We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Garden hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bougainvillea
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Garden hotel”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was the biggest hotel we stayed in Costa Rice with ~80 rooms but set in several acres of garden with a pool, sauna and 2 tennis courts. The room was spacious and well appointed, and the staff friendly and helpful. It was not too far from San Jose centre so the taxi journey was not too expensive, but it is also well placed for the airports and yet in a quiet, safe suburb.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah2JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    216
    28
    7
    0
See reviews for
214
317
40
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed at the hotel in June 2013 during a photo tour to Costa Rica. The hotel is located in a nice and quiet residential neighborhood about 15-20 minutes from downtown San Jose. Taking a cab to the city is simple and fast, and prices are reasonable (make sure you pay in colones not usd).
I stayed at the hotel twice (at the beginning and the end of the trip) so had two different rooms. Both were very spacious and clean with comfortable beds, good shower and a nice balcony overlooking the garden. The only thing I would change in the room is the carpet. It was not old or dirty or anything, but I generally prefer wooden floors or tiles, especially in tropical countries.
The garden is truly amazing and very well maintained, make sure you have some time to explore it. There are numerous tropical flowers and plants, butterflies, birds and frogs that can be found. The frogs are somewhat hard to find during the day, but if you go to one of the ponds around dusk you should get lucky and find some rare species such as the blue-sided leaf frog.
I also had breakfast and dinner at the restaurant a few times and found that the quality of the food was very good. Fruits and salad were fresh and there were lots of healthy options including fish. The service was simply excellent - one of the waiters even remembered my name when I came back two weeks after my first stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d7ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigaste
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Beautiful grounds, lobby, restaurant and rooms. Very helpful staff.

Not really convenient to downtown San Jose.

Fantastic trips arranged from the hotel:-

- The Volcano and Hot springs is a must!
- The Rain Forest cable car is over an hour hanging in the trees!

$25 Taxi ride to hotel (2013)

The rooms were well presented, spacious. The gardens are extensive, full of birds and butterflies, varied, and wonderfully maintained with viewing platforms. The garden was the most relaxing stimulating beautiful place to get any work done as there was WiFi and plenty of places to sit.

Bird feeders in front of the restaurant at breakfast provided constant entertainment.

An excellent way to be introduced to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are slightly quieter as there is a slight incline on the road outside and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 694 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

However I stayed few years back in this property for two weeks due to work at Nacional University Heredia but wanted to share my experience.

Location :

Excellent, bit away from city hence the surrounding is peaceful and beautiful.

Rooms:

Very spacious, clean and tidy.

Service:

Excellent, staff is very polite and speaks English and Spanish.

Food:

I enjoyed there breakfast buffet which was healthier, tastier and got variety. I enjoyed there cheese omelette.

Garden:

I believe there garden is very beautiful, I was amazed to see the variety of flowers and plants at their garden. Simply mind boggling.

Swimming pool:

clean and well maintained

Overall the hotel is one of the finest places to stay whether with family or solo.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms with garden view is the best choice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deepaksaxena88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslindale, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The rooms were lovely and walking the gardens, of which they are justifiably proud, was a delight. The gardens are extensive, varied, and wonderfully maintained.
The delicious dinner was the best that we had in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jabrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was traveling with my son's soccer team and the service here is exceptional as well as the accommodations, concierge (Rebecca) and food! The hotel rooms are very spacious with wifi and they are surrounded by acres and acres of exquisite gardens, plus two tennis courts, a beautiful pool and a very up to date fitness room. They even brought in an extra bed for our boys so that there were 3 beds in one room, a nice option if you are traveling with your family and are trying to fit into one room! Check in with Rebecca and she will set you up with daily excursions, to the Poas Volcano, La Paz waterall, the coffee tour (very interesting), or with a driver who will bring you around and wait for you all for a very affordable price. The morning buffet that is included has lovely fruit, yogurt and always a warm dish. Try the coffee sponge, it's like American lattes but better. I look forward to returning!

Room Tip: The garden rooms are a little quieter and have beautiful views over the garden, I think they are may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemyjava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINTER PARK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My experience at the Hotel Bougainvillea was outstanding! The hotel is absolutely gorgeous and an unreal deal for the rate. The restaurant has healthy, fresh, delicious meals. The service is impeccable at the desk and in the restaurant- Anthony is a great waiter. The room was exceptionally clean (very important to me because I am a neat freak). The garden was the most relaxing beautiful place to get my work done (wifi using laptop at a little table among the trees) and to take romantic walks. The gym and pool were nice too. I didn't swim but used the gym and was more than satisfied. I would definitely return and highly recommend this trip for family and friends. I used to travel extensively in the US for work and we almost always stayed at high-end hotels. This hotel was on par for sure but for a fraction of the price and with a phenomenal garden! Also, I was traveling with my partner and we were treated with respect and kindness.

Room Tip: I loved the garden view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamarabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Domingo de Heredia
16.5 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
10.6 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#3 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,371 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
6.7 mi away
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jose
Costa Rica Marriott Hotel San Jo...
#1 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bougainvillea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bougainvillea

Property: Hotel Bougainvillea
Address: Oeste de la Escuela Publica de Santo Tomas 100 m, Santo Domingo de Heredia 40301, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santo Domingo de Heredia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santo Domingo de Heredia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bougainvillea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 20 min from the airport / A hotel inside a garden. 10 acres of the most beautiful gardens in Costa Rica. Experience Costa Rica: Come stroll in our beautiful tropical gardens; enjoy the fragrance of Costa Rica's refreshing air. Relax in our cozy rooms and facilities where our friendly staff will be happy to assist you! Enjoy our country, stay at Bougainvillea: A hotel inside a garden. Restaurant, bar/lounge. Indulge your appetite at our restaurant and bar, which offers a delicious fusion of international and local cuisine. The tasteful decoration of our restaurant compliments our personalized service. Enjoy a view of our gardens which sets the perfect backdrop for an enjoyable breakfast, lunch, dinner, or afternoon tea. Other amenities include complimentary wireless internet access and free parking. Balconies: Take a moment to notice all the beautiful details that the nature offers to you in our balconies with a mountain or garden view. Green mountains, colored tropical flowers and energetic hummingbirds will welcome you to Costa Rica! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Bougainvillea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Hotel
Hotel Bougainvillea Costa Rica/Province Of Heredia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing