music, people screaming, car alarms going off, and cars driving by.
Hopefully breakfast won't be a disappointment either.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees H, Manager at Hotel Monte Campana, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

As we are constantly trying to improve our hotel, we do occasionally see things that need improvement and we thank you for bringing this to our attention. This goes for our food and beverages as well as towels etc. The typical costa rican taste for coffee is typically less strong then is expected by western oriented people, hence the coffee is less strong then expected by some of our customers. To the smell, we use detergents thru-out the hotel, altough this is a normal smell for Costa Rican people, some customers expect it to be odourless.
Hotel Monte Campana is a typical Costa Rican Family hotel and we cater to local families primarily. To this end we just started a Paintball Course for our customers and soon we will premiering our new "Monster Waterslides".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 426 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We reserved this for a birthday with 10 family members, so we reserved Jacuzzi # 3, expecting it to be some sort of open place with a Jacuzzi, wrong..... well, Jacuzzi was there, but there was just enough room for 5 chairs or so, it looked more like an intervention than a family reunion.
Also we brought our own food, just because we kinda like doing it, the owner of the place said to us that it was forbidden, that if we were hungry we would need to use the restaurant, its a mandatory policy... seriously!!!. There is nothing to do around, trails are just moody and slippery, pool looks ok, but too many kids if you are planning a couple's quite time and relax, this is not the pool to have it.

The administration charged us accidentally $2 per person in an activity, when we realize that and went to ask for our 2 bucks, they said there are no refunds, even if its a mistake, instead of that they would reserve a table for us at the restaurant.... (restaurant was lonely, there was nothing to reserve, you could easily take ANY table, nice way to get away with my $2)

Parking lot is so, so.... kinda narrow and sometimes you have to park in the basketball court.
I would not go to this place again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees H, Manager at Hotel Monte Campana, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

We are sorry for your less then positive experience. We are a family and couples oriented hotel and we are constantly trying to improve our quality of service and meet the expectation of our customers, however the customers expectation and what we strive to build sometimes have overlapping conflicts. We have strict rules about food, because Costa Rican families generally enjoy the consumption of food and drinks with their families which is often prepared with BBQ's etc.. This in turn often results in conflicting expectations with other customers. For this reason we do not allow the use of food and beverages other then acquired from our restaurant.

Kind regards,
Management Hotel Monte Campana.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Starting with a beautiful location not far from the capital, beautiful scenery overlooking Heredia. Is a great place to visit if you are looking for a retreat from the city live stile, without having to drive a long distancen. Excellent service right from the time that we arrived, I had a blast on the canopy ride, the food at the restaurant was great, and affordable, the music and the drinks where to enjoy and relax

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cesar_M_Hernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We wanted a place not in the busy center of San Jose, but not to far away either.
We went to monte campana on advice of a friend, it's a rustic place in the mountains nearby the cities, meaning it's doesn't have room-service, but it has a nice bar, a good pool and some other attractions we did, I must admit, it was a good few days. We went on a quad tour and did a mini “canopy”. Not as high as the more famous ones, but with a nice view over the valley. Rooms are clean, and they had good mattresses ( which I find important ).

Room Tip: We went for the log cabin, lots of privacy, very quiet . But next time we'll go for the tree hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtravelercr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We went as a group of 7, mostly seniors over 50.
Their website is a farce. Our "villa" was dirty, with a gross kitchenette, ripped sheets in one of the beds..the bathroom sink was rusty and also dirty.
We understand when a place is simple and humble, but dirty, it isn't acceptable.
It is a shame that such a beautiful, natural setting is ruined with the worst staff we ever encountered.
The prices were reasonable, but once there, we felt scammed.
The restaurant was so-so, very slow service. I got a strawberry daiquiri with salted flavor..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ticaileana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Me parece un hotel centrico para pasar un fin de semana o tener una pequeña escapada entre semana. Las instalaciones son bonitas y las habitaciones comodas y limpias. Personalmente lo recomiendo porque se pueden realizar diferentes actividades como jugar tennis, disfrutar de la piscina, caminatas cortas por los senderos y otros atractivos cercanos como el Volcán Poás y el Canopy. No es un hotel de Lujo pero si vale la pena.

This hotel is located in Heredia. Around 39 minutes away from San Jose. If you rent a car you will enjoy the attractions in the area and I will be easier to reach the hotel. Once there you have a nice room, nice view, nice weather and some amenities as an small swimming pool, tennis court, short but nice trails, restaurant and bar. I wnjoy my stay and I will recommend it specially in week days. It is less crowd it.

Pura Vida

Room Tip: Es necesario tener carro para llegar más fácilmente y poder visitar los atractivos de la zona
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Montravel2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees H, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Monte Campana, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013
Google Translation

Una experiencia en la montaña única, lugar de descanso con atractivos de aventuras extremas..

Recuerden que ofrecemos atractivos muy interesantes no solo para hospedaje sino para pasar un día en familia o con sus amigos realizando deporte y disfrutando de nuestras instalaciones, piscinas, jacuzzis, canchas, senderos, áreas verdes, play para niños, bar Restaurante abierto al publico.. etc

Una vez mas les invitamos a que nos visiten y pasen junto a nosotros un rato agradable en un ambiente familiar..

Gracias por sus comentarios...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This place was amazing, the people there are friendly and helpful. The landscape was amazing, lots of pretty insects and animals to look at and takes pictures of. They have a nice waterfall you can hike to. Awesome pool with slide and very clean. Ropes course up in the trees.. The kitchen was awesome, great food.. Overall probably one of my favorite spots I have traveled to!
The owner of the Hotel and his staff are very knowledgeable in the tourist attractions around the hotel so you dont get board. Oh man and the view...the view from the hotel rooms are all out of this world, you can see the entire City of San Jose lit up at night!

Room Tip: They were building a few "Tree House Cabins" im sure those rooms are super cool to stay in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ginovieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birri
4 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
255 reviews
0.7 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
5.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Puerta del Sol Hotel
Puerta del Sol Hotel
#4 of 7 in Heredia
62 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel & Boutique Hojarascas
4.1 mi away
Apart-Hotel Roma
Apart-Hotel Roma
#5 of 7 in Heredia
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Campana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Campana

Address: | 5 km al norte de la Iglesia Catolica de Barva, Birri, Costa Rica (Formerly Quality Hotel Monte Campana)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Birri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birri
Price Range: $56 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Campana 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monte Campana. Where rainbows are born and Costa Ricans come to play. We are a beautiful mountain property less than a $10 Uber ride from the airport. We feature standard rooms with individual bathrooms, often deep tubs, suites with Jacuzzis and various different style rooms on our property. We have a full service restaurant and bar with wonderful food. We have 3 pools, several waterslides, zip-line, paintball and various other activities for old and young. Enjoy Friday night karaoke or one of our live music nights, have great drinks at our bar from 4 to 8 each day during happy hour, a walk to the waterfalls one morning, the best tres leches from our restaurant or just wander around on our large property enjoying the views of storms and rainbows to the top of the mountain and San Jose 1500 feet lower in the valley. Cool, often windy, refreshing ... not the beach. Bring walking shoes and a light cover. Of course, you could just stay in your room, order room service and enjoy the view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Monte Campana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Heredia
Hotel Monte Campana Costa Rica/Province Of Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing