We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a hotel in a garden”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bougainvillea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The owner can often be found working with his staff including in the kitchen. The attention to detail shows in everything here. It is easy to go to the city by local bus from the hotel, but the property is a lovely relaxing place. The women at the front desk are exceptionally helpful and efficient. If you want night clubs and action this is not the place for you. If you want good food, a good area and lovely gardens then stay here. Santa Domingo is a few minutes away with shops, grocery stores and a bus to San Jose.

The InBio Park is in Santa Domingo, well worth a visit.

I love this place and am very grateful to the staff and owner for their hospitality.

Room Tip: stay on the garden side for the extra $ for the birds and beauty but if you want the sun take the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sharonr806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

Because I have a medical and dental travel company based out of NC ( DentaRica Travel) and frequently go to San Jose, Costa Rica for meetings or with patients from the USA, I know hotels according to the frequency that they are used for medical travel, not just tourism, so I will share that experience of the Hotel Bougainvilla. There may be some people needing a hotel for that reason. I was there on business to see the new wing of Clinica Unibe and for meetings with doctors on Jan 8-11, along with the RN for our company. One reason the Bougainvillea is used for medical travel is because of its proximity to area hospitals and clinics, and it is in a safe area with a bar, full restaurant, pool and amenities one would expect in a USA four star chain hotel. There is a safe in the room, and a refrigerator, wi-fi, front desk 24 hours, business center to print off your boarding passes, etc. They are a flat hotel, and easily accessible by wheelchair. The other reason that Costa Rican hospitals refer patients, is because they are a Costa Rican hotel, and not part of a USA hotel chain. Since I am largely referring patients for dental, orthopedic surgery, or cosmetic surgery, this hotel is not one I refer patients to because most of my patients need a recovery center or bed and breakfast to recover (they want a nurse on call and don't want to be seen in public ). However, it is popular with medical tourists who come for non-surgical procedures, or when they first arrive. The hotel itself is very beautiful, and has extensive gardens. Having come from winter in the USA (and an Artic Vortex) directly into spring/summer flowering conditions, my allergies hit me very hard. There were flowers all over the hotel, and all around the hotel. This is a large hotel, and one could probably show up without a reservation and get a room. The hotel is appropriate for any age, but there tend to be business people, medical travelers, and older adults when I look around the hotel. The room rates were not extreme for the region, and below what I would actually expect given the quality and service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

It was our first hotel in Costa Rica. We arrived late and had very warm welcome greetings, which made me feel happy to be in Costa Rica. The room was big and quite nice looking.

The breakfast was nice and I really enjoyed the hummingbirds outside the breakfast room. We had some hours time before we were picked up, so we did enjoy the garden and the little pool. I definitely would recommend this hotel instead of those airport hotels if you have at least couple of hours to enjoy the facilities of this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The room was just ok. The gardens are lovely and the pool is nice but basically, there isn't much else to this hotel. We walked two or three blocks along the road until we found a really great little family restaurant, and I'd say that this was the highlight of our stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GBN31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We wanted to have a good rest between two separate adventures in Costa Rica and this hotel was great for that. The garden is truly unexpected and beautiful. The pool was also very inviting. The rooms are straight out of the late 70's but clean and comfortable. The service was great except for one of the front desk receptionist who was a little too brisk in her communication style. The hotel is in a very residential area so you cannot walk to restaurants but down town San Jose is only 15 minutes by Taxi ( taxi cost $10). We were also close to SJO airport so we stayed at the hotel twice and loved it each time.

Room Tip: Rooms are great whether they are garden view or mountain although our garden view stay came with a q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShomiS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here at the end of out 15 night tour around Costa Rica, before flying home. It was a great way to "return to civilisation" after some remote eco lodges.

Location great for airport transfers (approx. 30 mins). Stunning gardens and a great pool. There is also a gym and the hotel can organise massages (even at short notice).

Room was large (worth having a garden view room) with two Queen beds. Bathroom even has a bath (all other hotels only had showers). Coffee machine in the room.

Restaurant lovely - great choice of food and great quality. International as well as Costa Rican choices (it was good to have something that wasn't rice and beans!).

Lovely little shop in reception to buy last minute presents.

Staff were very helpful.

A very good choice when in San Jose.

Room Tip: garden view rooms are worth it as the garden is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gerbilsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood surrounded by 10 acres of gardens and plantings. Staff is extraordinary. Restaurant is gourmet. 20 minutes from airport for $25 taxi ride. 10 minutes from downtown San Jose. Make sure whatever tour companies you use make a stop at this location. Great room too.

Room Tip: We had mountain view room with balcony which faced the street and it was not too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wolfchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Domingo de Heredia
6.6 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
247 reviews
16.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,306 reviews
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cariari San Jose
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Caria...
#2 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,825 reviews
10.6 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
890 reviews
6.8 mi away
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bougainvillea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bougainvillea

Address: Santo Domingo de Heredia 40301, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santo Domingo de Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santo Domingo de Heredia
Price Range: $141 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bougainvillea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 20 min from the airport / A hotel inside a garden. 10 acres of the most beautiful gardens in Costa Rica. Experience Costa Rica: Come stroll in our beautiful tropical gardens; enjoy the fragrance of Costa Rica's refreshing air. Relax in our cozy rooms and facilities where our friendly staff will be happy to assist you! Enjoy our country, stay at Bougainvillea: A hotel inside a garden. Restaurant, bar/lounge. Indulge your appetite at our restaurant and bar, which offers a delicious fusion of international and local cuisine. The tasteful decoration of our restaurant compliments our personalized service. Enjoy a view of our gardens which sets the perfect backdrop for an enjoyable breakfast, lunch, dinner, or afternoon tea. Other amenities include complimentary wireless internet access and free parking. Balconies: Take a moment to notice all the beautiful details that the nature offers to you in our balconies with a mountain or garden view. Green mountains, colored tropical flowers and energetic hummingbirds will welcome you to Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bougainvillea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Hotel
Hotel Bougainvillea Costa Rica/Province Of Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing